We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without A doubt, The Finest Hotel In Tahoe Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Without A doubt, The Finest Hotel In Tahoe Area”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have enjoyed numerous hotels throughout Tahoe over the years. This is my favorite. The views from this hotel are incredible! The rooms were very nice and comfortable. They have a rustic,but,modern and comfortable feel. For all the amenities that this hotel offers, the rate was reasonable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I am looking forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    19
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
57
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just like having a well equipped condo. This place sits literally a 20 foot walk across all the action of downtown. Restaurant none, but there exist a very nice sf serve continental breakfast. StF is sooo friendly and accommodating. Price is what it is, everyone wants to stay there, so there you have it. I loved it more than the Ritz.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suhail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I used to love this place. We have stayed here several times with my family and have enjoyed each time. However, my feelings have been altered. We made plans to stay over Thanksgiving weekend. My daughter, who attends college on the East coast, will not be able to make it home for Thanksgiving. I cancelled our reservations, but I am past the two week deadline by two days. I would have been very happy to have a portion of the trip (pre-paid from September) to be a credit for future use. This is not an option and full payment of the trip will be forfeited. Please be aware of this policy prior to booking your trip so that you will not suffer the same misfortune as us.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

These apartments are really nice. They are beautiful and don't yet have the trampled and worn feel of a tired ski lodge. We were two families staying in a 3 bedroom - plenty of space. The kitchen was well equipped and the unit had it's own laundry facilities. The gas fireplace on the balcony was a nice touch. There is a large lounge on the first floor that leads out to a patio with gas fire - we spent evenings there roasting marshmellows for s'mores. The lounge looked like a nice place to hangout for apres ski evenings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tralmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
7.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,752 reviews
24.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
8.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
615 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts

Property: Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Address: 970 Northstar Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-4204
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Truckee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Northstar and two minute walk to multi-activities Village Core (including live music and skating rink), Northstar Lodge boasts ski-in/ski-out, adjacent to Big Springs gondola and Swim and Fitness Center. Features exclusive exteriors with native materials for a naturally weathered appearance, while luxuriously warm appointments set the mood within creating a high-alpine sensibility. All two and three bedroom residences feature a private deck with in & outdoor fireplaces, hickory and carpeted floors, alder cabinets, spacious fully equipped full-size kitchens, and ranch house design interiors. Other amenities include a spacious lounge, media theater, ski and boot valet (winter) and bike valet (summer). Other Activities include Hiking and Golfing, and 15 minutes to Lake Tahoe, Horseback Riding, and other outdoor sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar Lodge - Hyatt Residence Club Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing