We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donner Lake Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My mom, sister, and I took a trip to Donner Lake. I had not made any reservations, because we
were unsure if we would actually be spending the night. We stopped at Donner Lake Village Resort to ask if they had any rooms with a lake view - they did. The gal at the front desk was very friendly and very helpful. We were so pleased when we saw our room - so clean, so organized, and with sliding door that looked onto the lake. We loved the outside picnic tables and lounge chairs. As we were outside, the maintenance man was very friendly - giving us many ideas on where to go for dinner, and for things to do in Truckee. We had a wonderful time, and I've already recommended this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
47
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was my second visit to this property. On both visits the staff were very friendly and helpful. I stayed with a friend last year around this same time. However, got a lake view studio (room 244) this time, which was worth it. It was a nicely furnished studio (approx 400 sq ft) with a kitchenette that came in handy for making breakfast and lunch. The east facing deck could have been bigger but nevertheless it was great to sit out to read and watch the boats, kayaks, and paddle boarders on the lake. Last year I stayed in a studio facing the main street which was just ok. What you will quickly realize though is that the main reason to stay here is not so much for the accommodations as it is for the prime location! You really can't get much closer to the lake, plus the private beach is great for lounging in the sun. Its also centrally located to downtown Truckee where you can find some great places to eat and shop. They even have a few boat slips that you can hang out on or use to jump into the lake from. Right next to the property is Donner Lake Marina rentals where you can rent boats, kayaks, paddle boards, and wave runners. The staff there are also friendly and easy going. Rental prices are a little steep but no more so than other rental spots on the lake.

Would I come back again? Definitely. It's a great place for a quick romantic or family getaway.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank franksd_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This beautiful property is one of a kind. Nice rooms, reasonably priced and very family friendly. We love staying at Donner Lake Village Resort. All the other guests are happy to be enjoying the lake and there is always someone friendly to visit with.

Room Tip: We like the lakeview rooms. All the rooms we have stayed in have been comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

If you enjoy American history this is a place to visit! This resort sits right on Donner Lake, nestled in the High Sierras! Just a 45 minute ride from Reno airport and very easy to find because it's the last hotel before the mountains. You can enjoy rock climbing, canoeing, boat rentals, etc! The room was spacious. clean, maybe a little dated, but no smells and with a balcony to sit on to smell the pines. And if you had a rainy day or snow like we did you can sit inside by a beautiful gas fireplace with a full view of the lake! It a breath taking!! Might add that during the summer months providing it's not raining there is an amazing open-air Mexican restaurant that sits diagonally across the street that is the best I've ever had, family owned, clean, and great staff! Check it out w rooms starting at $91.00 w full kitchen!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review of Donner Lake Village. We are pleased you enjoyed your lakefront stay! We strive to provide a memorable experience, with exceptional care and attention to detail. We are also offering a Unit Interior Upgrade Program to our condominium owners at the property, which will bring the rooms up to date.

We are glad you had a chance to drink in the Tahoe Pines and blue waters from your balcony view at Donner Lake Village. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We booked a Lodgette online and got a studio when we checked in -very nice. Given the reduced price plus upgrade we were quite content with everything, but I think we would have been disappointed had we paid full price.
The receptionists were very friendly, the location is good. Right on Donner Lake and very close to ski areas (e.g. Sugar Bowl 10min, Squaw 20min). There’s also a mini convenience store right across the street.
The kitchen had everything you needed, was clean and housekeeping was excellent. However, the rooms are fairly dated. The bathroom sink was a 70ies yellow, the paint on bathroom walls and door was peeling off....a little grubby, the sleeper sofa for the kids was VERY lumpy (I couldn’t have slept in it…but the kids didn’t care).
So, would we recommend this to my friends - or return? We would go back, if we got a good deal. And I would recommend this, but only to my “non-picky” friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klare28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We visited this resort in August of 2011. Based on some of the other reviews we were expecting to see run-down antiquated accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised.
We got a lake view king one bedroom and it had everything we needed for our six day stay.

We had several dinners in Truckee based on travelers' reviews and we found that many of the restaurants were over-rated. Believe it or not, the meal we enjoyed the most was a bunch of burgers and onion rings from Burger Me.

Room Tip: Get either 'lake view' or 'lake front'. All the others open up to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teridaveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed only one night with my doughter and the experience was what you would expect from a 2 stars place in a resort area. Average effort in everything. Rooms decorated in the 70´s, and altough somehow renovated still "collecting" everything they found in all of these years...Corridors do really need some urgent investment. Lake view is really outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasing87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
9.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
339 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
619 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 13 in Truckee
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Property: Donner Lake Village
Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing