We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”
Review of Bishop Pine Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bishop Pine Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We were really excited to stay here after seeing their web site, but it smelled so heavily of disinfectant that we all got headaches, and it didn't go away over the 3 days we were there. The woman who checked us in was rude to us. The cabin was not maintained well: the floors were uneven, the paint pealing, and our window didn't lock. They say that they have a room with books and resources, but there were only a few outdated travel magazines there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank karensatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2009

Major Dissapointment! We have stayed here many times over the last 25 years, sometimes for a full week, tried all of the cottages. It is now not being maintained properly, in a total state of disrepair. There are no beautiful gardens as in the pictures of years ago. Pealing paint everywhere, our cottage smelled (sewer problem?), it also smelled of GAS, you have to have all the windows open or have a headache.Save your money and stay down the street at Emerald Forest

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank North2Coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

This is the place to stay if you are planning an excursion to Redwood National Park. It is tucked away in the woods and very quiet and peaceful. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. The owner Jane couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was pleasant. I would definitely stay here again. Close to Hwy 101, downtown Trinidad and Redwood National Park. Dine at Larrupin just up the street. Delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetheoutdoors061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This was our first trip to the west coast and Bishop Pine was the the first place we stayed. These are small redwood cabins about 5 minutes for Trinidad. You are surrounded by redwoods and highway 101 is within view, but somehow it's not noisy at all. The place is a bit dated, but very clean. The water pressure in the shower is a real bonus, as is the little utility room that has a sink, coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. The host was helpful in getting us oriented, and then we never saw her again...ah...privacy. There are movies, books, and ice all readily available in a small building near the lobby. Though there is no beach access, this was a great first stop on our coastal trip and we'd stay here again, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

This is a great sleepy little hotel on the North coast. It is literally in the middle of nowhere but an easy drive to Arcata and Eureka. We stayed there with our two daughters who were 2 and 4. It was great place to hang out, pick the blackberries for breakfast and have a relaxing family weekend.

The hotel is clean, no frills and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2008

I stayed at Bishop Pine Lodge in the summer of 2004. The
lodge consists of rustic cottages in a nice wooded location
within the redwood forest. It was absolutely quiet. Though
it was a bit warm inside the cabin, air conditioning is not
really needed, but I did feel the need to open the window,
which helped a little. There is no restaurant on the premises.
You have to drive into the next town for the nearest restaurant.
If you want peace and quiet, and a lovely location, this is the
place. Nearby is the town of Trinidad, which is a quaint sea-
side town.

  • Stayed: August 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosamondguyRosamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2006

Bishop Pine Lodge is a great place to stay. Nicely located off a quiet road between Trinidad and Patrick's Point. Beautiful property with cabins scattered among redwoods, cedars, and fuscias. Private, friendly, and quiet.

Cabins are older and rustic, but are clean, comfortable, have fully functional kitchens, and are completely private-- much better in our opinion than traditional hotel rooms. Just don't expect up-to-date decor or spotlessly new facilities. We love it-- it is like stepping into a time warp back to a simpler and more pleasant time. Most of the cabins have porches where you can sit outside and enjoy the weather, and some have hot tubs.

BPL is also a dog-friendly property, and having separate cabins is really an advantage for everyone concerned. Plenty of places to walk your dogs and bags available for picking up after them.

The restaurant at Trinidad Pier was disappointing, but the town is fun to explore and has a beautiful setting. We enjoyed the Lost Coast Brewpub in Eureka... great food and terrific beer. The area is gorgeous and there are plenty of things to see and do. We all had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank DelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
2.5 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
218 reviews
19.6 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
1.0 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
8.4 mi away
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Pine Lodge

Address: 1481 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9706
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bishop Pine Hotel Trinidad
Bishop Pine Lodge Trinidad, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing