We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, bit expensive”
Review of Waggon And Horses

Waggon And Horses
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A quintessentially British public house, serving local ale, and home cooked food. We have stunning views of Silbury hill, and we are walking distance from the Avebury stones, making us a perfect resting point to take in this glorious countryside.
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lovely pub, nice and cosy with plenty of parking. Good selection of food, but we were both in the mood for burgers. Obviously home made and very tasty, nice fresh onion rings. But felt two burgers with two cokes and two pints was expensive at just under £35 for lunch.

Thank Plumby666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 327 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Four of us had lunch in the Wagon & Horses on monday. It was very busy, but staff were very helpful and we didn't have to wait long. When gluten free was mentioned, we were given a menu with foods highlighted. I was amazed to find sandwiches available and even had crutons with my chicken salad. All our meals were good. There was even a GF sticky toffee pudding - unheard of in any other pub. It was very tasty. A real pleasure to find GF food readily available. A good place to eat in beautiful countryside, lots of walks nearby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waggonhorses6X, Manager at Waggon And Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review.
We are always thinking of different ways we can include special dietary requirements into our everyday menu and GF is an important one for us!
We will always use gluten free flour in our Sticky Toffee, and our chocolate fondants, as its good for everyone to have a naughty pudding!!
We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I visited this pub for lunch on Wednesday 18th June around 1pm. We ordered coffee and immediately knew it would be good because they offered cream which is so necessary I feel to enrichen and smooth the taste. The coffee was excellent, the menu is really extensive and we could see from the servings to others that the quality and quantities were equally good. We ordered the soup and Ciabatta with Coronation chicken. They were both fresh and delicious. The service was both quick and also the staff extremely polite and friendly.
This is really the place to visit for dinner if the lunch time and menu is anything to go by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waggonhorses6X, Manager at Waggon And Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank You for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our first meal of 2013. The seasonal menu had some fantastic options and I opted for the beef stew and it was honestly the best stew I had ever eaten. The staff were friendly the atmosphere was relaxed and the pub was lovely and warm on a very cold winters evening. Great place. It's 2014 and we have been back a few times and have never had a bad meal yet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chippenhamged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

One of the great things about the English countryside is the great English pub and from your first view of the Wagon and Horses as you drive along the A4 you can't help but be drawn to this wonderful old thatched building.
It has been in business since the 17th century and was mentioned in " The Pickwick Papers ".

Inside the pub has a restaurant and a lovely rustic bar where all the dishes available in the restaurant can all be ordered. Very useful if , like us , you come with your dog after a healthy walk around the ancient stones of the Avebury circles.

The menu is extensive and versatile catering well for those in search of a light bite or snack but equally able to provde a hearty and flavourful three courses if you have the appetite. The quality of the food is very good.

We have visited many times over the last 40 years and more frequently since moving to Wiltshire. We have never been disappointed over all these years and under various Landlords.

Many of the ingredients are locally sourced and the Wadworths real ales from Devizes are well kept. and wines are reasonably priced and reliable. There are vegetarian options available which are also imaginative.

Service is welcoming and friendly and the Wagon and Horses always seems to be doing steady trade on weekday lunchtimes with the customers being a healthy mix of local regulars and tourists in need of refreshment.

Weekends are rather busier but if you are passing by pop in if only for a drink and soak up the true country pub atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waggonhorses6X, Manager at Waggon And Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review.
We pride ourselves for using as many local ingredients as possible, the beef and pork farms are both in walking distance from the pub, and of course the Wadworth Ales are brewed just over the hills in Devizes.
We will endeavour to keep the service as good as the produce we use, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waggon And Horses also viewed

 

Been to Waggon And Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing