We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Tulare
Socorro, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a dump”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I don't recommend anyone to stay here. The room was dirty, little water pressure, bedspread had stains and holes, took over 5 minutes to get hot water, no shampoo, coffee maker or glasses/cups. The pool needed attention as well as the property

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at our Tulare property, and please apologize us for all the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We will retrain our housekeeping team so they can be more careful when cleaning a room; in particular we will ask them to pay special attention to room amenities so that every room cleaned by them can be fully stocked with amenities. We will also work on improving the condition of the pool area and the entire property in general. Please consider staying with us on your next trip to Tulare.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    10
    9
    9
    33
See reviews for
28
20
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

What a horrible experience. This place is a terrible transient hotel with sketchy people. The lobby smells of urine. The staff is helpful but the manager is argumentative and hostile and less than accommodating.

The rooms smell of smoke. My door appeared to have been pounded in. Their were holes in the walls. Floor had not been vacuumed.

After arrival, I immediately requested a new room. I viewed 2 others that were also terrible. As a single female, I did not feel safe staying here and would not recommend this hotel to women travelers.

This would be a perfect hotel if you are renting by the hour, doing drugs or participating in other illicit activities.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyncharms222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulare hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I strongly DO NOT recommend this hotel.. STAY AWAY! My friend and I booked for one night after a long drive from Yosemite National Park. The front desk staff was rude. There was drug dealing in the parking lot, and the elevator and room smelled like cigarette even though we asked for a non smoking room. There were stains on the bed sheets. Not to mention that this is completely false advertisement; we did NOT have a flat screen tv like it mentioned that we would get. We instead had a big box tv with only 3 working channels. We tried to make the best of it since we were only staying there for one night. My friend then noticed BIG roaches when getting out of the shower. We then inspected the room and found about 6 more roaming the room. Scared that they would go in our luggage, we grabbed our stuff and notified the front desk clerk. She did not seem surprised when we told her that there were roaches in our room. She did offer another room for us, but at this point we were just done with this hotel! We booked a room at Best Western. For ten dollars more we got a nice CLEAN room and good breakfast. The only good thing about this experience is that I did get my full refund.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I need to let You know first and foremost that I had a very bad experience almost a year ago when I tried to rent a room here and didn't plan to ever come back ,I am so glad that I gave it one more try because thanks to the new People working here Especially Kimberley I can say not only will I be coming back I will be recommending the Red Roof Inn to all My Friends as well.Your rooms where the cleanest and comfortable too

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The room we stayed in was very clean. This is by far, one of the best hotels I have personally stayed in. The manager, Kimberly, was very courteous, and helped us find the best room for my family. We will certainly stay here again!!!

Room Tip: exellent,i would recommend all to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The staff here are very helpful ROCKY worked tiressly to find a room for us were thr wireless internet worked and got a frig and microwave from another room so our food wouldnt spoil and the manager KIMBERLY was instrumental in helping him help us will always stay here when in town.
jo and lesley cole

Room Tip: rooms over office are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We are traveling between Porterville and Fresno quite frequently and require overnight stays at quite a few Hotels along RTE 99. By and large, we have received the most courteous service, the cleanest rooms, and best rates from the Red Roof Inn, located in Tulare CA. At the front desk in the evening, Brittnea has been amazing accommodating our requests and booking our rooms for our multiple stays. Rocky has provided excellent service during the day. Excellent staff choices provided by their manager Kimberly.

Thanks to all, Rudy & Mayita

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are upgraded and have flat screens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudyYMayita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulare hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Lodge
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Tulare
Quality Inn Tulare
#7 of 12 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 12 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds

Property: Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds
Address: 1183 North Blackstone, Tulare, CA 93274-2347 (Formerly Tulare Days Inn)
Region: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds is conveniently located alongside Highway 99. Red Roof Tulare is close to downtown Tulare, Tulare District Hospital, the Tulare Fairgrounds, and the Greyhound Terminal. Lemoore Air Force Base and the Amtrak Station are only 25 miles away, and Visalia Airport is just 10 miles away. Tulare hosts the annual Agricultural Expo. Sequoia Park, Fresno International Airport, and Three Rivers are located approximately an hour’s drive from the property. Shopping malls, outlets and restaurants are within walking distance from the property. The Red Roof Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds features a sparkling outdoor pool (open during the summer months), a newly renovated lobby, 24 hour hot coffee service, fresh apple and orange juice served daily in the morning, high speed wireless internet throughout the property, plenty of free parking for cars/trucks/vans, and a coin operated guest laundry. All guest rooms feature expanded cable TV, hair dryers and in-room coffee. Deluxe rooms also feature microwaves and mini-fridges. Irons and ironing boards are available at the front desk. Our friendly bilingual staff speaks both English and Spanish. If you’re hungry at odd hours, we are surrounded by several great restaurants and we also have a snack vending machine at Red Roof Tulare in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet is welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tulare
Tulare Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing