We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed and I wish it were back!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kelly's Mountain House and Alpine Tavern
Price range: US$0 - US$11
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Closed and I wish it were back!”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

They suddenly closed with no explanation...guess it was the economy but I liked the food, liked the people and liked the location. Had a fab view of the trees and mountains. Just didn't get enough traffic up here I guess. Too bad.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dauntlessdefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place/Dog Friendly”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stopped by Kelly's Mountain House Tavern because we saw it had outdoor seating & was pet friendly, we had our dog with us. It was great, very friendly, food was awesome and not over-priced. Owner came out to say hi, ask how everything was, and introduce us to his dog, Ebony. Cute little healer/lab mix. When we are in area again, we will definately eat here again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vinsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible, Just terrible”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Their bar staff took 15 minutes to make a martini, and it was clear the young lady didn't know how to make it and was pouring way too much Vermouth in it. The owner was standing around not even helping. I said forget it. Have not been back. Not what it used to be.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Allow plenty of time”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We've passed this place many times and there is always a line of cars parked in front so decided to try it. There were only 3 parties in the restaurant (including us) and the service was excruciatingly slow. Luckily we were not in any hurry.

To be fair, there was only one waitress (but still?) and when we got our food it was very fresh and tasty. Just be sure that you have nowhere else to go when you eat here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oppt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New ownership and they are so nice.”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

They are bending over backwards to really fix this place up. Food was great, I got my fries cooked perfectly. Really like the way it looks, clean and ski-lodge style. Waiter was perfect and so helpful. Constantly checking in with us, brought me some extra stuff. Prices were great. They have a bar attached which is cozy but I don't drink. They also have outdoor game viewing on huge big screen on the patio for fun times. This is a work in progress with him coming up with more and more ideas to make it better so stay tuned!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dauntlessdefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelly's Mountain House and Alpine Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing