We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing coastal hideaway”
Review of View Crest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
View Crest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We enjoyed two nights in the Duplex Cottage. We originally booked the slightly larger Economy Cottage, which enjoys a bit more privacy. However, despite sharing our deck, our neighbors were appropriately quiet and we appreciated the overall chill vibe of the place. Deck was awesome for sunsets, stargazing, and morning coffee, even in December. Property is on the east side of the road, so not technically ocean front, but you can glimpse the ocean through the trees and hear waves and sea lions from your deck. Our room was a bit dusty and a few of our dishes weren't very well washed by previous guests. But the room was rustic and cozy and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank sundogg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for View Crest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our cabin was clean and comfortable, with a distant view of the ocean from the patio. We'd stay there again, with one caveat: the wifi is terrible. The speed is painfully slow, and it's impossible to stay on the network for long.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank peppah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed there in the cottage with the private hot tub! It was a very clean awesome place to stay. If your looking for a nice peaceful place to stay I highly recommend it. From the deck you could hear the sea lions barking in the distance. I already want to go back again and we just left there 2 days ago I can't wait to go back it was fun and great place to relax.

Room Tip: Cabin number 6 was great I would definitely pick one of the rooms with the private hot tub if your g...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenniferscott34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a little hidden jewel this place is. We were a little skeptical when we first approached the entrance to the cabins but we were so pleasantly surprised! Our cabin was immaculate and complete with all of the essentials. We sat at a picnic table and could hear the sea lions barking in the distance. Brady and his family are lovely and very accommodating. Free HBO on demand and WiFi is an added bonus. The price was very reasonable for what we got. We would certainly recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Havechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My family of four stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage (with a private hot tub) for 3 nights. We LOVED our stay. The property is beautiful. Each cabin has its own deck and we could see the ocean above the trees and hear the seals sometimes. There is a big lawn right off the deck with picnic tables. My 2 young children loved running around outside. The cabins are very private. There are strategically placed bushes and trees that made keeping blinds pulled up possible. Patrick's point and agate beach are just right up the road. And its a quick and BEAUTIFUL drive right alone the ocean to get to the town of Trinidad. We loved our stay. And we will definitely be coming back.

If you have older kids you might want to go for the family cottage. In the 2 bedroom one of the beds is right off the living room and it is open with no door. This was not a problem at all for our family. But older kids or trips with multiple couples might want more privacy.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We arrived at this establishment after a long day of driving. We were greeted by the proprietor around 8pm, check in was fast and friendly. The cabin was more than we expected. A large living room, full kitchen, large bathroom with garden tub and stand-up shower, powder room and bedroom with lots of space and a queen size bed. There was also a spacious back deck with a grill. This, of course was more space than necessary for a 1 night stay, but we were glad to have it after staying in small hotel room for the past week.

The cabin was clean and smelled nice. The living room furniture looked brand new. The bathroom was spotless. Cooking utensils and linens are provided. The price was right, or at least reasonable for what we got.

The location was good. Very close to the main area in Trinidad, far enough away from the 101 so there was no traffic noise, close to the Redwood Forests and beautiful beaches.

Bonus, from our room we had a pretty but limited view of the ocean, and we could hear the barking of seals/sea lions that were lounging on a large rock just off of the beach. The only draw-back (which really is inconsequential), was that the quilt on the bed was very dated.

We would definitely stay here again. I feel bad for those who did not have a good experience here, because ours was top notch. We only regret that we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I have now stayed twice at View Crest Lodge in Trinidad, CA. First time to attend a wedding in nearby Eureka and we loved it so much we returned for a mini vacation.

Here's my Pros;

IT'S SECLUDED, located off the main highway but yet close enough to hop on the highway to travel to many of the beautiful locations that are close by, the Redwood Forest, the Beach and Patricks Point State Park great for hiking, exploring and seeing the beautiful forest and coast line.

IT'S QUIET but you can still hear the sounds of nature, birds chirping and the seals barking at the nearby beach across the rarely used road.

IT'S CLEAN and nicely furnished very comfortable, comes with large LCD TV's with cable.

IT'S REASONABLY PRICED with many options when it comes to your choice of rooms, there's even hot tubs in some rooms and jetted tubs. For the more adventurous there's even a campground and an RV Park with hookups.

Has everything you need, large living room, large bedroom, large bathroom and a full kitchen loaded with all necessary items needed to make your stay feel as if you were at home except here you get maid service.

HERE'S MY CONS;

I HAD TO LEAVE AND COME BACK HOME AND INTO THE CITY, BUT I PLAN ON RETURNING.

I highly recommend View Crest Lodge for a nice peaceful vacation with many beautiful areas and sights to see.

This is an unsolicited review of View Crest Lodge
John Boyle
Riverside, CA.

Room Tip: You can even get a BBQ to use at the office if you like. The office staff were very friendly and at...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
22.0 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
723 reviews
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
24.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
3.5 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
10.9 mi away
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Crest Lodge

Address: 3415 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9782
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range: £86 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — View Crest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your View Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Crest Hotel Trinidad
View Crest Lodge Trinidad, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing