We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of Inn at Truckee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Truckee
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is very run down and needs major updating. From the hallway/stair carpeting to the rooms, the hotel needs to be renovated. The carpet looked very dirty as well as old decor and old bedspreads. On a positive note, the staff was very nice and helpful. There are no blow dryers in the room, so you have to call down to the desk and hope that someone will turn one in after they have borrowed it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cajayhawk2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    26
    7
    11
See reviews for
25
18
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very dated hotel. Old furnishings and the bed and bedding were ancient. However, it was clean. The staff was accomodating and courtious. Walls were thin and late night revelers were very noisy. However the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mab9972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Mouse in my room! For real! Eeeek! :D

Otherwise, I would describe this pretty standard economy inn. Not very new, breakfast very limited, but then again price is good for this area. Neighborhood is nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank losgatosadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We decided to stay i Truckee due to bad weather and closed road conditions. Christian was excellent and the received value was great. Clean rooms and a friendly staff…
I will definitely return and recommend to friends and family...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Location, cost, cleanliness: all irrelevant when your lodgings are simply unfit for sleep.

You can feel every single steel spring in these unspeakably awful beds. The comforters look and smell 20yrs old, and the beds feel even worse.
I've been on antique, sagging sofa beds, and 1" plastic-coated bunkhouse pads that at least offered greater comfort than the floor.
The Inn at Truckee's bed did not: after 6hrs of trying, this heavy sleeper put his blankets on the floor, where there were at least no springs.
I was not alone: I spoke with two other bleary-eyed customers the next morning and they agreed their beds were also the worst they could ever remember paying for.

I can count the sleepless nights I've had in over 4 decades of frequent international travel on three fingers. Two of them were due to natural disasters. The third was due to the beds this inn should be ashamed to present to paying customers.

With new beds, this place would rate 3 stars for value, but until management posts photos of new beds and bedding, stay far, far away from the Inn at Truckee.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Veloscente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Truckee hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here to visit family, and just needed a bed to sleep in. On our last night we heard awful screaming and fighting in the room across the hallway and called the late night number. It went directly to the room where the screaming was coming from. We had to call the police to handle the situation. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grittysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Although we only live some 40 miles south, I needed a room so my son could take a test very early the next morning and I didn't want to drive icy roads at 6 a.m. Certainly not Ritz-fancy but very comfortable, clean and quite spacious. I actually paid for two nights because I planned to stay in the room and work all day on laptop while he took his test even though we'd be heading back home afterward. Front desk people were sooo attentive to whatever we needed (forgotten phone charger, dining suggestions, etc.) and actually ended up refunding me the second night when we left around 5 p.m. - their suggestion, I never even asked! Breakfast while not extensive was enough to fill us up nicely. While the room was nothing more but also nothing less than I expected, the hospitality was over the top!

Room Tip: No idea what "kids activities" there are but the rooms above the reception were very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
8.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
0.9 mi away
Truckee Donner Lodge
Truckee Donner Lodge
#7 of 13 in Truckee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.1 mi away
Donner Lake Village
Donner Lake Village
#8 of 13 in Truckee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Truckee

Property: Inn at Truckee
Address: 11506 Deerfield Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-0502
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Truckee 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Truckee! We are a conveniently located hotel in Truckee, CA situated within minutes of Donner Lake, Lake Tahoe, Downtown Truckee and numerous world class ski resorts. We offer a very competitive rate, nice & clean rooms, free continental breakfast, friendly staff and numerous dining options within walking distance. In addition, we are one of the only pet friendly hotels in Truckee! The magnificent Sierra Mountains is a fantastic getaway! The serenity of the snow covered mountains in the winter and the sweet smells of the sun drenched forest in the summer, there is no place like our mountain oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Truckee Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing