We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay for skiing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Truckee Donner Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Truckee Donner Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A good place to stay for skiing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed there for a weekend to go skiing. It is conveniently located to everything including Sugar bowl and Donner ski ranch. It is also near a downtown with Safeway and many restaurants. The room is clean and has enough space for our family of four. The staff is nice enough and we don't have any major troubles. The small things that did not go well were the TV remote not working and the shampoo bottles half full as if they were recycled from the previous client. There is no conditioner so bring your own. The breakfast was okay. Can't complain since it was a nice convenience before going skiing. There is no place to sit and it can be very crowded. There were only four or five tables or you can sit on the couch to eat. The food items included eggs, bacon, biscuit with gravy, and yogurts. There are dry cereals and small bread/muffins. Coffee was very watered down but the juices and hot chocolate were fine.
We would definitely stay here again b/c it is well located.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shareair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear shareair,

Thank you so much for your review. We value our guests feedback so that we can continue to provide excellence service and comfort for our guests. I will be passing along your comments to our housekeeping and maintenance department. I am glad your overall stay was good that you would stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    91
    38
    13
    15
See reviews for
85
54
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a nice facility, rooms are a slightly more generous size, friendly staff, better than average breakfast. No problems with reservations or checking in, but in truth it was not full due to the lack of snow this winter. Only stayed a couple of nights and would certainly look to them when I return to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HiscoxTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear HiscoxTom,
Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We along with all the other businesses in the Sierras are feeling the strain from a less than adequate snow season. Although the recent snow has been helpful and has brought some skiers and snowboarders out late in the season. Hopefully we will get a couple of snowstorms in early April and then we will gear up for a wonderful summer season. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Nice, clean, simple room in a great location. Hot tub was nice and is open till 11. Good quality flat screen TV, bring a dvd player if you want it though. Staff was very friendly and helpful, even gave us some boarding tips.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgreave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear mcgreave,
Thank you for your great review and we are very glad to have earned your five star rating. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

OK, it's one thing to not honor a reservation because of a technical glitch with your online reservation system, but then to send me an e-mail saying "thank you for staying with us..." Come on!

When they didn't honor the reservation, they tried to send us to their "sister" hotel which I think used to be a Super 8 or something like that. We looked at the room and said, no thanks! The upside, we found a great place to stay, The Cedar House Sport Hotel.

Not sure I'll be staying at the Truckee Donner Lodge again, which is a shame because up until this last time, it was a decent place to stay on par with a HI Express.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Eric S, I am very sorry about the reservation mishap and about the follow up email you received. I hope you give us another chance when you are up in Truckee again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I booked a room for my husband and daughter's ski trip this weekend. After the whole day of skiing and dinner, they arrived at the hotel. The front desk said and they system messed up and over booked. There was no room left and they have to go else where to look for a room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed there in December 2013. The hotel was very conveniently located: on the first day we drove to Sugar Bowl which is a very close drive away along a scenic road. On the second day we went to Northstar which is not that close but still only 30 minutes away or so. The hotel itself was very comfortable. It was clean, well-maintained and modern. And the free, well-working wifi was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Michal C, Thank you for you great review! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay at our lodge. Our staff works very hard to provide our guests with a wonderful stay and we are glad to have exceeded your expectation. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Clean rooms, decent beds, overall pretty good. Breakfast was really skimpy, fake eggs and instant oatmeal. I was disappointed at being asked to pay $20 more at check in for a room with two double beds instead of the one king room I had reserved.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
6.6 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 13 in Truckee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
3.1 mi away
Donner Lake Village
Donner Lake Village
#9 of 13 in Truckee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truckee Donner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truckee Donner Lodge

Property: Truckee Donner Lodge
Address: 10527 Cold Stream Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-0513
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Truckee Donner Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Truckee amidst mountains, lakes, alpines and meadows, the Truckee Donner Lodge is a warm relaxing space so you can rest and recharge. Our lodge combines modern luxuries and contemporary decor with the traditional amenities and architecture of a country lodge. Whether you are on the ultimate ski vacation, traveling for business or just need a weekend getaway, the Truckee Donner Lodge offers exceptional amenities.Our guest rooms and feature rooms are simple and serene. Each appointed with a large flat screen TV, refrigerator, coffee pot, wet bar and microwave. Complimentary hi-speed wireless access is available throughout the lodge.Share your day's activities with friends in our lobby with fireplace; or, relax your muscles and admire the stars from our Hot Tub. Cool off during the warm summer days in our outdoor pool—the views of the alpines are magnificent.Wake up each morning to a deluxe Hot Continental Breakfast. Our breakfast bar offers a wide variety of choices including hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit yogurt, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, bagels, toast, and muffins.It’s all delicious, all complimentary and all waiting for you at the Newly Remodeled Truckee Donner Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Truckee Donner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truckee Donner Hotel Truckee
Holiday Inn Truckee
Truckee Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing