We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, great location in Truckee - hip spot with old western charm.”
Review of The Truckee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Truckee Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Arcata, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming, great location in Truckee - hip spot with old western charm.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I love saving a few dollars to share a bathroom, but the hubs splurged to have his own facilities. Nice big bed - super comfy and very soft sheets. Staff was friendly and helpful, and it felt just a bit like we were back in the old west days. The claw foot tubs have been there for a hundred years, I got a kick out imagining previous guests and their attire. There is a great deck for observing down town. Again, you feel like your back in the old west a little. Don't get me wrong, it's clean and modern. Super enjoyed this spot.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneyCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    20
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
6
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Cute, historic, clean and very friendly staff . . . just very B&B and we weren't expecting that with the full room reservation. NO A/C - which was killer when we went, plus no screens on the windows which lead out to a fire escape walk away - leading us to not feel comfortable with the thought that someone could easily get in! Good location, price seemed a little high for what was offered, but generally I'd give it an average rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andravb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushnell, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Loved this place so much that we stayed two nights. The building was an old rooming house; rooms have been redone and are lovely. Clawfoot tubs a plus. Be sure to enjoy the large porch on the second floor. Nice complementary breakfast downstairs. Friendly staff. Loved the creaky staircase!

Room Tip: Some rooms have private bathrooms, others do not
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VespagirL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were supposed to hook up with a friend for 2 days of camping...We missed connections etc. We were in Truckee, a way cool town and had a beer at The Bar of America and with a few options to stay for the night... I checked local hotels on my PDA and then noticed this awesome old hotel right across the street...As luck would have it they were just closing up... It was 8 pm on Saturday... They offered rooms with private or shared baths.. at $ 59.00 we chose the shared bath... Awesome shared porch on the second floor... right out of the old west...Great shopping and don't miss the Squeeze in for breakfast...

Room Tip: Second floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Front Office Manager at The Truckee Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks for the review Rhodesong! We love hearing when guests' enjoy their stay in our European rooms (bathroom in the hall). Where else can you actually EXPERIENCE life as it was 100 years ago? That, and you can't beat the price! Glad to hear you enjoyed the views of downtown from our balcony. It makes for great people watching and the sunsets from up there are superb! Looking forward to your next visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

the location is good. right in the middle of old town with lots of bars and restaurants. unfortunately this hotel is way overpriced. 140$ for a king or queen with private bath is a good deal in a regular place, but this hotel does not have much to offer. not only is it very noisy with train traffic troughout the night, but the rooms are very hot and old. first room we got was the king size bed, the faucet ran non stop. hard to believe that staff did not notice this when they cleaned the room? this is a historic hotel and we were not looking for modern furniture etc, but it was just very basic, including the continental breakfast which we left and ate at another place. would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Truckee hotels

Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The third-floor double without bath (cheapest option at $89 with AAA discount) we reserved was cramped and kind of depressing, but they weren't full so we upgraded to a roomy queen without bath on the second floor ($119). It was on the opposite side of the building from the main street and train tracks, so it was quieter.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlauriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed here recently here are my thoughts:

- Staff are very helpful and friendly (like most American hotels)
- The hotel and rooms are clean but basic
- The continental breakfast is basic - bagels or fruit is pretty much all we saw
- Right in the middle of Truckee so close to all shops/restaurants/bars
- Expensive given it is such a basic hotel (I think it charges a premium for the location and history of the place).

But by far the standout memory of this hotel is the noise from the trains.... before I booked I had seen the trains mentioned on here but decided to try it anyway as the hotel is a bit quirky and it is bang in the centre of truckee (we wanted to be in staggering distance of the pubs). However, if you book here you really need to be aware just how loud the train is - there was no way you could sleep through the noise and we counted 8 trains overnight on one night. By the end of our stay we were looking forward to moving onto the next town with no trains.

I wouldnt stay again because of the noise but also other hotels that are nowhere near the train lines and have more facilities are about the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulyjk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
1.5 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 13 in Truckee
82 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,797 reviews
5.1 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Truckee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Truckee Hotel

Property: The Truckee Hotel
Address: 10007 Bridge St, Truckee, CA 96161-0273
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Truckee Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Truckee, when you walk into the lobby you will find a caring and gracious staff that will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. The warm earth tone and rich wood complements the fresh mountain air as you ease into your stay with us. Every morning from 7-10 a.m. a continental breakfast of rich brewed coffee and herbal teas, baked goods, fruit, oatmeal/cereals and juice can be enjoyed in a warm setting while capturing the daily weather and news on a large flat screen TV. The Truckee Hotel is centrally located to many North Lake Tahoe ski areas such as Squaw Valley, site of the 1960's Winter Olympics, as well as Northstar, Sugar Bowl, Alpine Meadows, Tahoe Donner, Royal Gorge and more, including Tahoe's latest action packed Woodward at Tahoe. While staying at the Truckee Hotel you can access all of North Lake Tahoe's best amenities, shop in Downtown Truckee or dine in the many restaurants and bistros nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing