We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yuck!”
Review of Ocean Grove Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Grove Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Everything was run down and dirty. The room smelled stale and our view out the front door was of a decrepit old house trailer. Then my granddaughter left her little purse hanging on the bedstead. When we went back to get it the man was cleaning the room and he handed me the purse. When my granddaughter opened it up later in the car she discovered that her $5.00 was gone. Give me a break! It was obviously a child's bag.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jstephaniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Grove Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

Had stayed Here before thought it would be nice to stay again. Boy Were we wrong. Made Reservation a week in advance. When we checked in we were told there would be a small birthday in Bar/Restarant . Was also told the people before us broke the knob on the heater. Got in to the room and found that the sink in the bathroom leaked. Around 9:30PM heard loud music coming from the bar. People walking in front of our windows talking really loud. My husband looked out the door to see people running through the tree's with glow sticks. Called the manager to complain she asked if we paid with a credit card when we asked for a refund . After 20 Years of going to Trinidad We will never stay here again. Nothing against the town of Trinidad just that one hotel. I would never ever recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petunia_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Despite lovely service at the front desk, and an easy location, the hotel was absolutely disgusting. The carpet was damp, the bathroom floor was sunken in, and there were suspicious stains everywhere. The restaurant/bar across the driveway did not have good food, although the people working/living locally thought it was delicious.
After suffering through the evening without being able to go barefoot on the filthy damp carpets, ad spiders crawling everywhere, we decided at 10:00 pm to get up and leave to stay down the road in a Motel 6 in Arcada. And sadly, the Motel 6 was a million times better!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank discoqueen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I go to Ocean Grove Lodge every year and always ask for the same cabin. It's not the Ritz, but it is clean and comfortable, set in the Redwoods. If you're a snob who has to be pampered, it's not for you. If you just want a good time in a rustic country setting, this place is perfect. And there is a great Mexican restaurant on the premises. I will go again every year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

This was our families 3rd trip to Trinidad and we just love getting away from the heat for 1-2 weeks and enjoyin the nice cool weather they have up there each summer.

The small cabins are great with parking in front of each unit and kitchens are great.

We did alot of mini trips to severel areas along the ocean coast and deeper into the redwoods.

We also went north into Oregon and had a great senic drive up the coast line and its a very easy drive within one day

Once again Capt Ron put us on some great fishing and we had a great time.

For those with negitive comments most not like being in the middle of the redwoods and must like the city too much.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scubapro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I had my birthday party at the bar here & we stayed in there 2 bedroom cottage. It was great & fully stocked with everything we needed. all we had to bring was our food & clothes. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimsKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

A buddy and I stayed here for a night after a long hard day of motorcycle riding on what's known as the Ferndale Loop. We left Fortuna after waiting 4 hours for the fog to lift. Halfway through the day I forgot my wallet in a store and we had to backtrack 30 miles to get it.

The cabins are small and basic. But they are nestled beneath huge redwood trees. The owners were building a new deck on one of the units, using redwood that they had milled themselves. Very cool!

OK, so the cabin was musty when we first opened the door, but you leave the door open for a while and then it's fine. We were able to park our bikes right in front of the cabin - a bonus for bikers!

In addition, the lodge has a happenin' bar filled with locals. We shot some pool after an amazing meal in the lodge's restaurant. The menu is 2/3 Mexican fare and it's to die for. Killer salsa and huge, tasty, authentic burritos. Who'd a thought in a place like Trinidad CA?

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MikeyVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
3.8 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
208 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
137 reviews
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
0.7 mi away
Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel
7.1 mi away
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Grove Lodge

Address: 480 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9712
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ocean Grove Hotel Trinidad
Ocean Grove Lodge Trinidad, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing