We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Izakaya”

Honda YA Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 287 Restaurants in Tustin
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Izakaya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Have been here several times, so I guess I can give a better review than someone that has only been once.

I come for the kushiyaki (skewered & grilled menu) and small plates for sharing which is typically what a Japanese Izakaya serves. They do have some fried items such as tempura, kaarage, katsu, etc... which is done in the enclosed kitchen and not out in the open.

They have traditional tatami mat rooms for large groups, sushi bar and tables/booths. Nothing fancy here like table clothes and the such. They do stay open late night which can draw the younger crowd after bar hopping, but I wouldn't say this is a "bar" destination to drink.

It does get crowded and you can expect to wait especially on weekend nights. Just sign in on the clip board by the entry door, wait to be called in and have a great meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PirateEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yuck”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Does anyone else notice the wrong picture is attached to the heading? Anyway, we only tried this restaurant once. The main problem was that everything was sticky to the touch, table, chairs etc. They deep fry a lot of their food and obviously don't clean well. A lot of young people like to come here and get extremely drunk. Overall the food is not very good either. For the life of me I can't understand why crowds of people flock here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maverickguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Japanese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The skewers and rolls are off the charts. The wait is always long- Try go there @ 5.45-6 if you hate the wait.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SherrySans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Funky place/great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Fairly authentic with some Southern California flair. The staff was great, especially our server, Fumi, Just what we were looking for. A little drive, but totally worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
327 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good local spot...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Celebrated a birthday with eight of us on a Sunday night around 6:30. A few people waiting outside and inside the place full of Japanese people which we took as a good sign. Our table was ready when we arrived, a bit crowded but OK. Lots of energy in the place but not too noisy.

A round of sake and beers and then we ordered a mix of sushi, yakitori, and other dishes. For some reason they were not doing tempura and a few other menu items that night.

Food was good, not exceptional, and the total tab was under $150.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 65oski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honda YA Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Tustin, Orange County
 
Tustin, Orange County
 

Been to Honda YA Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing