We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised - ideally located.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Truckee Donner Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Turned up without booking owing to a change in trip plans. Efficient reception. The room was very clean and quiet. Bed was great - good sleep quality. Efficent air conditioner too! Breakfast was fine. AAA discount was a bonus. Bathroom was clean with a fair sized bath. Hot coffee always on the go in reception. Eateries are a 5 minute drive away (Smokey's BBQ?). Good value for the money = and no nasty surprises here. Ideally situated - I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepdiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nicole was very polite nice young lady. Was nice to visit with and very knowledgeable of the area and treated us with great care and concern.. Special thanks Nicole, we would stay again. Mark and Kristi.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markkristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Let me start out by saying I have spent about 25 nights at this hotel in the last few months (for work). The rooms are nice sized with a good sized desk with chair, and another comfortable chair. Also in the room was a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker (although there is always coffee in the lobby.) The bed was always comfortable with plenty of pillows. Lastly, there is a heater/AC unit that worked great with a programmable thermostat.

The continental breakfast is always the same, although I may have gotten sick once when I ate too many eggs. The selection included yogurt, cereal, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, bread, bagels, english muffins, and mini muffins. As well as coffee, tea, milk, orange and apple juice.

The service is pretty good, front desk was always staffed and I never had a problem with any of the employees.

As far cleanliness, a few times i noticed hair in the bathroom after it had been cleaned, but I also stayed at the hotel a lot, so it wasn't a huge surprise. Besides the hair, everything else was always very clean.

The location of the hotel is great if you are heading to the lake, or just passing through on the freeway, as it has easy access. It definitely is not in the heart of the action or town.

If I head back to Truckee for business again, I will not mind staying at the Truckee Donner Lodge again, and Smokey's BBQ is great!

Room Tip: There can be freeway noise if you get a room facing the freeway. If you stay in a corner unit by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtbphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

we stayed here on route to tahoe, with our 12 month old baby. clean hotel, great staff and nice rooms. plus only 10 minute drive to restaurants. nice safe car park. we enjoyed our stay here.

room had two beds, which were clean and comfortable. bathroom had a bath which is great when you have a baby, must easier than a show.
breakfeast was ok, not great for a baby, but there were fruit etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The title could be good or bad depending on the way you look at it? Stayed here on business and took the wife. A very minimal facility although it does have a small pool and jacuzzi. Staff seemed overworked, and there was no one at the front desk when we arrived.After about a fifteen minute wait the front desk girl showed up with a story about how she hadnt eaten all day and had to get lunch.I asked if I could upgrade my room to one with a fireplace and pay extra as my wife was with me.Basically I was told that because my reservation was booked through Expedia it would be too difficult to do.
She also recommended that we go to Smokeys kitchen for lunch.I have to say it was the WORST BBQ I have ever had in my entire life! Do not go there!
The room was clean, but minimally comfortable.There were several light bulbs out in the bathroom and the fan was extremely loud!
Overall it was an ok stay, if not very isolated. Not much around at all but extremely peaceful. I kept waking up wondering why it was so quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonmonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Location, nothing around it except two gas stations and a taco bell. They are located at the base of a great hiking trail so that was great. They really talk about their hot continental breakfast but we found it inedible. Customer service was not bad, if you could find someone at the front desk. There were many times I waited for 5-10 min for someone to approach the desk and assist me.

If you are looking for a clean comfortable hotel for a night, by all means I would recommend it. If you are on a vacation and want to enjoy your time I would find another location.

Room Tip: There really are no good views from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leilani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Have stayed at this location many times, and always happy with the staff, price, location and breakfast. Surprisingly quiet for being so close to 80. My kids loved the pool, but it looked pretty dirty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 13 in Truckee
83 reviews
6.5 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
8.7 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
634 reviews
8.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truckee Donner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truckee Donner Lodge

Address: 10527 Cold Stream Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-0513
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range: £108 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Truckee Donner Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Truckee amidst mountains, lakes, alpines and meadows, the Truckee Donner Lodge is a warm relaxing space so you can rest and recharge. Our lodge combines modern luxuries and contemporary decor with the traditional amenities and architecture of a country lodge. Whether you are on the ultimate ski vacation, traveling for business or just need a weekend getaway, the Truckee Donner Lodge offers exceptional amenities.Our guest rooms and feature rooms are simple and serene. Each appointed with a large flat screen TV, refrigerator, coffee pot, wet bar and microwave. Complimentary hi-speed wireless access is available throughout the lodge.Share your day's activities with friends in our lobby with fireplace; or, relax your muscles and admire the stars from our Hot Tub. Cool off during the warm summer days in our outdoor pool—the views of the alpines are magnificent.Wake up each morning to a deluxe Hot Continental Breakfast. Our breakfast bar offers a wide variety of choices including hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit yogurt, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, bagels, toast, and muffins.It’s all delicious, all complimentary and all waiting for you at the Newly Remodeled Truckee Donner Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Truckee Donner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truckee Donner Hotel Truckee
Holiday Inn Truckee
Truckee Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing