We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any way you say it, Trokay is superb”
Review of Trokay

Trokay
Ranked #17 of 116 Restaurants in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Greer, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Any way you say it, Trokay is superb”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A true culinary melange tie treat, Trokay serves innovative cuisine complemented with fine professional service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    11
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best meal EVER”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I've traveled all around the world. The best meals of my life have been at this restaurant. Great technique and great flavor. Thank you John and Nina (and Roxy).

Helpful?
2 Thank duffyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unexpected excellence!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was in Truckee for work last week and we stumbled upon this hidden gem. On a quiet Monday night off-season, we didn't have high expectations and what we found was incredible. This chic restaurant was impressive! We were immediately warmly greeted and sat. Our waitress was simply lovely and extremely knowledgeable about the menu.

It was like we were going on an adventure with every course. She kept bringing out treats from the kitchen and each was tastier than the next. If you live in, or near Truckee, you should go. If you are visiting, you should go.

It was absolutely fantastic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bostontraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A dining gem”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Truckee is quickly becoming a foodie haven. Over the past year or so I have had the pleasure of dining at Trokay, my go to restaurant whenever in town, probably a half a dozen times. You have a choice of ordering a la carte or prix fixe, with or without wine pairings. First, the service is friendly and attentive - the owners charming and always welcoming. The food is delicious and beautifully presented. Your meal will be punctuated with little surprise bites throughout, from an amuse bouche, to a lovely selection of breads and home made jams, to macaroons and assorted sweets to end the meal. When I celebrated my birthday with friends at Trokay, I was surprised with a lovely chocolate dessert selection in addition to the cookies! Everything is a delight to your taste buds and visually appealing. The menu changes regularly, but among my favorites are the beet salad and the bone marrow. Meats and fish are always perfectly prepared. It's fun to go with a group of people so that you can order multiple dishes and share tastes. A nice wine cellar, or you can bring your own. Upscale dining with small town friendly service. Recommend reservations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JinFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Truckee!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

John and Nina have raised the cuisine bar in Truckee. The quality and perfection of the food reflect John's incredible passion and talent in creating tastes, textures and dishes that rival many fine dining restaurants in the US. The twist - fine dining in a beautifully designed Truckee-style setting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmomw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trokay also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Trokay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing