We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Chile Verde Omelet”

Vejar's Mexican Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge
Ranked #34 of 103 Restaurants in Tulare
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Chile Verde Omelet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We have lived in CA for over 17 years and have eaten a lot of Mexican food. The Chile Verde Omelet was filled with tasty Chile verde, the salsa was hot but pleasant. The service was prompt. Would definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food, service has gotten BAD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I grew up eating this food, it's delicious. Really, no comparison for me. But over the last few years, the service has been going downhill in a bad way, so much also that my husband refuses to go anymore. They are BUSY, frequently packed, and they need far more servers than they have. They expanded their seating area but not their workforce, so don't go if you're on a time constraint!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaevanMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, Ca
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food but not so great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Vejar's is a busy restaurant that is well known in the community of Tulare. The food is delicious and they make one of the best chili rellanos. However expect to be there at least two or more hours. Service is so slow and they frequently get orders wrong. Rarely do they check back to refill drinks or to see if anything else is needed. The food is worth going for as long as you don't have to be anywhere else that day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kspast2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
361 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“just another average Mexican joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Not knowing any good Mexican places in Tulare, a local referred us to Vejar's. My partner had the steak picado (very small portion), and I had posole which was really bland. Service left much to be desired. Well, I guess I can say, been there, done that, and won't do it again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicDic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Authentic, Mexican food at a great value, in a family restaurant setting. Packed with locals watching football on a Monday night, we ordered the steak piccata and taco plate. The food and service was outstanding! The restaurant was also attached to a bar that included a pool table. The vibe in the bar and pool table area was decent and friendly enough...we weren't made to feel like we invaded a locals only type of place. If were in the area again, we'd definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vejar's Mexican Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Vejar's Mexican Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing