We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older property, but clean”
Review of Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wildwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Twain Harte
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Older property, but clean”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We recently stayed at the Wildwood Inn on a quick overnight ski trip. We booked two rooms and were able to get them right next to each other although not connecting. The rooms were old, but clean and with a nice shower. The only issue was that one room had a newer heater and the other one had an older heater. The older unit kept us up and down all night adjusting the heat. Overall, good base for a quick ski trip. About 35 minutes, in clear weather, to Dodge Ridge Ski Resort.

Room Tip: Coffee Shop right around the corner with good breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gradeschoolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sau J, Operations Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thank you for your review, and your appreciation for cleanliness. It is our goal to provide absolute clean rooms to our guests for their comfortable stay. However we regret for the inconvenience caused due to room heater. This property just went under new management few months ago and we are currently working every day to improve the property and the rooms to make them the perfect place to stay for every guest. We have replaced all the upstairs heaters and now working on replacing the downstairs as well. Thanks again for bringing your concerns to our attention. We want all our guests to have a comfortable, pleasant time when they stay with us, and feedback like yours helps us improve. If you ever visit Twain Harte again, we do hope you'll give us another chance.

Sau Jain
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    16
    1
    10
See reviews for
38
28
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our two little ones when visiting the snow, up past Strawberry. Overall our experience was pretty good. Hotel is definitely older but it's in a great location and was pretty clean. Since it is older it can be loud when your neighbors aren't conscience about their noise level. However if you turn on your heater/ac it will help drown out the background noises. Staff was friendly and there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. We would probably stay here again because of it's ideal location. As a bonus there is a kid's park within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWinnkeeper, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and I am glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Sincerely

Sau Jain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We visit Twain Harte once or twice a year and always stay here. The price is right and it's clean and quiet. This visit I called the day before our arrival and reserved a king but upon arrival was told there was no king and was given 2 queens. One of my few requirements when I'm looking for a room is that I have a king sized bed so I wasn't happy but it was just a one night stay so I made do. Next time I go I'll tell them it's a king or I leave.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn_C559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Basic amenities, clean room, and good location. Makes for a great home base, especially if you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room. Felt safe and easy to find. Mini fridge was a nice addition.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFChavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed here a number of times and I don't remember the heaters being as noisy as they were this time. Not sure if different rooms have different hearters but our room was noisy and I turned it off during the night and prayed that I wouldn't freeze.

Positives: Price is right and there and The Prospector restaurant and nearby coffee house are within walking distance and both pretty good. Close to Dodge Ridge so good location for ski trips of more than 1 night.

Owners are pretty friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATLAS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only downside was that the old heater/AC unit was noisy and it was hard to regulate the temperature. A sign in the room asked that the AC be turned off while you were out of the room. We complied, but the days were hot and it was difficult to get the room cooled down when we returned. Seemed to be false economy. There was wireless Internet available, but the signal was always extremely low and sometimes faded out altogether. Granted this is a resort town, but the price seemed to be a the high side for the quality of the room. But overall, we found this to be a nice facility and would likely use it again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mtnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The room was very clean and very convenient to town. It is within walking distance of everything downtown. The room is rustic and more like a country cottage. There are restaurants etc. within walking distance. There is a wine tasting room next door. You can walk to The Roc restaurant and the world famous ED's bar.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfjbay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twain Harte
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
15.9 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
9.2 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
6.9 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
13.9 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Inn

Property: Wildwood Inn
Address: 22960 Meadow Drive, PO Box 1105, Twain Harte, CA 95383
Region: United States > California > Twain Harte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Twain Harte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wildwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the village of Twain Harte. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Twain Harte
Wildwood Motel Twain Harte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing