We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and quaint”
Review of View Crest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
View Crest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

You come upon this place driving through a quiet road. It's a bit from Trinidad, but a short, lovely drive. The man, who checked us in, was extremely welcoming and friendly. Our room was incredibly clean and accommodating. The decor is dated, but it's taken care of. It felt very comfortable and homey. The fridge is on the smaller side, but kept our two days worth of food. Normal sized coffee maker. Nice! The kitchenette is very handy to have a small breakfast. The TV channel options were great for staying in in the evening. This is good because the wifi is way to slow for iPad use. It was the perfect location for our weekend trip to the redwoods.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ovenbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

It was a peaceful stay, great rooms, gorgeous views. The people who run the lodge are wonderful & they have great rates especially for Trinidad! The Cottage was fully stocked with everything we needed. I suggest Cottage #3 with the Jacuzzi (private spa room) what a spectacular view of the ocean from its own private porch! We for sure anticipate on staying again and next time it will be more than for just one night!

Room Tip: Cottage #3 has a spectacular view of the ocean where you can watch the sun set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherryRasulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Lodging in Redwoods country is challenging. We had originally booked a stay at the Woodland Villa Cabins which is listed as an "official" lodging choice for Redwood National Park. But we bailed after seeing the accommodations which are less than desirable. After a lot of driving and asking around, we were led to Patrick's Point which seem to have the most interesting options in the area. We were given a look inside one of the cabins at View Crest Lodge and immediately booked 5 nights.

What a great place! Our two bedroom, stand alone "cabin" was super clean and super comfortable. The lodge sits high on a hill with peeks through the trees (and fog) to the ocean. Great, personable service. Our own private hot tub. While not right next to any of the redwood parks, it is centrally located if you want to explore both Prairie Creek and others to the north and Humboldt to the south.

Do not miss Patrick's Point State Park. It features dramatic views of the coast along with a remarkable walled (for safety) trail somehow created right through the rock on top of the point.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

You know when you find a place, and you want to write a scathingly bad review so no one else will go there and you have it all to yourself? This is one of those places. Cabins in the woods, quiet, you can hear the ocean, the sea lions, the fog dripping in the trees.
Brady, owner on site, everything you want in a host: gets you in, all you need, and then is gone, but available if needed.
This is not an antique filled B&B, this is not the Ritz. If that is what you are looking for, do not go here.
What this is is quiet, quaint, and quality. The cabins are clean, well stocked, and comfortable. The beds feel new, not worn out. Plush towels. Surprising quality for the price, obviously the owners care about the comfort of their guests.
The grounds are beautiful, the location is great (walk to Patrick's Point). The website pictures are accurate, not photoshopped.
And no, i do not know the owners other than this one trip, the first on many which my wife and i hope to make here in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr.Bunnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We enjoyed two nights in the Duplex Cottage. We originally booked the slightly larger Economy Cottage, which enjoys a bit more privacy. However, despite sharing our deck, our neighbors were appropriately quiet and we appreciated the overall chill vibe of the place. Deck was awesome for sunsets, stargazing, and morning coffee, even in December. Property is on the east side of the road, so not technically ocean front, but you can glimpse the ocean through the trees and hear waves and sea lions from your deck. Our room was a bit dusty and a few of our dishes weren't very well washed by previous guests. But the room was rustic and cozy and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank sundogg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our cabin was clean and comfortable, with a distant view of the ocean from the patio. We'd stay there again, with one caveat: the wifi is terrible. The speed is painfully slow, and it's impossible to stay on the network for long.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank peppah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed there in the cottage with the private hot tub! It was a very clean awesome place to stay. If your looking for a nice peaceful place to stay I highly recommend it. From the deck you could hear the sea lions barking in the distance. I already want to go back again and we just left there 2 days ago I can't wait to go back it was fun and great place to relax.

Room Tip: Cabin number 6 was great I would definitely pick one of the rooms with the private hot tub if your g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenniferscott34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
24.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
730 reviews
3.5 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
10.9 mi away
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Crest Lodge

Address: 3415 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9782
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range: £88 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — View Crest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your View Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Crest Hotel Trinidad
View Crest Lodge Trinidad, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing