We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Grove Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Grove Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Anderson, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

I go to Ocean Grove Lodge every year and always ask for the same cabin. It's not the Ritz, but it is clean and comfortable, set in the Redwoods. If you're a snob who has to be pampered, it's not for you. If you just want a good time in a rustic country setting, this place is perfect. And there is a great Mexican restaurant on the premises. I will go again every year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    5
    7
    15
See reviews for
13
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
So.California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

This was our families 3rd trip to Trinidad and we just love getting away from the heat for 1-2 weeks and enjoyin the nice cool weather they have up there each summer.

The small cabins are great with parking in front of each unit and kitchens are great.

We did alot of mini trips to severel areas along the ocean coast and deeper into the redwoods.

We also went north into Oregon and had a great senic drive up the coast line and its a very easy drive within one day

Once again Capt Ron put us on some great fishing and we had a great time.

For those with negitive comments most not like being in the middle of the redwoods and must like the city too much.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubapro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

I had my birthday party at the bar here & we stayed in there 2 bedroom cottage. It was great & fully stocked with everything we needed. all we had to bring was our food & clothes. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimsKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

A buddy and I stayed here for a night after a long hard day of motorcycle riding on what's known as the Ferndale Loop. We left Fortuna after waiting 4 hours for the fog to lift. Halfway through the day I forgot my wallet in a store and we had to backtrack 30 miles to get it.

The cabins are small and basic. But they are nestled beneath huge redwood trees. The owners were building a new deck on one of the units, using redwood that they had milled themselves. Very cool!

OK, so the cabin was musty when we first opened the door, but you leave the door open for a while and then it's fine. We were able to park our bikes right in front of the cabin - a bonus for bikers!

In addition, the lodge has a happenin' bar filled with locals. We shot some pool after an amazing meal in the lodge's restaurant. The menu is 2/3 Mexican fare and it's to die for. Killer salsa and huge, tasty, authentic burritos. Who'd a thought in a place like Trinidad CA?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

Just returned home from Ocean Grove Lodge very disappointed. Rooms smelled bad, carpet probably 30 yrs. old. and dirty. Friday nite party at the bar right outside our cabin kept us awake all nite and included gun shots being fired and partiers smoking pot right outside the bedroom window. Kitchen and bar facilities very dirty and would never pass health inspection. The entire operation has not been upgraded or improved for 30 years. The fire/smoke detector in our room hadd been removed and only one door out. Very low class operation ran by very low class people.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceangoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trinidad hotels

California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

The website shows cute cabins nestled in redwood trees. Yes there were trees but I wouldnt really call the facilities cabins, more like modulars in the forest. The rooms were a tid smelly and dirty, the curtains had holes in them and the porch lights that did not turn off beamed through the windows all night. When we first entered the room all the windows were open and it felt like it was 30 degrees inside with one vintage heater in the corner.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calikm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

The place was old and had not been kept up. The room smelled terrible. The carpet was old and dirty. The bathroom was small but fairly clean. The cost was cheapest we found in the area. Next time I would keep driving to the next town. The pictures on the internet looked nice and the setting is pretty. We parked between two Redwood trees. I would not stray there again.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — the smell in the room
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank McShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
3.8 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
18.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
18.3 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Grove Lodge

Property: Ocean Grove Lodge
Address: 480 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9712
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ocean Grove Hotel Trinidad
Ocean Grove Lodge Trinidad, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing