We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donner Lake Village
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We visited this resort in August of 2011. Based on some of the other reviews we were expecting to see run-down antiquated accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised.
We got a lake view king one bedroom and it had everything we needed for our six day stay.

We had several dinners in Truckee based on travelers' reviews and we found that many of the restaurants were over-rated. Believe it or not, the meal we enjoyed the most was a bunch of burgers and onion rings from Burger Me.

Room Tip: Get either 'lake view' or 'lake front'. All the others open up to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teridaveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    33
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
47
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed only one night with my doughter and the experience was what you would expect from a 2 stars place in a resort area. Average effort in everything. Rooms decorated in the 70´s, and altough somehow renovated still "collecting" everything they found in all of these years...Corridors do really need some urgent investment. Lake view is really outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasing87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This was our first visit here and it was great. The room had 1double bed and a pull out sofa for our two kids. The rooms are clean, warm with a full kitchen and everything you could need. Staff are very helpful. The resort is right on the Lake and very close to a couple of ski resorts. Great value for money. We will recommend here to all our friends.

Room Tip: The front desk did say we were in an updated room so maybe ask while your booking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

its an older hotel almost historical it was very clean well maintained the grounds were beautiful the hotel staff the grounds people to the house-cleaning staff were all so amazing very friendly very helpful we had such a great time it is older but we had everything we needed we are already ready to go back we found our family spot!!!!! if your looking for new bedspreads and cool decore this isnt for you but if you want 5 star staff and a 5 star view of the truckee lake this is it

Room Tip: we stayed in 242 if you go out to the terrace you can sit there and drink your coffee looking at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daneve3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The views, the lake were amazing but the room was 'tired' which was a shame. The bed was very small and not particularly comfortable, overall the place was clean, had a fridge (really noisy overnight!) and a microwave but no crockery or cutlery or glasses, just 4 coffee mugs.

That said it was still a good place to stay, lovely for families - paradise for children.

If you can- forget the room and just look out of the windows or from the balcony - views are splendid and that's what matters here I think.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

This place doesn't come close to looking like it does in the photos. I am not sure how you can have such a false front of what you are renting out., This place is reasonably priced, especially since I was able to take advantage of a discount, but PLEASE, this place is old and dirty!!. You could not walk around inside with bare feet, the carpet was crusty and your feet would be black. The walls and furniture had something sticky all over them. The beds were SO uncomfortable, it was crazy. The bedspread is dirty and from 1970's. The floor in the bathroom had black mold growing under the flooring. The only thing about this place is it was convieient to the marina. I swear this place has bed bugs as each time I was in the room my skin was itching. GROSS, stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Dirty, outdated and the photos they show are completely false! Doesn't look anything like them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Correen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTFam10558, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
I apologize for the late response to your review; I was having your room inspected in order to address your concerns. We regret that we did not have the opportunity hear any of your concerns upon your stay with us. If your experience was as in any way unpleasant we would have been happy move you to another room or otherwise attempt to mitigate the problem.

Upon inspection of your room there is no mold in the bathroom. Most importantly there are no bedbugs in the room as we expected. We have never had this issue at Donner Lake Village and we were surprised to have it brought up.

All the photos and virtual tours on our website are of existing rental units and common areas and are in no way false. A lot of the photos on our website do show our lake view rooms so I have asked our website manager to add additional non-lake view rooms similar to the one you rented.

Again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Donner Lake Village and wish we had had the opportunity to improve you experience while you were with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Truckee hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Right on Donner Lake which is a good alternative to Lake Tahoe, while still fairly close for you to go there for the day/half a day.

The lake is way smaller but the view is gorgeous.

Although dated, rooms are clean, comfortable and quite big.

The only complain we had is that the 2nd bed (coming out of a sofa) was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandlerdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Truckee-Tahoe
9.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
4.1 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 13 in Truckee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.1 mi away
Truckee Donner Lodge
Truckee Donner Lodge
#7 of 13 in Truckee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Property: Donner Lake Village
Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing