We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable low cost motel”
Review of El Dorado Motel

El Dorado Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Dorado Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Twain Harte
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Need a place to stay for last minute ski trip. No frill, fair value. This is an older motel with fresh paint and clean carpet.. Warm room even in cold winter. No problem with room and staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2010

This is a simple hotel quite well positioned for visiting Yosemite, though the park is well over 50 miles from the motel. The room had good facilities with tea or coffee maker, a fridge and micro-wave oven. Of course the village of Twain Harte is just a short distance away where there are bars and restaurants. Twain Harte is a bit off the beaten track and the motel has rustic charm to it though it remains a very simple budget hotel. The man at reception had trouble understanding English and also had some hearing difficulties, but was kind enough to change our room from the one we had booked on Internet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We needed a place to stay before heading out on a backpacking trip and this was the cheapest I found in the area for $69.99 on a Thurs. night.
We stayed in Room 4.
The Good-
It was clean
There is a ceiling fan in the room
There is a pool and spa
There was a mini fridge (no freezer inside)
There was a mini coffee pot (Farmer Bros. Coffee, I bring my own)

The Bad-
The beds have dips in the middle and you can feel the springs, in desperate need of replacing.
There was mildew in the shower on the ceiling
The pool and spa are only open til sunset
The walls are VERY thin and you can hear every car that passes by all night long as well as your neighbor sneezing, coughing and any other thing they might do.
There was a small tv, but it was mounted up at the ceiling and made it quite hard on the eyes to watch.
No wireless, no phone for that matter.


If it truly was $30 a night, then I would have been just fine with it, even $50 a night would be ok, but $70 plus tax was way too much for a motel of this quality.

The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly and I hope that they will see that lowering the price point would bring in a lot more than the few of us that stayed there that night. For the money I'll pay a little more and try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hulabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed in Room 5.
If this was to be judged on service and willingness to do well, it would rate 5 stars. Unfortunately the new owners have inherited run-down accommodation which needs lots of money spending on it AND attention to small details.
Recommendation to stay is based on expectation that the willingness is translated into actual improvements, starting with replacement mattresses and more frequently maintained air-conditioning.
The Good:
Willing owners and staff, small pool, free parking, location in Twain Harte, inexpensive.
The Bad:
No Wi-fi.
Extremely uncomfortable bed with dip in the middle.
Window in bathroom cracked and stuck with tape.
No hangars in closet, no plug in sink, 2 light bulbs not working.
Very, very noisy air conditioning.
Shower, no bath.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LM-UKSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Upon arrival we were about 45 minutes before check in time. The hotel staff welcomed us and for $10.00 more we upgraded to a room right next to the pool & Spa. The full kitchen was a plus for us because we saved money by going into town and buying groceries. The staff was extremely friendly and we were sad to go. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marylynn40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I've stayed her three times over the past 8 weeks, and the new owners make improvements every time. Great rates, owners live on the premises, so 24/7 help, comfortable no frills accomodations, clean, and pet friendly. A simple walk to downtown Twain Harte. Lovely pool and spa, and relatively quiet because the motel is across from the golf course. Refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker in the room. Great rates, and you couldn't ask for kinder or more helpful owners.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanackerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twain Harte
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
6.6 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
172 reviews
23.1 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
0.4 mi away
Wildwood Inn
Wildwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Twain Harte
97 reviews
22 mi away
Yosemite Gold Country Lodge
Yosemite Gold Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Coulterville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Motel

Address: 22675 Black Hawk Drive, Twain Harte, CA 95383
Region: United States > California > Twain Harte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Twain Harte
Price Range: £49 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Dorado Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming historic mountain town of Twain Harte. We are surrounded by pine trees, close to hiking and bike trails as well as local lakes, Dodge Ridge Ski Resort, Black Oak Casino and other local attractions. El Dorado Motel is a short walk from the Twain Harte Golf Course and downtown Twain Harte. Clean, comfortable affordable rooms. Many room sizes available including some with a kitchen. All rooms have refrigerators, microwave, cable television, in room coffee, and free Wi-Fi. El Dorado Motel has an outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. We are pet friendly. Recently remodeled - under new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Dorado Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel Twain Harte
Eldorado Hotel Twain Harte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing