We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great water feature and clubhouse ... the cabins need work!!”
Review of Lazy Z Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lazy Z Resort
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We recently had a small family reunion at the Lazy Z. Based on previous reviews and on the resort's website, I expected great things! The pool and clubhouse were very nice - great bar, hot tub, outdoor television, bbq, bocce ball, ping pong,etc and a perfect place for our family to gather during the day. Unfortunately the cabins were badly in need of upkeep and cleaning - dirty floors and carpets, windows that wouldn't stay open, loose railings on the decks and lights that didn't work. The cabins are in need a good cleaning and some basic maintenance. If they add air conditioning and do the cleaning and maintenance, this could be a great resort!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelEnthusiast33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

The Lazy Z resort was the greatest vacation my family has had in years. The location was great. The people at the resort we awesome. Our cabin was much more then we expected. We did not even want to go back home. My two teen aged daughters want this to be our family vacation spot forever. The ground, trails, swimming pool, spa, and club house got used every night we stayed. We honestly didn't have to leave to have fun. It' s everything wrapped into one package. I highly recommed this place. I already have. Co*workers are already planning to go on there vacations to the Lazy Z. It's right in the middle of all the little towns to go and visit. So from my family to yours this is the place to go. The Vause Family in Dos Palos. Ca.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vauseofDosPalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Promised my tween daughter that we would go skiing and a friend recommended Dodge Ridge, so I started looking for hotels in the vicinity. As soon as I saw the adorable cabins at Lazy Z Resort, I had to stay there! The price was comparable to hotels and as my daughter pointed out; she could jump around the room and not have to worry about bothering guests in rooms above or below us! It was so quite that it seemed as if we had the place to ourselves but we did see cars parked at other cabins. They have a beautiful rock pool and a hot tub which we used after skiing. The pool and hot tub is located at the club house which contained cool antiques plus there was a game room where we played Fussball. You could also shoot pool or play table tennis although they should move the Ping-Pong table indoors during the winter months. The resort is a short, 25 minute drive to the Dodge Ridge Ski Resort. I can’t wait to return to the Lazy Z Resort so I can get a bigger cabin and bring some of my daughters’ friends. This area was so much easier to get to and less stressful than going to Tahoe. So as our governor would say, I’ll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank MsCaliforniaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

My husband and I got married at this great resort! We rented the whole space for 4 days and 3 nights and wouldn't change the location for the world. Their wedding coordinator was so accommodating and so helpful which made our wedding experience even better. Our family was so excited to see something different than the church weddings they had been to before. To this day we still we are still complemented on our choice of location.

P.S- When we were trying to make our wedding site decision they offered a complimentary night stay and use of the grounds to make us aware of their accommodations. It worked!! We were given complimentary night stays at other locations with less enticing results.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I loved staying at the Lazy Z. We loved our cabin, we loved the resort, the pool, the nature, the staff. everything was awesome. I can't wait to come back up for different stays. I'm really happy that we had our family reunion at such a great place. will definatly recomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krystalmd97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed in a small studi cabin which was the perfect size. The natural stone pool and patio area were amazing and that is where we spent most of our time. The rates are a little high but about normal for resort of this size. The scenery was excellent and overall the trip was very nice. We plan to go back again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Our grandchildren, Kendall 13, and Dylan 14 joined us on the 4 day vacation. The janitor Antonio was very informative and curtious. We stayed in the 2 bedroom, Cedar Cabin 2, which seemed to have all the amenities. It would have been nice having air conditioning and queen bed was not very comfortable. The cabin was very neat and clean. We were a few feet from the pool, and club house witch made it very convenient for all of us. We had a great time walking the trail, swimming, playing cards, foose ball, ping pong, pool table, bean bag toss, and the weather was perfect. Late at night we watched a dvd movie on the big screen TV in the lobby. On our last overnight we stayed at the Zelco cabin, in the heart of town. We enjoyed the resaurants with reasonable prices and minature golf right across the street. Again very clean and nice kitchen with granite counters and stainless steel appliances. Only drawback, no air conditioning. This resort is the best, compared to the others we looked at in the area. We will recommend to family and friends. Our grandchildren want to come back again. We will stay at Lazy Z again on our next vacation. This is a thumbs up resort that is only 2 hours from our city. Thank you, Ralph and Thelma Sotelo

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacharoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twain Harte
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
7.8 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
416 reviews
12.7 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
5.7 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
168 reviews
2.6 mi away
McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Z Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Z Resort

Address: 22732 Middle Camp Rd, Twain Harte, CA 95383-9746
Region: United States > California > Twain Harte
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Twain Harte
Price Range: £109 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazy Z Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy Z Resort with charming Cabins and Cottages is surrounded by evergreens. Nestled on 40 acres, in the heart of Gold Country, this tranquil setting awaits your enjoyment year round. Cabin amenities include kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bathroom, fireplace, etc. The Clubhouse conference facility and game room is near the hot tub and natural designed water feature with cascading waterfalls. We also can host your next special event: weddings, family reunions, retreats, business conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lazy Z Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy z Hotel Twain Harte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing