We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding site!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
chico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding site!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We held our daughters wedding here in November 2013 and it was fabulous. The facilities and staff are accommodating, friendly and the site is gorgeous! The dinner served in the Ritz Ballroom was delicious and each person at each table was served at the same time by white gloved waiters. Many guests commented on the comfort of the rooms, the fabulous spa and the excellent dining room. Overall I give the hotel very high marks on pulling off a large, complex event in a seemingly effortless manner! Our contact person at the hotel, Blanche Tabe, was extremely helpful as was our wedding planner Shannon Morse.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sktChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    150
    67
    35
    21
See reviews for
287
322
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

One of the best traveling experiences ever. Ritz Carlton is known for great facilities and service but they exceeded our expectations. Although this is a fairly large resort with top notch amenities, it was the personal touch of the staff that set this trip above and beyond other trips. Here's a few examples: The general manager, Joseph, was stopping by for coffee at the cafe and greeted my family to insure we were well taken care of. He stepped away for a few minutes and returned with a small teddy bear gift for my 18 mo. son. It wouldn't be the only time Joseph said 'hello' and I was amazed how he'd stop conversations with his staff to check if we were doing ok. This example seemed to resonate with others from the valet, Luke (who greeted us by name every time I drove up and insured we had fresh bottles of water in our cup holders when we took our car out) to Dr. Marsh and the friendly concierges running the Smores campfire event. The hospitality expressed by all felt genuine and sincere. We've traveled to many 5-star vacation spots and it's rare to feel this level of connection with the staff. The entire experience inspired us to plan the next opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdLucero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have been touring California and wanted to visit on our trip Lake Tahoe. We booked the ritz Carlton, Lake Tahoe and our biggest disappointment when arriving there after a 5 hours drive the hotel is NOT located at the lake. While booking this hotel you should be informed that this is a place out in the nowhere and not at the lake, especially if you are not familiar with the area and coming from overseas. Wish we would have known in advance - but then we had no chance then to stay !

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Ritz Tahoe is the best hotel that I have stayed at in a long time. The staff is top notch with out being intrusive. Once you arrive at the resort, there is no need to leave. From hiking trails to delicious fruit and herb infused water, they have everything covered. This place is one in a million, please stay here!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karigirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This resort is one of a kind! I can't believe I had the opportunity to stay here. The spa was fabulous and I could have stayed there all day. The ability to relax outdoors was great as well as the indoor relaxation area. The pool is one of the best in the world. Having been there in July, I was able to enjoy a relaxing afternoon sipping cocktails while viewing mountain bikers come down the mountain. Fantastic outdoor space with fireplaces for making s'mores and could hop right on the mountain or take the gondola down to the village. A bit of a trip down to the lake, but a great property with ski in/ski out options. The staff was all very wonderful and I really enjoyed my stay there! Loved that I had a fireplace in the room to cozy up to!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Ritz Tahoe had undoubtedly the best service of any of the many Ritz we have been to. The staff were not only courteous, they were proactive in service. Trying to meet your needs before you know you need them. Top notch all around. They were even nice to a lady wearing a cat sweater and pushing a giant cat around in a stroller. The hotel was nice. The setting was not bad. The food was good. The weather was beautiful. I highly recommend experiencing Ritz Tahoe if you haven't.

Room Tip: Though we prefer to not be near an elevator, we were all the way at the end of the hallway, and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orphankids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Location of the hotel is pretty remote, something I, but mostly probably not all visitors, can appreciate. The obligation to use the $35 per day valet parking is absurd considering the location of the hotel; free parking is simply not possible!

Planned to stay four nights that I prepaid in full to get a very good (non cancellable) rate. On my way from San Francisco to Truckee I got informed I had to leave the hotel after the first night's stay due to a family emergency. Upon check-in I informed front desk staff, who without any hesitation cancelled the rest of my stay and refunded the excess amount prepaid. Upon return from dinner later that night two bottles of beer on ice had been delivered to my room with an encouraging message. I have no words to express my appreciation for this level of service and sensitivity.

The one king bedroom suite with mountain view I received was wonderful: spacious, comfortable and (as requested) very quiet indeed. As you should indeed be able to expect from a Ritz Carlton room. As I suspect September to be off season (certainly on week days), the hotel was very quiet, which I very much enjoyed. Wifi comes with the room, which I would expect for a room at this rate.

However I was very, very dissapointed that (being on 4th floor) the "mountain view" consisted basically of a view of the pool/terrace area of the hotel with tall trees covering the mountains (see attached pictures).. So it was exactly the view I did NOT would have wanted for my stay; I had been looking forward to an undisturbed view of some mountains. I would actually advice valley view rooms, these also are way lower priced!

Further the bathroom was perfect, however the cover of the light switch fell of when I operated it. To conclude the complaints are of this review: the bed wasn't the best I slept in, definitely in hotels of this (price) level. Too soft, sheets not fully tugged in (slipping loose during the night). Should be improved.

I did not have dinner in the posh restaurant, but had a burger in the bar restaurant. The burger was more than adequate and tasty. The waiter was being very warm and personal even trying to speak my language when he thought he (correctly so) recognized me as a Dutchman.

Their lobby area with fireplaces is absolutely wonderfull to relax......if the hotel is quiet. During peak season I can imagine the place to be full and noisy with people fighting for the armchairs near the fire. That wasn't the case now and I had ample rest to finish my book and relax given my family circumstances.

Rushed out in the morning without having had any breakfast or having seen the Spa area.

Would I return here: definitely! Would I take a mountain view suite: I don't think so!

Room Tip: Really think twice about paying for "mountain view". It rather is pool/terrace/tree view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKnops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
24.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
7.7 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing