We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Wine In Wine Country”
Review of Hampton Inn Ukiah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is an above average Hampton Inn. However, I am giving it a lower than average rating for two reasons:

First, if people walk heavy on the floor above you - you WILL hear it (and possibly feel it). This is simply unaceptable at a chain that has built hundreds of locations in the US. You would figure that by this time, the architects would have figured this out and designed the building decently.

Second, was the fact that the hotel is in wine country yet there are NO wine glasses available at the hotel. The best you get is a plastic coffee cup. You can walk across the street and buy four glasses for $5 at the WalMart (which is what we did). but Hampton should get their act together and fix this. Its just amateur.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whissely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Ukiah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was very disappointed in the quality of this hotel, for the price we paid for it. Although the room was quiet and bed was comfortable, the furniture was soiled and tattered and the rugs were were very cheap with many stains on them. When we first arrived I opened the only bar of boxed soap we had in room to find a obviously used bar of soap because it had several dried hairs stuck to it. This was very disgusting and was reported to hotel staff who didn't offer any apology. The concrete steps and seat of spa had rough edges where the concrete was chipped off. The breakfast was very nice and hotel lobby and grounds were in good condition.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 847maureens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnEverett, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ukiah, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Hampton Inn Ukiah. Our housekeepers pride themselves on the cleanliness of their rooms; please be assured that this will be addressed by both myself and the housekeeping supervisor immediately. You will be pleased to know that our rooms are undergoing renovation, and that renovation includes furniture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel was adequate. The staff was friendly. The main areas and hallways look newer and fresher than the rooms. However, the room was really thread-bare: carpet appeared old, worn and oddly discolored. Ours was damp, almost sticky. I didn't want to walk on it barefoot. Upholstery on the chairs was frayed in spots, dirty and stained; just not clean looking.
Sheets were scratchy, top sheet barely covered the mattress. Pillows were pathetic little lumps and nearly worthless. Duvet cover was a nasty polyester thing that was miserably hot during the night.

Air conditioning was very loud each time it cycled on and off (which was a lot). During the night the AC kept shutting off and I had to keep lowering the temp. It would run for a bit, cut off again and I'd wake up hot. This went on all night. After showering in the morning, I adjusted the AC two degrees and HOT air came out. Very strange.

The bathroom was ok; decent water pressure; Neutrogena toiletries, lower-end towels. Coffee maker in by the sink in the closet area (one of those one cup things). There was a microwave and fridge in the room.

There was noise from the street and the pool both. And if you're on a lower floor expect lots of noise from the people above you. Walls were thin; you can easily hear other guests. Take a pair of the earplugs at the front desk, you'll likely need them.

Breakfast was in a tiny alcove that fit one person at a time. Not enough seating. Bacon was so thin you could read a book through it. They had the usual eggs, potatoes, bacon, cereal, yogurt, waffles, pastry, bread, oatmeal. Nothing special and a very small seating area.

There is a Wal-Mart across the street (convenient) and a CRUSH Italian Steakhouse literally next door with an adjoining gate to the hotel. Also, a Starbucks within walking distance.

This may well be the "best" in Ukiah, but was only average. The pool area was nice and appeared well maintained. Hotel is easily accessed from the freeway. I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuReeBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnEverett, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ukiah, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate every comment, and try to apply for better customer service whenever possible. We are in the midst of a renovation (we have almost finished the lobby/ breakfast area; the sleeping rooms are next on the list) and are working on replacing and improving the quality of our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights at Hampton Inn while in Ukiah for a wedding. Check-in was fast, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the king bed was super comfortable! We were on the third floor facing the pool and gardens. Breakfast was great with a lot of options. There is a Wal-Mart directly across the street just in case you need something while traveling. It is easy to see why Hampton is the #1 ranked hotel in Ukiah!

Room Tip: We were given a room on the third floor facing the pool which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My experiences here have been mixed. I have mobility issues and use a cane. It can take me a little longer to get my car packed. Everywhere else I stayed during my trip (including another Hampton Inn) had a 12 noon checkout. Here, it is 11. Despite my best efforts, it was obvious near 11 that I wasn't going to make it. I called the front desk to request a little more time.

I was told the allotted extensions were already given out. I explained about my disability. I was told I could have an extra half hour (which I did appreciate), but it was made clear that I was inconveniencing the staff and that was absolutely the most I would be allowed. I was traveling alone and had no-one to help me. In my panic rushing, I fell and hit my head hard on the corner of the dresser. At that point, I went to the manager and explained that I really did need enough time to clean up my wound as well as pack my car (I was bleeding). She explained that they have a very small housekeeping crew and it's hard for them to turn over the rooms on time. Still, she was now willing to give me until noon. Fine. Noon is reasonable.

The bang on my head left me woozy and feeling sick. The only staff member who offered any assistance was one of the kind cleaners in the hallway, who, in spite of my protestations (knowing how overworked they are!) insisted on helping me wheel the cart with my luggage to the elevator. (I should add that the cleaning staff here are wonderful. It's a shame the management doesn't, apparently, hire enough of them so they can get the rooms cleaned on a reasonable schedule.)

When I checked out, I was told that my rewards number hadn't been in the computer when I'd called down. Had they known I was a member, my request for more time would've been more readily accepted. Apparently, extra help is ok for rewards members, but not for a disabled guest.

Overall, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The towels were adequate. It was quiet. This could be a decent place to stay. It was just depressing to be treated like some kind of irritant and leave with a painful head wound because I hobble on a cane and couldn't get out of the room fast enough for their convenience. I'd overheard other, non-disabled guests complaining about the 11am check-out in the elevator. And, apparently, I wasn't the only one requesting more time. This should be a clue to management. I don't think my request for a small extension was unreasonable.

It's worth noting that the reserved spaces for their Diamond tier rewards members are closer to the entrance than the reserved disabled spaces. Many disabled permit users have mobility problems that make walking longer distances very difficult. The previous Hampton Inn I'd stayed at put the disabled spaces closest to the entrance. This is a small detail, but it's symbolic. There seems to be a running theme at the Ukiah Hampton Inn of valuing more lucrative rewards members over the needs of their disabled guests. Perhaps they follow the letter of the ADA, but certainly not the spirit of it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank My_cats_servant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnEverett, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ukiah, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I am sorry your check out experience with us was not satisfactory. We value all of our guests equally, be they Hilton Honors members, ADA, or walk in. We do have a standard check out time policy of 11am, however as in our conversation, there is an exception to every rule. Diamond and Gold members have the additional perk of a 1pm check out, and those had been given out that day. Since your honors number was not attached to your reservation, the front desk team member did not automatically add you to that list of late check outs, which was already at limit for the amount of housekeepers on that day for the volume of guest rooms to be cleaned on time. When you spoke with the front desk team, they felt it was necessary (not obligatory and annoying) to give you the time you needed, being injured in your rush to pack. If you felt otherwise, I personally apologize. Please note that the charge for your unhappy stay was removed, as we wish every guest to leave our hotel satisfied with their customer service experience. We hope to have you back with us again, and deliver the experience you would expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed here several times and each time it has been extremely clean. Our room has been on the top 3rd floor on the inside looking toward the pool. The outside rooms facing toward the street have traffic noise. If you're a light sleeper you will probably want away from the street. The pool and jacuzzi are very inviting. Breakfast is very good. They have oatmeal with nuts and dried mixed fruit to waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, and country potatoes. They also have boiled eggs and toast or muffins and bagels along with several juices. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Consistent Hampton hotel offering the expected amenities for a reasonable price. Breakfast was good, the room was quiet and clean, towels were soft and smelled good though only the bare minimum was supplied. Internet was reasonably fast. TV channels were adequate. Sleep quality was good even with a street side room. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a Ukiah stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ukiah hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ukiah Mendocino County
0.9 mi away
Best Western Orchard Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 15 in Ukiah
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#5 of 15 in Ukiah
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ukiah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ukiah

Address: 1160 Airport Park Blvd, Ukiah, CA 95482-5997
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ukiah
Price Range: £103 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ukiah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Ukiah hotel is in the heart of Medocino Wine Country in California. We're near the Ukiah Speedway, the redwoods, as well as 40 wineries and vineyards. Guests enjoy free breakfast, free WiFi, free parking, an outdoor pool, lush courtyard with koi ponds, fitness room, 24-hour complimentary business center, multi-lingual staff and 3,000+ total sq. ft. of event space. Rooms with mountain views, private balconies and fireplaces are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Ukiah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ukiah Hotel Ukiah
Ukiah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing