We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth - good property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donner Lake Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth - good property”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I had no idea Donner Lake was as cool, pretty and laid back as it is. What a pleasure. After a long travel day we booked a room here and found an almost empty hotel on a transition day. Our room had a kitchenette with king and pullout which worked great. We had a view of the lake, laundry facilities and great restaurants near by....This is a modest property on a beautiful lake in the prettiest mountains anywhere....

Room Tip: Get one with a view. worth paying extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
47
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corte Madera, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed here in mid-February to go skiing nearby.
PROS: Easy 20 minute drive to Northstar for skiing; lakeside (if your room faces that way, our's faced the road).
CONS: 1) Room was dated and hodgepodge, but passable. 2) The problem was the pull out sofa "bed" which is a generous term. The worst sleeping experience EVER: springs visible and poking into me, covered with a thin "padding" in an attempt to make it passable. So horribly uncomfortable that I closed up the "Bed" and squeezed myself on the couch lengthwise instead. Also found several hairs in the sofabed sheets when I opened it up the first time. Room is fine if you don't need to use the sofa bed. 3) Thin walls. Baby crying at night next door made brought back memories of sleepless nights as a new parent.
Would not stay again. Intended to give verbal feedback when I checked out, but it was early (7:50am) so the office was closed.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 112.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTFam10558, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We were sorry to read your comments and assure you progress is being made at Donner Lake Village. We are in the process of room and furniture upgrades. It sounds like the room you stayed in has not had a bed upgrade yet. I hope to speak with you directly about your experience. Please contact me at Info@donnerlakevillage.com or at (530)583-5500 x4014. Again, we are very sorry about your experience and are working hard to make important improvements at Donner Lake Village. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Dan Tester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our one night stay at Donner Lake Village is a memorable one. The location is perfect! It is a few miles from various resorts. The front desk person/Cris is very accommodating. The One bedroom Suite is ideal for family. We will definitely come back!!'

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDavids5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We came up to Donner Lake to spend Thanksgiving with a friends family. They were staying in a cabin less than a mile away, which made this the perfect location for us. The room was very clean and open with a couch, 4 person dining table, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The decor was a little outdated, but it just gave the place more character :) We didn't opt for a lake view room, so had a view of the parking lot, but with the curtains closed you couldn't tell the difference. The community indoor fire pit room that overlooks the lake looked so cozy, wish we had stayed longer so I could have utilized it more. Overall, for the price, you can't beat staying at Donner Lake Village Resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kw_loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Management did right by me. They reimbursed me for my stay and noted the deficiencies. I am very impressed by their follow through and would consider statying at Donner Lake again. Thank you very much for taking the time to read the review and compensate me

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank laurie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was out 3rd visit here and I think we have started a new tradition. The staff is always friendly and the place is super clean. I loved our room this time and will request it from now on. It had a lake view, kitchenette and it had the bathroom and sink area on a separate (small, 4 stairs) floor. The bed was comfortable and it was stocked w/ everything we needed, even a wine opener. We spent the day fishing ( rented a boat from the people on site) and relaxed the day away. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I agree with two of the other reviewers about the location and completely agree that it looked like the room was last remodeled in the 1950s. We had one chair on our balcony and when we called to ask for another, the person at the front desk said we had to go find one ourselves. Room was not cleaned very well during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WKC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
9.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
339 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 13 in Truckee
82 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Property: Donner Lake Village
Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing