We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could we ask for?”
Review of Lazy Z Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lazy Z Resort
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amazing stay. Cottage 14 was perfect for us. Bunk beds for the kids and double for mom and dad. Kitchenette and bathroom. Spotless and cozy. Location was ideal within a short drive of downtown and 35 min from Dodge Ridge. Plan on coming back for the summer. Don't miss out on this place!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kangatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

We planned a 3 night New Years trip at somewhat last notice and booked a cottage at the Lazy Z as that was what was left. We arrived at about midnight and as we had called ahead to warn of our late arrival we knew to stop at the office and check out the map. We found our cottage easily and were pleased with what we saw. It was unlocked and looked charming inside but was freezing cold especially as the snow had arrived. The heater worked very well at warming everything up but was very loud and constant with no thermostat to turn it off. The fan roared all night and our sleep was poor because of it. Our bed was not especially great as the box spring appeared to have a broken corner but we were comfortable enough. The next day we drove down to Walmart in Sonora and bought a small space heater that worked for the rest of our stay. I would recommend anyone staying in a cottage in winter to bring extra bedding, heater or electric blanket in order to avoid the cottage heat having to be on all night.
That was really the only negative for us as we really enjoyed the rest of our stay. The cottage was rustic and small but attractive with a bench seat (where we found an extra blanket the day we left) small table, and little extras that we appreciated. There wasn't a clothes closet but lots of hooks were provided. There was only an overhead light so bring a book light if you want to read for very long. A television was provided but we never turned it on. We brought supplies to make breakfasts in the mini-kitchen provided. We used the microwave to cook omelets in our mugs and there was Keurig coffee maker as well as another regular one, dishes, utensils, soap, kitchen towels etc. The sun streamed in as we sat at our little kitchen table and our surroundings were especially pleasant.
When we came back to our cottage after a New Years Eve dinner out, there was a complimentary bottle of champagne sitting on our porch with an invitation to use their club house until 1am. I considered that a very thoughtful gesture.
We never explored the grounds or clubhouse but do look forward to a future trip. With a little prep a winter trip here is an excellent way to enjoy the scenery and far more comfortable than a generic motel room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We booked a cottage last minute the week after Christmas. Got there around 10pm. Turned the heat on and it worked for about 20 minutes. My husband called the main number and they transferred him to someone off site. He was sent to check out another cottage that was supposed to be unlocked. It wasn't and it was a messy inside. We have a 4 year old and a 10 week old baby - a freezing cottage was not okay. Finally a man arrives with a space heater. It worked slowly but was okay for the night. The next morning my husband told the front desk about the broken wall heater as we left for the day. We got back in the evening to no heat. The space heater did not keep the cottage warm. Once again we called the main number since the office was closed and got transferred to someone offsite. He was two hours away and couldn't help us. He got someone to bring a second space heater which continually tripped a circuit breaker! Useless. I went to speak to a person at the front desk during the 11am check out and guess what?! No one there at 11:00am! Ridiculously bad service. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We will Never Forget This Great Trip! Everything was Perfect. The beds,bathroom,living room,kitchen,and even dinning. Decent! I mean it was very cozy & warm feeling. Had a great fireplace. We also enjoyed the deck with a beautiful scenery and snow falling down. Next Day we went to dodge ridge it was only minuets away in the car. Came home to a place far away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rerora3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The Lazy Z was a great surprise! We had some trouble finding it, as the iPhone map has it in a slightly different location than it actually is and we arrived after dark. We called when we were about ready to give up, and the girl at the front desk was very helpful in getting us where we needed to go. The little cabin we had was cozy and clean with all of the amenities you would expect from a hotel room (coffee pot, toiletries, etc). The window heater was pretty loud, and the thermostat in it didn't seem to be working, so we had to run it for a few hours while we were awake and then turn it off to sleep, but it worked out okay. We went down to the lodge, and hung out by the fireplace for a bit and had a few drinks with others who were staying there. It is big and has tons of room to have an event/family reunion -- it's pretty quirky with the massive Elk head and all of the miscellaneous collectable items that are scattered about. Overall, we had a great time and will definitely recommend it to friends who are going to the area. Unfortunately it is about a three hour drive from the valley in Yosemite, so it would really only work for the way in or back out for San Franciscans.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were accommodated for a last minute stay at the lazy Z. Great rate for a 2 bedroom, 2 bath cabin which was very clean. Furnishings were a little dated, although expected for the reasonable pricing. Lovely grounds and common area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippinkpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE. Disappointing and holiday killer. We specifically confirmed for cabin Manzanita #1B. Arrived location at 6.00 pm to check in - office closed but door sign clearly posted that we are to check in to Manzanita #1B; and was instructed to call 214 to check in. Called as instructed; the reception confirmed we are reserved and to be check in to Manzanita #1B; was told doors are not locked and keys were inside waiting. Drove to cabin. Doors are dead locked and unable to get in. We drove for to rest almost 4 hours and was unable to rest up. A kind hearted guest offer help to call the office, and was told that resort management will sent someone over to open up the door. We were stood up for another 40 minutes under the hot weather. The guest made a second call and was then told that they have changed our cabin to #1A because #1B is occupied - regardless that all confirmation document shows #1B. That was not what we paid for! We prepaid for it weeks in advance. Called the office immediately and was told that is closed and any complain can wait for tomorrow - and sleep where you are told too and SUCK IT UP. We called Expedia (our booking agent) to tell them our BAD experience and to demand immediate cancellation and refund. This was such a holiday killing experience that we decided to drive home right away! Expedia handle the cancellation; came back and told us that we were still have to pay for the first night even if Lazy Z has failed to honor the specific cabin reservation. and we did not stay for any night. DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twain Harte
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
7.8 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
413 reviews
12.7 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
5.7 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
168 reviews
2.6 mi away
McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Z Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Z Resort

Address: 22732 Middle Camp Rd, Twain Harte, CA 95383-9746
Region: United States > California > Twain Harte
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Twain Harte
Price Range: £108 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazy Z Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy Z Resort with charming Cabins and Cottages is surrounded by evergreens. Nestled on 40 acres, in the heart of Gold Country, this tranquil setting awaits your enjoyment year round. Cabin amenities include kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bathroom, fireplace, etc. The Clubhouse conference facility and game room is near the hot tub and natural designed water feature with cascading waterfalls. We also can host your next special event: weddings, family reunions, retreats, business conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lazy Z Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy z Hotel Twain Harte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing