We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for $ and hospitality-plus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Truckee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Truckee
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for $ and hospitality-plus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Although we only live some 40 miles south, I needed a room so my son could take a test very early the next morning and I didn't want to drive icy roads at 6 a.m. Certainly not Ritz-fancy but very comfortable, clean and quite spacious. I actually paid for two nights because I planned to stay in the room and work all day on laptop while he took his test even though we'd be heading back home afterward. Front desk people were sooo attentive to whatever we needed (forgotten phone charger, dining suggestions, etc.) and actually ended up refunding me the second night when we left around 5 p.m. - their suggestion, I never even asked! Breakfast while not extensive was enough to fill us up nicely. While the room was nothing more but also nothing less than I expected, the hospitality was over the top!

Room Tip: No idea what "kids activities" there are but the rooms above the reception were very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    25
    7
    11
See reviews for
25
18
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The "Inn at Truckee" is a very cosy hotel near Truckee and North Lake Tahoe. The hotel is clean, nice and the room with king size bed is pretty big, including couch, two tables, refrigerator, microwave and TV. Even though they didn't had hair dryer at the room we could get one at the lobby. They have a Guest Laundry with quarters washing machine (one) and dryer (one). The WiFi was slow in most of the time with some high speed bursts. Breakfast had few options but good ones.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The rooms are clean and well kept. I love the breakfast they offer; it's great to grab something on your way out. The only down side to this hotel is that not every room has a microwave in it. I will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa CA
Level Contributor
202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a family gathering to attend recently. This was a great place to spend the night. Staff were very pleasant. Hot tub very inviting. Continental breakfast was quite a nice selection given the space available. Beds were comfy and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SantaRosaCAKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, cA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Arrived after a day in a hot car, exhausted. I had made my reservation online where they take all of your info -address etc. I had to fill it out all over again - felt like I was handed a quiz with all the info they wanted. Not sure what that was about but she was clearly wanting to play school teacher and scold me. Weird. This is more of a motel. Clean, decent room, pet friendly was handy. We just wanted to stay in and eat from their little Burrito Cafe and not get back in the car. I went down to the Cafe around 8pm to check it out and get a beverage and all looked fine and was open till 10. Returned about 45 minutes later at 8:45 and it was closed. Closed! No dinner for us that day. The reason we were given for the early closure was "uh, someone had a problem and had to go." Double weird. We'd never been to Truckee and were on the outskirts and no other option for dinner was offered up. Breakfast was fine - standard buffet fare. I think they may be a bit understaffed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VJF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Very reasonable cost for the area and great proximity to Squaw Valley, Tahoe City, and Donner Lake. The room was clean but could use some updating. It worked out fine for our trip as we only planned on spending time there to shower and sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bdean707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Price is good but the rooms and the bathrooms need a major update. The breakfast is a joke -- the toaster caught on fire and the day manager took off to get another one, leaving the front desk unmanded for some time. During all of this the local police arrived and left ?? So not a good vale even if the price is cheap. BTW there is a good bagal shop next door so eat there for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank next50years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Truckee-Tahoe
5.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
8.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
0.9 mi away
Truckee Donner Lodge
Truckee Donner Lodge
#7 of 13 in Truckee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.1 mi away
Donner Lake Village
Donner Lake Village
#9 of 13 in Truckee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Truckee

Property: Inn at Truckee
Address: 11506 Deerfield Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-0502
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Truckee 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Truckee! We are a conveniently located hotel in Truckee, CA situated within minutes of Donner Lake, Lake Tahoe, Downtown Truckee and numerous world class ski resorts. We offer a very competitive rate, nice & clean rooms, free continental breakfast, friendly staff and numerous dining options within walking distance. In addition, we are one of the only pet friendly hotels in Truckee! The magnificent Sierra Mountains is a fantastic getaway! The serenity of the snow covered mountains in the winter and the sweet smells of the sun drenched forest in the summer, there is no place like our mountain oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Truckee Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing