We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Experience this Place”

The City of Ten Thousand Buddhas
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Ukiah
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must Experience this Place”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What an awesome and peaceful experience. I could go on and on about this place. All I can say is, if you are in this area, you must stop by and check this place out. I have not felt so relaxed and at peace. Everyone was kind and went out of their way to make this place even more amazing. I would love to thank everyone for all the gifts! <3

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherlynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    42
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My husband used to lived there when he first came to the US. It's nice to see the street names. There were a lot of peacocks. He said its different. We went and had lunch there. The restaurant is not open on Tuesday but the food was delicious for being vegan. There are only three buildings that we are able to visit and look around. The gift shop, mediation building, and the restaurant.

Helpful?
3 Thank Chanthon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We encountered dozens of peacocks, during mating season. It was loud and beautiful! Our meal was okay. We went on a Saturday and there weren't any scheduled activities.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
823 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 693 helpful votes
“Peaceful Serenity”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Original we visited to have lunch at the restaurant. It was not open on Tuesdays (many in Ukiah are not) so we spent time walking through the university grounds after checking in at the registration office.

We enjoyed a quiet, peaceful stroll through the grounds, stopping in at the museum, gift shop and temple. I didn't count but their must have been 10,000 Buddha's on the walls of the temple. We sat and listened to the chanting before wandering outside to watch the Peacocks and squirrels meander around the grounds.

We were greeted several times by Monks who smiled and nodded, then spoke with a gentleman from England about symbols and Buddha's. I brought home a religious book and a medallion symbolizing eternal luck, something necessary being full time RV'ers and on the road most of the year. We plan to stop again for lunch when we return to the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Spirituality....and great food!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have traveled past Ukiah many times on our way to visit family, but this was our first visit to this lovely location. Our reason for stopping was for lunch. The food is all homemade vegetarian with the freshest ingredients. Even the nonvegetarians a.long us were delighted. This is definitely a must. Even if you don't have lunch a visit to the "City" is well worth going.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank noho63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The City of Ten Thousand Buddhas also viewed

 

Been to The City of Ten Thousand Buddhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing