We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad...bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Grove Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Grove Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad...bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

Just returned home from Ocean Grove Lodge very disappointed. Rooms smelled bad, carpet probably 30 yrs. old. and dirty. Friday nite party at the bar right outside our cabin kept us awake all nite and included gun shots being fired and partiers smoking pot right outside the bedroom window. Kitchen and bar facilities very dirty and would never pass health inspection. The entire operation has not been upgraded or improved for 30 years. The fire/smoke detector in our room hadd been removed and only one door out. Very low class operation ran by very low class people.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceangoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    5
    7
    15
See reviews for
13
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

The website shows cute cabins nestled in redwood trees. Yes there were trees but I wouldnt really call the facilities cabins, more like modulars in the forest. The rooms were a tid smelly and dirty, the curtains had holes in them and the porch lights that did not turn off beamed through the windows all night. When we first entered the room all the windows were open and it felt like it was 30 degrees inside with one vintage heater in the corner.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calikm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trinidad hotels

Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

The place was old and had not been kept up. The room smelled terrible. The carpet was old and dirty. The bathroom was small but fairly clean. The cost was cheapest we found in the area. Next time I would keep driving to the next town. The pictures on the internet looked nice and the setting is pretty. We parked between two Redwood trees. I would not stray there again.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — the smell in the room
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank McShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

We selected this property based on TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The cabins are plain and simple but clean and functional, our bed in unit #1 was particularly comfortable. There is a restaurant and a bar on the property, and the owner, "Capt. Ron" also has a boat for charter, so you can have a complete package, lodging, dining and fishing in "one stop". We did not go fishing, and in fact were "just passing through" for a single night. Half the units have kitchens, so you can also go to the market in Trinidad (very close by) and do your own meals. Prices are extremely reasonable, most units around $60, with a super bargain smoking room at only $40.

  • Liked — value, location, convenience
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlanLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramount CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2006

Had a great week long stay at the lodge. Capt. Ron put us on the fish the three days we fished on that gread Davis Rock Harbor boat.
Restaurant had great food at a reasonable price and the bar served great well drinks but there was no beer on tap. However, they had just about any bottle beer you could ask for.
Clean rooms and friendly people. Would tell my friends to give this place a try.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadKingRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2006

If you want the fishing experience memory.....It is all right from this Lodge. Captain Ron runs a charter from the Lodge. We all caught our limit of Salmon and had a wonderful time on his beautiful boat.
Our Cabin was a cabin hidden in a beautiful wooded area. Lot's of greenery and great folks. We will absolutely return to the Lodge. The rooms were quaint but extremely clean. If you want a real soothing rustic experience this is the place.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Ann (Redding. Ca.)

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2006

We went to this lodge to go fishing in Trinidad. The owners have done a lot of work upgrading the rooms and property over the last few years. It's a great place to start your vacation with large redwood trees, close to the local beach and it's own restaurant and bar right on the property. we stayed in a Queen room that had cable, micrwave, refrigerator and in room coffee over all a very good value for the $60.00 per night we were charged.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
3.8 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
18.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
12.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.3 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Grove Lodge

Property: Ocean Grove Lodge
Address: 480 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9712
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ocean Grove Hotel Trinidad
Ocean Grove Lodge Trinidad, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing