We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Modern Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Tustin Orange County
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tustin
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant Modern Residence Inn”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I don't always stay at hotels, but when I do I prefer Marriott Residence Inn. This is a new hotel with a desirable apt design. I could live here. The location was optimal, just seconds from 55 onramp going east and minutes going west, yet we never were bothered by freeway noise. The hotel seemed to be teeming with guests and the staff never missed a beat. They were calm, helpful, and friendly.

Of course the room was clean and the pool had good shade later in the day. Breakfast was more than adequate, just as I count on from Marriott. I would stay here again (and again).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank california_dreaming1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L, General Manager at Residence Inn Tustin Orange County, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words and again, for staying with us. We’ve been very thankful for the response to our hotel openings and we are glad to meet the need. We look forward to serving this area with all of the extra amenities offered at Residence Inn for a long time. Until we see you again....THANKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    42
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
64
24
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

First impressions. Don't be put off by the freeway. We were on the freeway side but could hardly hear traffic noise.
Rooms are brand new and very contemporary. Everything is new. Check in was easy and quick. Reception service awesome. The young lady who helped me book a shuttle was fantastic. ( her name started with G, I think Geraldine, so sorry I didn't take more notice as you were so very helpful)
Overall for our first day it's been great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L, General Manager at Residence Inn Tustin Orange County, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. I will let Genevieve know that she’s doing an awesome job - our associates make the difference! Also, we’re glad that you appreciate every room is equipped with double paned windows. Now all that’s left to think about is how easy it is to get to many of the attractions Southern California has to offer! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here the first two nights this hotel opened. What a gorgeous property! Easily, the best Residence Inn we have ever stayed at and I hope this is what their new concept is. We stayed two nights with our dog (OK, the pet fee is a bit high, $100 for your total visit so for one night it's crazy expensive). The rooms are laid out well and are extremely comfortable. Bed, couch, even a big LCD TV (we normally don't watch TV on vacation) that we used. Full kitchen for those that need it. Pool, firepit are fun also. Just great decor all around. Staff was some of the best we've ever dealt with plus they LOVED our dog, Nellie, and kept asking for us to bring her to the front desk where she got treats. Good location and Tustin is a pretty cool little town. Only negative was the breakfast area needs some re-doing. The lines were ridiculous as it wasn't laid out that well so people who needed to use the toaster/waffle maker held up the line. But for a hotel only open two days I'm sure they will work out the kinks. We normally only give five stars to the luxury hotels and B&B's but this place definitely deserves it and was better than some of the so-called luxury hotels we've stayed at before.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L, General Manager at Residence Inn Tustin Orange County, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you! Yes, this is it! Residence Inn Generation 9 design concept is here to stay. We are one of the first in the nation to present the new Residence Inn, and we are definitely keeping the amenities that we’ve become known (one of the reasons those lines do get a little long at times). We have made some adjustments to the breakfast area, especially when we get busy. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Me and my family stayed here for a stay vacation had the best experience. We stayed the weekend it opened and the employees were great knew what they were doing very helpful and always greeted you with a smile and a hello when you walked thru their door. We stayed in their 2 bedroom suite and it was great very spacious and clean. My kids loved swimming in their pool and then heading over to the basketball court and shooting some hoops and then cooling off in their pool again. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L, General Manager at Residence Inn Tustin Orange County, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We’ve been told that we are often “hopping” with families and we love it! We know it can be hard sometimes traveling with everyone, and anything we can do to make it easier is what we are all about. If you are ever back with us in Tustin, we will be glad to see you! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I was here over the weekend. I stayed next door at the Fairfield inn for two days and here for three. This place was sold out one night . Great place. The lounge was really nice and you can tell they put a lot of money in this place. This hotel really was great. The weather was perfect 80 degrees everyday. I just came from Kansas where it was 95 . Beds are really comfortable . I don't have one complaint about this place. They spent a lot of money on the little details on this hotel. I stay at 50 different Marriott a year on business and this was definitely the cleanest hotel I have stayed at. You don't have a ocean view or anything but I really like it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L, General Manager at Residence Inn Tustin Orange County, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for giving us a look and we appreciate your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back to Tustin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I am Marriott platinum member and I was really happy with this hotel. I arrived around 11am on day of check in and they had my room ready early for me. That was really nice. They really went out of there way to be helpful. The lounge was really nice and relaxing. The room I stayed in was great, clean and pretty large. The location on this place is perfect. I don't have a beach view or anything but its really in a great location. I went to the beach one day and it only took 15 to 20 minutes. The final day of my trip I went to downtown Disney and it only took 15 minutes. I have stayed at some of the other Marriotts in the area and they are pretty outdated. I would highly recommend this hotel. It just opened and it was super clean

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L, General Manager at Residence Inn Tustin Orange County, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay! We can’t say it enough times, but thank you for being a Platinum Member. We have only been here a short time but we are glad to continue offering the service and amenities that you are used to with Marriott. Thank you for keeping us informed on what you like and we will be more than happy to continue to make it happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo, CA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a brand new hotel and the quality of cleaning staff is absolutely terrible. I booked 4 nights (Saturday, Sunday, Wednesday, Thursday) while working long hours in town. I checked in very late and went straight to bed. When I woke up in the morning I noticed that the housekeeper had left the used soap (with a hair on it) and shampoo in the shower. There were also long, dark hairs on the bathroom floor. I complained to the housekeeping manager who was very apologetic and assured me the problem would be corrected.

I returned late and noticed the used soap was gone but the hairs were still on the floor. Not only that the shower was dripping and could not be turned off. It appeared the housekeeper noticed that and angled the shower head up rather than notifying maintenance. I called and asked for a manager. About 4 hours later the Assistant GM called back and was also very apologetic. She noted that I was returning in a few days and assured me that she would personally see to it that my room was perfect.

Well I checked in again on Wednesday and set my stuff on the bed and went to do a walk through and to my disgust right on top of the toilet lid was a long pubic hair. I went immediately to the front desk to report this to them. It took about 15 minutes but I was met by the original housekeeping manager I talked to on Sunday. He took me to a new room. I insisted on showing him the hair in the 1st room and he even noticed a few more. He was again apologetic and offered me an item from the market. I went to bed, showered in the morning and went back to work. When I returned to the room the bed was made but the housekeeper had left my used towel on the nightstand in the bedroom.

This hotel is well situated, has a great recreation area and lounge area, and is brand new. It should be great but they are 0 for 4 with me and have lost the confidence of this PLATINUM REWARDS member. Apologies only go so far when you are not correcting the problem.

Oh yeah and I still have not received my account statement from either of the stays although my credit card has already been processed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the street side not the freeway side. The hotel is very close to teh 55 freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L, General Manager at Residence Inn Tustin Orange County, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment on your stay. My sincere apologies for the issues with housekeeping you experienced. I have followed up with the team and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tustin
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tustin Orange County
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irvine John Wayne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tustin Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tustin Orange County

Property: Residence Inn Tustin Orange County
Address: 15181 Newport Ave, Tustin, CA 92780-6407
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Tustin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tustin Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious suites, state-of-the-art amenities and easy access to exciting Southern California attractions when you book a stay at Residence Inn Tustin Orange County. Our extended-stay hotel in Tustin, CA is near Newport Beach, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, Disneyland(R), the Anaheim Convention Center and an array of restaurants and nightlife. We offer free transportation to John Wayne Airport (SNA), which is 4.5 miles from our front doors. Suites at our hotel feature modern decor, free Wi-Fi, comfy bedding and fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, dishwashers and cookware. Before embarking on a day of sightseeing, treat yourself to a hot, fresh and complimentary buffet breakfast in our lobby. At the end of the day, visit our fitness center for a brisk workout, or lounge by our outdoor pool and soak up the California sun. Our extended-stay Tustin hotel also features an event room for meetings and receptions. Book your stay at Residence Inn Tustin Orange County today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Tustin Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing