We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very heavy food, nothing real italian”
Review of Villa D'Oro Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Villa D'Oro Restaurant
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very heavy food, nothing real italian”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I grew up really close to Italy and this place does not serve Italian food. The menu hardly offers seafood or something without heavy cheese, butter or cream. The portions are too big and after eating there I could not sleep, even I went skiing before. So be really hungry or rather stop somewhere else.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Italian Delight in Twain Harte”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Really good selection, if you like garlic, the garlic soup is a must. Large portions, if you are not super hungry you may want to share!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had an excellent dinner this weekend. Was able to make the early bird special which is certain dishes that also include a non or alcoholic drink and dessert. We had the clams for an appetizer and they were perfect. The atmosphere was great and the owner always goes out of his way to make your night special. Ask for Rebecca she is the best waitress!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebajeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Buon Appetito”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

A nice selection of Italian dishes with home made pastas and a nice wine list; want more? OK the Villa throws in outdoor dining on a beautiful patio, live music, a friendly staff, and an attentive owner circulating to make sure everyone is happy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Giac0min0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Sat in the courtyard and enjoyed every aspect of the meal---the setting was serene, the food was fantastic, and the service was sensational. We make it a habit to eat here whenever we are in the area and haven't been disappointed yet.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oppt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa D'Oro Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing