We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Mountains”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here while attending a family wedding at Incline Village (approximately 25 minutes away). This hotel is incredible. I relied heavily on the hotel concierge prior to our arrival. Bernie arranged our rides to and from the hotel, dinner reservations and dry cleaning. Valet service was friendly and fast ($35/day for parking). Room was beautiful. Nice size room with a fireplace. Bathroom had plush towels and well stocked toiletries. Great shower and huge soaking tub. Beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Pool bar was a great spot to relax. Staff (Adam, Brian and Sara) was very friendly and fun to sit and talk to. Amazing firepits dot the grounds, with lots of folks making smores each night. Pool is a very nice size with plenty of chairs for sitting and sunbathing.
Be aware there is a $25/day resort fee.
Again, this place is incredible. Great place for a romantic getaway or just a getaway from the rat race.
I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.
One more tip - if you need a car service for the weekend, I recommend Trevor (I believe the company name was Independence Taxi. He has a nice size Toyota SUV) I left my cell in the car and Trevor went out of his was to get it back to me ASAP. His number is 530-210-6041. We used him all weekend and he was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syrsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    151
    68
    35
    22
See reviews for
289
332
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We've just come back from a road trip in California and stayed here for 2 nights,first of all 2 nights is not enough it really is a fantastic hotel with fantastic staff in an absolutely wonderful location.We hadn't booked so just turned up and they were so accommodating and friendly showing us the different rooms they had available even after we said yes to one room when we came back in he had found us a better room on a higher floor,now I know it's what you expect from a Ritz and we tend to stay at a ritz if there's one there but this place is ace if your going to Lake Tahoe stay here,end of.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlhaddad
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When flying 16hrs and then driving 3hrs from the connecting airport, SFO, your body aches for the perfect home away from home. And thats just what it was.

Starting with the exceptional concierge staff who even got my wrinkled suit pressed on the house to the rustic elegance of an oversized 7 storey 'wooden cabin' feel hotel with a massive central chimney, from the moment you arrive, you thank God. U know this place was worth the journey.

We came for my cousins wedding. The setting between the tall alpine trees, sunset shimmering behind the married duet, the essence of class and old school charm evoke within you a sense of lustre from days gone past.

Summer months, within the hotels vicinity, are great hikes, refreshing lakes to cool off in, mountain biking rentals and body armour as well as just a 10min hike or 5min cable car ride down to the northstar resort which is in itself a self contained family entertainment zone from roller skating (iceskating in winter), to anything outdoorsie.

Enjoy. Not cheap, but certainly worth it if its within your budget.

Room Tip: U cant go wrong with either a courtyard/pool view or the panoramic mountain views. Just make sure u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlhaddad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I had been road tripping for a few days, putting on quite a lot of miles on my new ride, and decided I needed a break. Stopped at the Ritz in Truckee (Lake Tahoe) and was quite impressed. I'm not big on double bed rooms so asked for a king. They put me on the club level (flr 5) and I was happy with the room/view. I see that everyone writes on here to get the mountainside view but to be honest, I liked my valley view. The room itself is not overly impressive but it's cosy/comfortable which is fine by me.

I ate at Manzanita for dinner both nights opting to sit at the bar in the giant circular fireplace room on the second floor. I had the sea bass and salmon. Both were good. The bartender (Brad I think, I'm terrible with names, who is awesome though!) suggested the sautéed cauliflower side dish, good call. During the day I ate at outside at the BBQ place by the pool. Enjoyed a ginormous veggie burger there with good side dishes. Food is decent, no complaints.

I opted for an 80 minute "Organic" massage. The masseuses name was Snow. One word for her - Awesome. I gauge how good the massage is by how many times I fall asleep (lol). Pretty sure it was 3 or 4 times with her working my body. She has great technique with the right pressure. Highly recommend her.

During the day I hung out at the pool. They are pretty good on checking up on you and making sure you have what you need. I have one, tiny qualm though. It took a while to get drinks. It seemed like there was only one gal working the pool area and she was pretty busy. To me, they could gauge the busyness of the pool and add more servers as needed. I did notice more servers starting to show up later in the day though.

Final thoughts are that they are great at customer service. I had folks greet me and talk to me passing through the lobby area after I had spoken with them earlier. They would bring up previous conversations or ask how I was doing etc. I liked the personalization of the service, very friendly. Bonus tip for parents with kids, this is well-suited for your young ones. Lots of activities and kid-friendly things to do.

Room Tip: Try the valley view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjpcrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Great location to explore the Lake Tahoe/Reno/Sparks Region. Hotel staff could not be more accommodating ! Shout out to Keenan at the front desk ! Late Checkout was much appreciated. Family took the nature walk with staff to a close lake (90 min) which was fun, informative and got our appetites going for a good breakfast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank VincentView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

best service and great food option - we are on gluten free diet and this place is haven - everything can be gluten free I mean everything!! only one time we had accident at pool, we order food with gluten free bun and came with non gluten free even I was make sure 3 times with server
great room - roomy, comfy bed, really can't go wrong with ritz room
have gondola to norstar village which was nice and entertaining for kids
spa was amazing
staff was so great
there is really nothing to complain about!!
wish we can go back on winter - you can do ski in and out from property
gorgeous place with amazing service!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehawaiigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
201 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our brief stay at this property. The room, the grounds, all common areas we saw were well maintained and very clean. We did have a slight issue at the pool, where we found a cup from someone's beverage at the bottom of the large swimming pool (probably there from the prior evening since we were the first guests to use the pool that morning). Otherwise our stay was very comfortable and relaxing.

The staff was impressive, which is likely to be expected at this type of property but certainly isn't the norm at the places we more typically frequent. They were gracious and welcoming without being obsequious.

On the down side, we were surprised by the fact that the property is 100% valet (I was not told this when I made my reservation by phone), with the fee running just slightly less than one would expect to pay in NY or Boston - keep in mind that this is nearly the middle of nowhere, up on a mountain in the middle of the woods near Lake Tahoe. Valet is a reasonable option, but requiring it was quite unexpected. Between the valet cost, resort fee, and taxes, the basic rooms become significantly more expensive than the base rate found online would suggest. This is obviously not a concern for those who regularly frequent 4/5 star resorts, but something for anyone considering splurging (ie: those of us on a more limited budget) to be aware of.

The entire family agreed, though, that we would stay again given the opportunity.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
871 reviews
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,752 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
615 reviews
24.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing