We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel smells like chemicals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business-related travel. The hotel is okay and staff is friendly overall, but I would not stay here again. All the rooms have a musty, chemical-type smell. We switched rooms thinking it was just the first one they gave us, but had the same experience with the second room. I can't say the staff was really happy with our request to change rooms.

The location is okay and parking is not a problem. The lobby looks better than the actual rooms. The continental breakfast is just okay.

I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed here just one night on our trip back from Arizona. We arrived just after dark, but the hotel was easy to find. Check in was very smooth and our room was quite comfortable. We had reserved a Studio King because the price was so reasonable. $75 AAA.

The hotel appears to be fairly new. Nicely decorated, large rooms. Our room was located on the highway 99 side of the building, but we were never bothered by the highway noise. Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel, if you want to be away from the highway.

Since we had eaten a late lunch, we did not go out for dinner. Just heated up some snacks in the microwave. Both the microwave and refrigerator worked well. There is a large breakfast room and the usual selection of breakfast items. We had no complaint.

It's a nice hotel, clean and comfortable and the price is excellent. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

After a long drive ,wanted to relax in a warm pool or jacuzzi.
Dont stay here if your looking for these creature comforts.
Pool is open all year,yet water temp is around 50F. Was actually painful
after few seconds in that water temp.
Management saving money by not heating pool, dissappointment for our kids
wanting a swim.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetski-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Usually stay at the Best Western which is getting pretty dated. Since the BW was full I chose the Fairfield. Located right off Hwy 99 @ Prosperity. Friendly and helpful front desk personnel, nice size room and decent rates. Didn't try breakfast. Walking distance to Starbucks and short drive to Outlet Center. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Request North side room (quieter).
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonardk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This Fairfield Inn is next to Hwy 99 so expect some road noise at all hours of the night. If you value quiet, request a room on the front side of the hotel. This is a relatively new property so it's both clean and in excellent condition. Staff was friendly. The only negative was that they had not stocked the food in the onsite guest refrigerator in the store next to reception. So, there were no "goodies". Cant understand how they let that happen. Should have been obvious to the manager.

Room Tip: Avoid road noise with a front-side room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLT310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a night in the way to LA. Right off of 99, down the block from the Tulare Outlets. There are a decent amount of fast food places in the immediate area.

I was very pleased with this hotel. It's fairly new so it's still in good condition. I had a suite with a sofabed and it was fairly large with 2 tvs, a fridge & microwave. As noted in a previous review, the doors slam really hard and loud if you just let them go. The breakfast was your usual free breakfast fare-cereal, waffles, jimmy dean sandwiches, etc. I plan on using this as my stopover hotel anytime I am making a trip to the LA area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This new Fairfield is a great stop near to the 99. We stayed one night on the way to Grand National And Sequioa National Parks and although less than 10 mins from Visalia which is closer to the parks is seems to be a fair bit cheaper than the older hotels in the area
The rooms are large with pull out sofa or twin queens traveling with kids. Has a gym and small pool as well as a large breakfast room. Breakfast is ok not amazing but those of you used to large chain 'continental breakfast' will recognise the format and it's free so no reason to complain.
One thing to avoid is the disabled access rooms on the ground floor have very strong door closers so watch out for kids fingers and the noise of the door banging shut.

All in all very good value didnt even here the road which is fairly close.

Must also mention the great family pizza and beer restaurant in Visalia called Pizanos

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoobydoo4169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulare
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
0.2 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Lodge
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charter Inn & Suites
Charter Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Tulare
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Tulare
Quality Inn Tulare
#7 of 12 in Tulare
120 reviews
7.9 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare

Address: 1225 Hillman St, Tulare, CA 93274-8057
Region: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tulare
Price Range: £67 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening in February 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing