We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My worst experience ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We joined our family for their yearly camping trip at this site. Its a nice setting but there isn't much privacy and you can't help but get a bad whiff of the sewer lines. thank being said its in the middle of the redwoods and its a cute little place at first glance. With 2 kids a grandmother and a baby one on the way we chose to go for the 3 bedroom cabin (C). After the first night we noticed that they didn't make any of the beds and that the rooms were untouched besides the new towels. The next morning i saw the room cleaner and informed her that they didn't make our beds and that we'd like them made. She said she would make sure that they did them that night. Well when we got into our cabin that night we noticed that the beds wee made but they didn't change the sheets or vacuum. Keep in mind were in the redwoods and there are camp fires everywhere so we were hoping to take a shower and smell some fresh sheets, not the smoke stained ones we've now slept in two nights. In addition having to avoid old pine needles and dirt trails from the lack of vacuuming. So again the next morning i walked into the office and waited for the other people checking in to leave then i ask the lady at the front desk for a manager. (I think she's one of the owners but wouldn't admit it) She replied that there wasn't one there. So i proceeded to tell her what was was going on. She replied that "We don't change sheets or vacuum every day" I was a bit shocked, I explained that i don't expect the Hyaat but for $280 a night i expect a clean floor and sheets. By then another lady had walked in and i was ultimatly blown off. Later that evening the same lady (Owner) and the housekeeper came to the cabin, the housekeeper was rally nice and said it wasn't standard but she would omit. So for our last night we got our floors cleaned, but still dirty sheets. While attempting to checkout i asked the (owner lady) if i could please review our bill before she ran our card, her reply was "no". To which i replied you do not have permission to use that card. She eventually gave me the printout which didn't reflect the AAA discount. Then when my wife insisted on it she tells her husband "they have been a problem all week, and throws my credit card at my wife. LOL!! Needless to say We'll NEVER stay here again. It might be ok for camping in tents or RV parking but our cabin experience was a nightmare! A few more quick things to add, the FREE WiFi doesn't work anywhere! And only 2 of the TV's of the 4 in the cabin in worked.

Room Tip: Choose a different place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Gianni3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in one of the cabins during a recent trip to Redwood National Park. The cabins are VERY basic and pretty pricey for what you get. You are strictly paying for location which is nice--redwoods trees all around you. WIFI didn't work. Have a sign that they charge $15 extra if you don't wash your own coffee cups. Arrived very late at night and left early next day. Appeared to be some better places and would try somewhere next time if back in teh area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank newtovegasTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The campground was pretty good as usual. Kind of dusty this year.
You will like the cool weather if you visit.
Bring your own wiFi device although they profess to have internet it usually did not work at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A nice little one room cabin was our base for the weekend. Surrounded by woods off 101, it was very easy to drive to any of the national or state parks. The gentleman at the desk was very helpful with local information. Only complaint was the internal noise. The heater is very loud, so we ended up turning it all the way down so it wouldn't come on. That was very minor compared to the squeaky floor. The vinyl flooring is hilariously loud. No matter the footwear, the flooring was squeaky. Even the already squeaky bed squeaked on the flooring as it shifted. Pretty funny, but could easily see how other guests would not tolerate it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Encajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you IMAGINE a Emerald Forest, this is it! We stayed in the cabins. I would reccomend cabin G,H,I,J,and ours was L. These cabins have a back patio that sits in a redwood forest, with a fern gully and a small stream in the giant redwoods. There are quite a few camping spots, and some smaller and larger cabins. The front desk has a small store. There is a large playground for kids. A washer and dryer. The inside was a newer basic room. It had a tv. A small kitchenette gave us everything we needed with a microwave and frige. It was a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHONABB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is unique in that it is located within a small grove of large sequoia trees. It has a cabin type foremat usually with two seperate units per cabin (one studio and a two bed room) . Our unit was newly remodeled and had a partial kitchen and a large sequoia tree growing through the deck. The dirt driveway and cabin steps might make handicapped access difficult, so check with them before you go if this a concern.
Be advised that the restaurants inTrinidad close early, so if you want to eat after 8pm, you will have to go to the next town. The town has about 5 or 6 reataurants and a small grocery store with a deli serving fried chicken, sandwitches, etc. and a lighthouse and small beach.
Check-in and check-out was good, maid service was good and the units and grounds seemed to be clean and well kept. I would definately return if visiting this area again.

Room Tip: All of the cabin locations are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Emerald Forest was a recommendation from a friend and a great one I must say. Smack in the middle of the beautiful redwood forest and the ocean within minutes from the facility. Cabins are quaint yet very homey and love that they are not sharing walls like a hotel. Original cabins were built decades ago with the same feel including clawfoot tubs and cozy feel of redwoods outside on the deck. Modernized with running water, shower and laundry facilities, barbeque areas and a multitude of options other than the cabins for lodging. LOVE the location and am looking forward to using the Celebration Hall and Gazebo for my wedding in a month and a half!!! It is a breath of fresh air with the quiet, the green and the rustic all in one.

Room Tip: If there are two of you and want the true experience ask for one of the original cabins. A or B. Lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
3.5 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
217 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
18.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
139 reviews
15.0 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
160 reviews
7.4 mi away
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Forest Cabins & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Forest Cabins & RV

Address: 753 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-8755
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Trinidad
Price Range: £23 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Forest Cabins & RV 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'll help you rediscover your endless youth. OUR STORY - We are people first. We love the great outdoors, having grown up swimming in rivers and hiking among the redwoods. We are parents and children, siblings and friends. We recognize the importance of family. We look forward to bringing the high level of customer service you have come to expect to our newest addition, Emerald Forest Cabins & RV. WHAT WE OFFER - Proximity to Trinidad Harbor, great restaurants nearby, fire rings & picnic tables, clean cabins & courteous hosts with a desire to make your stay a warm, memorable experience. Most of all, we offer you the opportunity to slow down and get in touch with those you love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Forest Cabins & RV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Forest Of Trinidad Hotel Trinidad
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV Trinidad, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing