We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVE OLD GREENWOOD!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Greenwood Resort - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My family, extended family, and friends from all over the country have been coming up to OG for over 5 yrs now and I wanted to write a review because this place is fantastic, and the staff deserves kudos for sure!
They have truly thought of everything when they built this place.
To start off, the resort is very easy to get to and it is close to downtown Truckee, shopping, and restaurants. It is also a 10 minute drive to Northstar, 40 minutes to Reno airport and if you want to gamble you can hit the Hyatt at King's Beach about 35 minutes away. Our family usually comes during ski season but summertime is fantastic too. The cabins are very nice, great kitchen, king size beds, fireplaces etc.
They have 3 great swimming pools, one for the kiddies, a community pool with a water slide and lifeguards on duty, and a lap pool in a more secluded area if you want to chillax.
They have waiters at poolside bringing you drinks and food, and if you want to eat inside they have a very cool little cafe inside the pavilion.
They also have great tennis courts, and you can sign up for a lesson ( my 10 year old son took a group lesson and loved it) The instructor was a very upbeat, enthusiastic lady who was great with the kids. I don't golf but my Father in law is an avid golfer and said the course is "first rate".
If you have kids , they also have a" kids club" in the pavilion with a game room, and computers and a pool table, and they also offer "movie night"(dinner included) , so you and you're husband can drop off the kids and go out to dinner and they take care of everything else. They also have a smaller "kids club" for the younger kids with an attached playground. There is also a little store in the pavilion if you need to pick up some groceries but don't feel like driving into town. They also have a shuttle service that runs daily to Northstar if you don't want to drive. The Alpine Club, Schaffer's camp and the Wild goose are just some of the things that are so fantastic about OG, it is really hard to beat!
OG also has a GREAT gym and spa and the ladies locker room has a wonderful steam room. I will tell you that a few of the lockers were not working but they had others that were so it wasn't a big deal.
The staff at the front desk are friendly, competent and helpful. The maintenance staff has ALWAYS been great as well, if anything was broken or not working properly they are on it. Every year we have 2 full cabins full of friends coming to visit, simply because OLD GREENWOOD is a beautiful place with so many great amenities, a stellar staff and a top notch vacation experience!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aabergstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Old Greenwood Resort - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

I just stayed at an old greenwood cabin over the new year's holiday and it was wonderful. Very spacious and lovely decorations. The gourmet kitchen was great and made cooking fun and even a little elegant.

The cabins are an easy drive from the Reno airport (about half hour) and very close to Northstar skiing (about 10 minutes).

The staff was also very friendly, but the accommodations really 'speak' for themselves.

It was a great getaway!!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddosquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

OK fellow travelers here's the "411" on Old Greenwood. We rented a beautiful home on the 11th fairway of the golf course with a very nice outdoor living area which we enjoyed each day. Rented through VRBO.com and got a great price. The resort is very clean and casual with a very helpful and professional staff. The resort went backrupt in Feb. 2010 but it is not noticeable because the grounds are well maintained. There is a guard house at the entrance to the resort but it is not "maned".

The Pavilion area is nice but not extravagant. The small shop is well stocked with food essentials, tee shirts & sweatshirts and a nice selection of wines. Very expensive as you might imagine but available and convenient. The workout room is large and well maintained with all types of machines and cardio equipment. No waiting at any time. The Spa was small with a nice waiting area (The Sanctuary) and four massage rooms. The massages were great. Call 24 hours in advance. Men's locker room was great with nice lockers, great towels, great steam room and toiletries if needed. Two pools outside....main pool was busy with families and children but very well maintained. The Adult Pool (18 years old and over) was perfect with a nice lap pool, great chairs and umbrellas, drinking water stations and very quiet. A hot tub is available at each pool. The Adult Pool hot tob was great. The Safeway in Truckee has a great wine selection, there is also a wine shop in the same shopping complex. Be sure and get a Safeway Club Card since some of the savings can be $10 a bottle. Just apply at the counter and they will give you a temporary card to use immediately.

Golf Course,,,be prepared for a $185 greens fee. A typical Nicklaus track with difficult greens, multiple greenside bunkers and lots of fairway bunkers. Four sets of tees to choose from. Fantastic scenery and almost perfect conditions. Well worth the greens fee....once. Did not play Gray's Crossing but it looked very nice and a little easier. Same greens fee.

Runners & Walkers Tip....find the 11th green on the golf course. Just behind the 11th green is the golf course maintanience buildings. Adjacent to these buildings you'll see a sign that states "#1 Bike Path" with a arrow. Follow that arrow and it will take under I-80 then it splits on the other side. Go left and that will take you into Gray's Crossing development, go right and it's a beautiful paved path out into the wilderness....incredible!! For those "Flatlanders" be prepared for the 6,200 feet above sea level.

Overall this resort is terrific. I highly recommend this to families and those that are looking for peace, quiet and complete relaxation. Great place...can't wait to go back next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank art1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We made our annual pilmigrage to Old Greenwdood last week. My kids are 6 and 7 now and just a perfect age for this place. I can't believe there aren't more reviews of this place. It's simply an awesome place for a summer trip with the family. We rented a 6,000 sq foot "cabin" through VRBO.com and easily fit 3 families into the house. Had a great time roaming the neighborhood, kids searching for golf balls, swimming/sunning at the pool, etc.... Also, make your way to THE lake and eat at the Tahoe Mountain Club resturant, Wild Goose, which is awesome too! It's only 15 minutes away with outdoor dining overlooking Lake Tahoe. The kids went kid's club at the OG pavillion, that night, and they had a great time. I look forward to our next trip to OG!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DodgerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We actually stayed in a custom cabin within the community, but were able to use all the Old Greenwood resort amenities for a rental fee ($250 per week) for all of us who stayed in the cabin (a total of 10 of us). The Pavilion is very nice. We all had dinner at the restaurant, my wife and her sister had a spa treatment (which they said was amazing) and my kids enjoyed the kids room and the spa (which they keep nice and warm after skiing). Even though we didn't stay in the townhomes that they rent (which prices are way higher) we were able to take advantage of the FREE shuttle that took all of us from the cabin we were staying at to Northstar ski resort, and they picked us up and brought us back to the cabin later that day. I've heard Old Greenwood is amazing during the summer (the pool and golf course), but we still had an amazing time here. We found the cabin we rented on craigslist and were extremely satisfied with the cabin and our stay. I think the website is crownpointpm .com. All in all...Highly recommend Old Greenwood.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We spent a week at Old Greenwood last summer after spending a few days with friends the year before. It is the premiere Tahoe destination in my opinion. Summer days at Old Greenwood are incredible. I would hit the gym every morning. It's a first class gym with top quality equipment. We then would hike or bike a little bit. We would then hit the pool by 11:00ish. The pool area is a dreamland for kids... and adults. Just a great place to spend the day. At night you can leave the kids at the child's center or hang out at your cabin. Just an incredible place. Oh ya, and the golf course isn't so bad either! I highl recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DodgerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We are actually still here at Old Greenwood. We've been snowed in here and rained in here a few days out of our week here (we are here on a fractional trade) and we are sooo impressed by this place. First of all, the service is top-notch. Winter is their slower season but this place is still well-staffed. They cleared out our driveway daily (when needed) and were on top of moving snow so we could all get in and out of the property. The Pavillion (their lodge) was great. They have a heated pool which we used and jacuzzi. Everyone here was so friendly and very helpful. We travel a lot and don't get this kind of service in Mexico. This was like being at the Four Seasons. Our Townhome was a 3 bedroom, 4 bathroom with a 2 car garage. This place was HUGE. There was only three of us and we didn't even go upstairs. Few fireplaces in the rooms which we used a lot. I can't say enough about this place. We are told by everyone here that this place rocks in the summer. It has a Jack Nicklaus golf course and so much to do with the kids. The other benefit we had was going to Northstar to board you get to use the Alpine Club (they are a ski valet) where you can lounge and you have to be a member to get into. You can keep your gear here overnight and relax here when you are done on the mountain. Also, the member card gets you to Schaeffer's Camp mid mountain which is a MUST. Again, high end but not stuffy. You take off your boots and put on slippers, they even have little slippers for kids of all ages. The service here was great. The guys at Alpine, Bruce & Guy treated us all like kings. Their Lodge has a great fitness center with daily classes, a restaurant and a spa. Also, kids room with games, pool table and computers. Also, free internet in your home/villa. Lots of organized activities (snowshoeing, snowmobiling, kids movie night, kids camp, etc.)

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelPro4You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
10.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,874 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
341 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Greenwood Resort - Tahoe Mountain Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Greenwood Resort - Tahoe Mountain Lodging

Address: 12915 Fairway Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-4536
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Truckee
Price Range: £337 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Greenwood Resort - Tahoe Mountain Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Greenwood is a vibrant four-season resort, set amidst an award-winning Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course. Nestled on 600 pine-studded acres, Old Greenwood offers mountain living at its finest, with three and four-bedroom villas, cabins and town homes, and custom estate homes. Each property includes a chef's kitchen with slab granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances, great room with natural stone fireplace, two-car garage, private deck showcasing golf and mountain views. Some residences also have a loft with billiard table and private hot tub. At the center of this community is Old Greenwood Pavilion, featuring a fitness center, tennis courts, family and adult swimming pools, kid's water park and slide, basketball and bocce courts, a game room, spa, Bearfoot Bar & Grill and more. In the winter enjoy complimentary shuttle service throughout the day to Northstar California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Greenwood Resort - Tahoe Mountain Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing