We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pampered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pampered”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

An amazing facility. Rooms well-stocked. Beautifully decorated. Makes me very happy to be a Welk owner. Ski valet is very nice. Access to the exercise facility a nice bonus. The only thing missing are barbecues, and a after ski wine and cheese reception.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbiezken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    19
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
55
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed in 3-bedroom unit with family of 4 for 4 nights. As others have said, like staying in a beautiful condo with high end finishes everywhere. Mountain lodge aesthetic mixed with contemporary finishes. Bring groceries and take advantage of outstanding, well-equipped kitchen for eating in and save $ vs. pricey restaurants in the village (this is not a standard hotel with room service). Staff was super friendly and helped quickly with several things. Had their own ski valet service which was very helpful. Right next to gondola to Ritz Carlton - which provides more dining options at mid-mountain (cafe there good and reasonable price for lunch). Don't miss the 16-person high-end home-style theater - reserve it early and pick from their long list of DVD's or bring your own (no extra fee). Have their own exercise facility that isn't huge but is well equipped with modern equipment - the non-skiier in our family used it every day and loved it. We've already booked return visit for next year.

Room Tip: rooms facing north star village have better mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCHKCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgedale, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This place is beautiful!! The rooms are very large and spacious. The appliances are top of line!! The beds are comfortable and sheets are so soft. The view is beautiful with the gondola right outside our window. It snowed here too which was beautiful! You can't go wrong here. Also Welk bought this property so I'm really excited about that!!! All their properties are Top Notch!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have enjoyed numerous hotels throughout Tahoe over the years. This is my favorite. The views from this hotel are incredible! The rooms were very nice and comfortable. They have a rustic,but,modern and comfortable feel. For all the amenities that this hotel offers, the rate was reasonable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I am looking forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just like having a well equipped condo. This place sits literally a 20 foot walk across all the action of downtown. Restaurant none, but there exist a very nice sf serve continental breakfast. StF is sooo friendly and accommodating. Price is what it is, everyone wants to stay there, so there you have it. I loved it more than the Ritz.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suhail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I used to love this place. We have stayed here several times with my family and have enjoyed each time. However, my feelings have been altered. We made plans to stay over Thanksgiving weekend. My daughter, who attends college on the East coast, will not be able to make it home for Thanksgiving. I cancelled our reservations, but I am past the two week deadline by two days. I would have been very happy to have a portion of the trip (pre-paid from September) to be a credit for future use. This is not an option and full payment of the trip will be forfeited. Please be aware of this policy prior to booking your trip so that you will not suffer the same misfortune as us.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

These apartments are really nice. They are beautiful and don't yet have the trampled and worn feel of a tired ski lodge. We were two families staying in a 3 bedroom - plenty of space. The kitchen was well equipped and the unit had it's own laundry facilities. The gas fireplace on the balcony was a nice touch. There is a large lounge on the first floor that leads out to a patio with gas fire - we spent evenings there roasting marshmellows for s'mores. The lounge looked like a nice place to hangout for apres ski evenings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tralmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
7.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
24.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
4.3 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts

Property: Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Address: 970 Northstar Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-4204
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Truckee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Northstar and two minute walk to multi-activities Village Core (including live music and skating rink), Northstar Lodge boasts ski-in/ski-out, adjacent to Big Springs gondola and Swim and Fitness Center. Features exclusive exteriors with native materials for a naturally weathered appearance, while luxuriously warm appointments set the mood within creating a high-alpine sensibility. All two and three bedroom residences feature a private deck with in & outdoor fireplaces, hickory and carpeted floors, alder cabinets, spacious fully equipped full-size kitchens, and ranch house design interiors. Other amenities include a spacious lounge, media theater, ski and boot valet (winter) and bike valet (summer). Other Activities include Hiking and Golfing, and 15 minutes to Lake Tahoe, Horseback Riding, and other outdoor sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar Lodge - Hyatt Residence Club Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing