We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cute” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Truckee B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very cute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2006

We stayed for a week and had a wonderful time. Our room was on the lower level (off the street) and was very quiet but somewhat small for all of our stuff (although the bathroom was huge with a great clawfoot tub). I would hig hly recommend this b&b. Its newly renovated, well decorated and CLEAN (which is most important to me).

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    7
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2006

My fiance and I had an excellent time at the River Street Inn. The hospitality was second to none. We stayed a week, including New Year's Eve and a couple of days after.

In fact, on New Year's Eve we returned from dinner and were invited to share complimentary champagne with the owners Matt and Wendy (as were other guests who wandered in and out of the communcal area).

It is very refreshing to hear people speak passionately about the place they live and all it and the surrounds have to offer. While there is skiing in Truckee, about 40 minutes away in Reno there's apparently ample room for dirt biking and horse riding. On one rainy, non-ski day we made the trip to Virginia City, Nevada - a real live old Western town!!

By 11.05pm on New Year's Eve we were all quite pooped and retired to our rooms for quiet celebrations - and for junkies of the program, the final Law and Order for 2005 (there was a marathon on).

While there were roadside snow scrapers on our side of the building, we choose not to gripe about the noise, but to relish the thought of snow on the mountains. (If it's snowing in Truckee, you can be assured of snow at the resorts.) Yippee powder!!!

The couple are very accommodating, trying to ensure all guests have the most enjoyable stay possible. While breakfast time is usually 8am, the majority of winter guests are skiiers keen to hit the slopes so you can breakfast earlier and get a head start on the day.

When our skiing clothes were drenched from the rain (remember the flooding rains of 2005, prior to the lovely snowfalls?), Wendy offered to dry them for us.

There were many interesting and friendly conversations had around the breakfast table, with Matt and Wendy and also our fellow travellers. It's one of the reasons we choose a B & B. After all, if you're looking for total seclusion your best bet is a double-glazed 5-star hotel with room service.

River Street Inn is certainly a place to go to meet friendly new people and experience the gorgeous little town of Truckee.

We recommend not only the River Street Inn, but also Truckee. It's a great place to stay to access a number of ski resorts. The restaurants are first class and the people are extremely welcoming.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2006

My boyfriend organized a last minute Tahoe night for Dec. 31 in Truckee and found the River Street Inn advertised online, even on this site. In summary, the husband/wife couple who own and manage the property deserve a public review here on this site.

We arrived and were given a key to our room, one of two that are immediately adjacent to the kitchen/eating/living room area. The rest of the rooms were down a hall on the same floor or on the basement floor borndering a busy street, while the couple occupied the top floor as their home. All rooms were the same $170 rate.

Granted it was New Year's eve, but the husband chatted on past midnight loudly in the public room about his motorcross accomplishments, keeping us awake. I am sure he's an accomplished rider, but we went away to relax in a quiet setting. Not even 6 hours of peace later, breakfast started at 7:00 am, and people entering and leaving the building seemed to close the front door into the headboard of our bed. Around 8:30, my boyfriend told them it was pretty loud and could we move rooms? The husband's response was to start the dishwasher. When I went out for coffee around 9:00 am, the wife turned from a welcoming attitude (when we arrived the night before), to cold.

The wife offered us a room on the ground floor for Sunday night at $100/night in an effort to keep us there and happy. She warned that it was on the street, though. We left our bags packed and they offered to move them to the new room that we would occupy after our day of skiing.

When we returned, we found the original room emptied of our luggage, placed our keys to that room on their front desk, and were walking down the stairway to find the new room. This is when the husband gets involved and demomstrated his complete lack of appreciation for people who come there and pay his bills.

First, he asked us where we were going (....well, looking for our new room?). Next, he asked us if we had a key (....well, no, we are searching for it). He asked us to throw him the old key (it was put on the desk), then said he'd have to get us a new key (helpful comment), walked to his desk and wanted to throw it at us in the stairwell. I said that I'll walk up and meet him at the landing. I stood there while we had a passive aggressive Mexican standoff. Who would walk towards whom? He made his stance, about 6 feet away from me, holding the key towards me. I stood on the landing and asked for the key, and reminded him that he didn't need to throw them. He finally met my reach and I was able to retrieve the key from his grip.

Every couple of hour at night a snow plow went by scraping the asphalt into our eardrums, and about 8 am in the morning, the laundry machines directly above the room started. Then, about 9:30, the maid walked into the tiny room without knocking, a bit to everyone's embarassment. You'd think a knock would make sense or there would be a list of people who have checked out for her work planning each day. As a final surprise, it turns out their normal weekeday rate is $100/night, there was no special concession for a noisy night chatter and early morning breakfast noise.

These people blew every opportunity to be at least polite, at most to put a positive spin on the blunders and/or complete insensitivity. This is their home, but we we were treated like intruders. The building IS historic and remodeled. However, customer service means making people feel good about parting with their dollars, and the sum of blunders left us with a bad feeling.

Having 60 + years of domestic and international travel between us, this trip stands out as good, laughable cocktail party material.

Helpful?
10 Thank allierowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2005

River Street Inn is run by a wonderful family and they mean to provide a nice experience. I stayed 4 days at a recent conference and loved my accomodations. The location is convenient to downtown but amazingly quiet given the proximity of railroad tracks. Must be some thick walls!

Wendy and Matt have given the Inn a nice local feel. It blends in historically which befits its own historical status. I generally think B&B's try too hard with frilly accoutrements, but River Street Inn is just right. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KurtAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2004

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights one snowy january.
We came up on Amtrack, which is very convienent to the Inn, and had a delightful time. We never had a car, but you are close to everything.
The owner was very nice, and the place is much nicer inside than it looks from the outside.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2004

We've stayed here a couple of times and have more weekends planned. Lovely rooms with not so much as a hint of chintz, friendly and easy-going owners, charming historic building right in the middle of old Truckee. Nice healthy breakfast available at the Inn, but with a diner across the road and great bars and restaurants only a few yards away why on earth would you want to stay anywhere else? 10 mins drive to Squaw.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.5 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 13 in Truckee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redlight
Redlight
#1 of 12 in Truckee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
2.4 mi away
Truckee Donner Lodge
Truckee Donner Lodge
#7 of 13 in Truckee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Property: River Street Inn
Address: 10009 E River St, Truckee, CA 96161-0334
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — River Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
River Street Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing