We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tahoe location near ski slopes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Tahoe location near ski slopes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here. We love the proximity to the ski slopes and nice village feel location with many shoppes and restaurants. fabulous decor. Only thing that I wish was that they should at least include cleaning service For one day out of the week to tidy up and clean bathrooms. Otherwise, it's perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesvacation97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for your review & feedback, lovesvacation97. We're so glad you've stayed with us twice & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    12
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

we stayed in a 4 bed unit in iron horse south in early January 2013. it was a fantastic experience. the unit had an exceptional fit out and northstar as a family ski destination is perfect. our group included 2 kids under 3, the village location worked really well for them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
We're happy you enjoyed your stay in Iron Horse & hope to see you again soon..
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Staying just 5 days at the Iron Horse in a 2 bedroom 3 bath unit made my 7 year old say he never wants to stay in a different hotel again. We all absolutely loved the unit. We've stayed in many condo-style places before, but the IH was the most comfortable and well-appointed by far.

We especially appreciated the attention to detail, in the room and by the staff. The room had everything we needed including full kitchen tools and amenities, bedroom furniture that included a chaise lounge, ample lighting fixtures, humidifiers, and very luxurious bedding. Truly felt like home. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Not to mention generous with the lobby coffee and hot chocolate for me and my family.

List of other great things: underground and secure parking, access to all Northstar Resort fitness centers and hot tubs/swimming, DVR on main tv, ski lockers, washer & dryer in unit, Northstar Village restaurants and shops, ice/roller skating.

Loved it so much, we're already planning to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spaek68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you so much Spaek68 for taking the time to provide a review of your visit with us at Iron Horse Lodge. We look forward to hosting a return visit for you and of course your 7 year old too! So glad he enjoyed his stay as well! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed in Iron Horse - a 1 bedroom, 1 bath condo. It was beautiful and nicely decorated. We were a little dissappointed not all the restaurants were open during our stay. We ate at the wine bar and Mikuni's and both were excellent. Lot's of fun for a weekend getaway with no kids! We looked out over the older condos so the view was not that great but the inside of the room and service when we checked in made up for it. We did not experience the noise level as others did - it was nice and quiet for us. Would definitely stay again and bring kids with us this time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you so much pkimmi for taking the time to provide a review of the Iron Horse Lodge and Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging. I apologize that all of the restaurants in the village were not open during your visit. I will most definitely share your thoughts with the Northstar team. I am glad that you did enjoy the options you had. I too frequent Petra, Mikuni and of course Starbucks for my morning latte and love them all! We hope to see you back soon...this winter we're hoping for some great snow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Have stayed at Northstar several times and highly recommend it. Summer rates are much lower than winter rates so we come up every year to play some golf and the many other activities in and around the lake. We've stayed at both 1 bedroom and 3 bedrooms units in the past. All have similar furniture and amenities. Some units still have tube TV's in the bedrooms, which is not so great, but didn't really watch all that much TV there so I didn't mind it too much.

Several things to consider in the summer, is the Gondola to the Ritz Carlton highlands only runs on weekends at 1:30pm to I think around 10pm. We were there Sat - Tue. It would be great if they had some kind of shuttle to take guests back and forth when the Gondola is not open. Especially since Ritz Carlton charges for parking.

Check in is easy and received a complimentary bottle of wine for being repeat guests!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emsf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you EMSF29 for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. I will share your feedback regarding the gondola schedule with the Ritz Carlton as I am sure they will appreciate that you would have liked to have been able to spend more time there if transportation was available. Your comments about the TV's will be shared with our homeowner liasion. Our guest feedback is highly valued by our owners. We look forward to your next stay with us! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Lodge is absolutely beautiful. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. Staff is very friendly. The concierge answered all our questions regarding local activites and handled our dinner reservations without a glich even when we changed our dinner time and number of people from 8 to 11! The kids enjoyed the skating rink while we sat on the comfy couches and made smores using the fire pits! Very cool! I would stay there again and again and again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for us LeslieH.I am so glad you had a great time during your visit! I truly look forward to welcoming you back again, and again and again! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in a 2bd/2bath condo last weekend. And although the unit is beautifully decorated and spacious with lots of lovely amenties, the one thing we could not get over was how noisy everything was. First, the constant blarring music from the Village speakers makes it impossible to open your window between 9am - 10pm unless you want loud music piped in. But worse than that was the snow sweeper back up senors that woke everyone in our household up everyday at 4:30 am!!!. There was NO way to sleep though it, it was so loud and I'm sure the echo off the other village units didn't help. We were not alone in our dissatisfaction, we talked to many other guests who were complaining about the same thing. Maybe Northstar will get enough complaints and either cut the music off earlier and/or silence the back-up sensor mechanisms on the snow sweepers. We love the Village and will go back to visit but we won't stay "inside" again.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the mountain AWAY FROM THE VILLAGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you so much Robyn for taking the time to provide a review of your stay this winter. I do apologize that the village was a bit loud for your liking...I have spoken to the resort and shared your thoughts. On your next visit with Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging, if you would prefer a more tranquil and serene environment I would love to see you stay with us at Old Greenwood. The Old Greenwood community is a complimentary, fifteen minute shuttle ride from Northstar California in the winter and is situated on 600 acres of towering pines and rolling hills. Our luxury lodging and amenities at Old Greenwood are very comparable to what is offered in the Village at Northstar. I hope to see you back soon and look forward to providing you with a quieter alternative to staying in the village. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
7.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
24.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging

Property: Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
Address: 4001 Northstar Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Horse Lodge, slopeside in the Village at Northstar, offers luxurious one, two, three and four-bedroom condominium accommodations. Residences include a complete kitchen (or kitchenette), great room, fireplace (most) and outdoor terrace showcasing expansive views of the surrounding mountains or Village excitement. Located mere steps from the gondola and set among boutique shops and restaurants, Iron Horse Lodge guests have access to a year-round, heated, outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs, fitness centers, steam and locker rooms plus complimentary underground parking and private ski storage lockers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing