We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is peace on earth”
Review of Turtle Rocks Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turtle Rocks Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a lovely family road trip vacation and this was one of our favorite stops. We were in awe of the views from every direction and the sea lions were just spectacular! Patrick's Point State Park is gorgeous and there are some great restaurants in the area too! Roger and Francine sent us on our way with one of the best breakfasts I've ever had and gave us some great tips of sights to see along our ride up the Pacific Coast. What a peaceful and lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkSanctuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

The whole world could have tumbled around us, and we wouldn't have cared. Roger and Francine made us feel like family. They took care of us. My husband and I had gourmet breakfasts and deserts hand made by Francine's and Roger's loving touches for six super days. The accommodations were excellent; clean and very private. Patrick's Point is so beautiful. And, Agate Beach is incredible. The spectacular sunsets and marvelous moonrises are special treats especially when being serenaded by sea lions.. My husband and I have reconnected thanks to the Inn. Plan to visit over and over. The Turtle Rock Oceanfront Inn is a state of mind as well as a location. I'm homesick for this unbelievable space.It is a must visit often place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have exceptional views. There is not a bad room in the house. I know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I do not usually stay at a bed and breakfast but this accomodation will change your mind. The inn keepers, Francine and Roger are such a gracious couple that are so helpful in whatever you may need. The breakfasts are so nice compared to a typical hotel meal in that they serve a nice quiche, tasty sausages, breads, breakfast cakes all freshly done each morning. Later in the day, they have a nice get together of the guests for some cookies and desserts and drinks. (imagine chocolate chip cookies with the chocolate melting as you put it in your mouth)... And the rooms are tastefully decorated. We had suite number 4 which was excellent. Large with a beautiful view of the ocean and our newest buddies from the rocks below serenading us(the sea lions).. Our bed was extremely comfortable. We have a sleep number at home but this one made us forget what we thought we would miss. I was going to look at the label to see who manufactured it as it was very comfortable. Check in and just enjoy the ambiance with a few calories in the morning!! After all, it is a vacation so you have to live it up a bit!! Thanks again to Francine and Roger for a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in what was known simply as Room 4 which was very roomy, king size bed(very very very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Perched on the edge of the coast 200 feet above large rock outcroppings (sea stacks, they call them), this inn and its setting will induce you to unwind and relax. So much so that you might want to just stay put and enjoy the view from your semi-enclosed deck. Rooms and bathrooms are large with king-sized beds and an eclectic mix of furniture, much of it vintage 1950's. Our room had a variety of places to sit--two swivel tub chairs, a small loveseat, a larger love seat and also a small dressing table/desk.
Francene, the innkeeper, is warm and gracious and a fount of local information, delivered in a chatty, but never pushy style. The breakfast that is included is a generous and tasty one and includes eggs in some form (frittata one morning, crustless quiche another) plus fresh fruit, breads and pastries, sausage or bacon, etc. For that late afternoon dip in blood sugar, there is a selection of cookies or other goodies and tea and coffee or sodas are always on hand.
The inn is situated between the small village of Trinidad and the Patrick's Point State Park, both worth visiting, one for its historic lighthouse, the other for the rim trail. Expect a mix of fog and sun.

Room Tip: Our room on 1st floor was just fine, but I'd request 2nd floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bi-coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Be careful about staying here. It's seductive. You might be tempted not to leave. This B&B has 6-7 rooms and a great view of the coast from its front windows. The view changes almost by the minute - fog, sun, blue sky, overcast, more fog - and so it goes in a very California coast way. The rooms are furnished with rather eclectic collections of furniture that must have been gathered from many different yard sales and used furniture shops, but somehow it all works and comes across as genuine and welcoming. The proprietors are wonderfully friendly and helpful. They appear truly to like having their steady stream of guests. Breakfasts are exceptionally good as are the cookies in the afternoon, etc. The food and nibble offerings really challenge your self restraint. Everything is well-maintained and clean. The nights are dark and quiet - no noisy parties, fire engines, street clatter, and so forth. Just blissful silence. Then there is the "neighborhood" - some of northern California's most beautiful state parks - redwoods, rocks, crashing waves, pines, maples, hiking and all that - then a return to Turtle Rocks for another cookie. As I said, you might refuse to leave.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you want to experience a place with a view along this part of the coast. This is it. The Inn and the rooms/furniture have a throw back to the 60's feel to them with and eclectic edge. That being said, the rooms are clean and roomy with updated bathrooms ( at least in our room). The views from our deck was lovely. Be sure to walk down the path to the sitting areas with clear glass/plastic wind protection for the sunsets. Just stunning. The hosts, Francine and Roger are very nice and provide good information about the area, dinner, etc. Breakfast is very nicely prepared and the excellent as far as quality and quantity. If you don't mind the price this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank august t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I had stayed here some seven or eight years ago and loved it. Christine and Roger have maintained the same wonderful ambience and hospitality all this time. We loved it. We had the most expensive room at the top but we were lucky to have clear weather and a beautiful view, watching the sunset and just loving the expanse of sea over the gardens which Roger lovingly maintains. Simply great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.1 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
226 reviews
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
22 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#2 of 21 in Eureka
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#6 of 21 in Eureka
312 reviews
24 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.1 mi away
The Lost Whale Inn
The Lost Whale Inn
#1 of 5 in Trinidad
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Rocks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Rocks Inn

Address: 3392 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9774
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range: £118 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Turtle Rocks Hotel Trinidad
Turtle Rocks Inn Trinidad, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing