We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
San Leandro, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bed bugs”
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Discovery Inn at Ukiah recently. My coworkers and I have stayed there many times in the past, but we will be staying elsewhere from now on. On other visits, I have not been terribly impressed with the rooms or service. On a previous trip, there was a dog barking all night in the room next to mine. However, on my most recent trip, there were bed bugs in my room. I saw two on the bed, and found more evidence of them when I pulled back the bedding. Several bites appeared within a few days. I wish I had checked for them before I slept in the bed, because it's just disgusting. I reported the bed bugs when I checked out. The manager was not in, but the staff said he would call me. I have called several times since I stayed there, but the manager is never available to speak with me and does not return my calls. I informed my boss about the bed bugs and he made arrangements for me and my coworkers to stay at a different motel when we have to lay over in Ukiah. I actually threw away almost everything I had with me at the Discovery Inn in Ukiah, and so far it seems I didn't bring them into my home, but it could have turned out differently and my family could be facing a traumatic and costly bed bug infestation. I highly discourage anyone from staying here until they verify the motel has undergone the necessary action to rid their rooms of bed bugs.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank NoBedBugs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    33
    17
    20
    55
See reviews for
42
34
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Discovery Inn four or five times over the last ten years. It seems that each time we stay there the motel is a little more run down. I can tell you that we will not be staying there again. On our most recent stay we found a quarter-inch on dirt on the light above the sink. We are not the only ones to notice, as others had reached up to touch it and left finger marks. The light in the bathroom never stopped flickering. The ironing board was completely broken, so that I had to balance it on a chair and bend over to use it. There was no OJ for breakfast because the machine was broken.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ukiah hotels

Redding, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

When I checked in, the girl said that she can only give me one day, I told her that my confirmation said that I was confirmed for two days, then she said that she can only give me quenn bed, again I said my confirmation said that I was confirmde for King bed. Then she gave me a room way in the back and when I looked around, it seems to me that the other people are semi permanent and I saw some junk car parked there, also saw some homeless people that were begging. So I went back to the front counter and asked her to give me another room, while I was there, there was another guy asking her to be moved also otherwise he was going to get another hotel. This girl told me that she can't find me another King bed room, but she can give me a queen room. After calling higher up, they finally give me another King room, very dirty and stinky. Bad experience, I would not stay there again. The good things are the breakfast room server is very nice and friendly, also the counter girl in the morning is nice and freindly but the night counter is bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were at the point where we had to stop somewhere and the GPS said this was the nearest place. This may have been really nice at one time, but I wouldn't stop here on a family trip now. Judging from the parking lots and the condition of the outside of the rooms, I'd say they have people living here along with the overnighters. Inside, the carpet was badly stained and we decided to sleep on top of the comforter instead of risking what we'd find under the sheets. The wi-fi didn't work but we were too tired to care. The next morning, we were watched jealously by what we figured were the "residents" as we loaded our car. We were uncomfortable enough that we actually locked the car as we went back & forth. We drove over to the breakfast room (this place is huge) and encountered what another reviewer called the "breakfast nazi", the lady actually stood between me and the waffle iron and insisted that she make waffles for me. There was a woman in the breakfast room that evidently had been there for a while and was going on about how much she had won in a casino and she would be staying for another 2 weeks, she was also talking to anybody who would listen about being a "5-star" lesbian. We finished eating and got out of there. Not only would I never stop at Discovery Inn again, I won't be stopping in Ukiah again, period.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TK8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at the Discovery Inn with a group for a wedding. While everything in the room was clean and the beds were exceptionally comfortable, the place had a run-down feeling about it. There was at least one homeless person that wandered in for the free breakfast who was not a guest, and there was quite a cast of characters that hung out near the hotel who looked like they might be transacting some sort of shady business. The pool was nice and the morning breakfast buffet was good: waffles, hard-boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage, variety of pastries, cereal. The staff was extremely friendly both when I made the reservation and during our stay.

Room Tip: As one of the other travelers mentioned, there is a nice suite on the second floor over the office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRuss82799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel was need of repairs, staff and cleaning. The famous fountains in the front and the inside of the hotel were not working and had no water in them. The famous room with the four hot tubs was dirty, One hot tub was roped off and not working, Another was slimy and needed to be cleaned out, The other two needed defoamer and to be scrubed, There were no fresh towels availiable, No phone to call the front desk for service and The windows needed cleaning as well.
The rooms were not right next to each other as requested when we arrived and they were not ready, There were dirty towels in the closet when we arrived, The beds were not made properly and The comforters were in need of repair.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

This used to be a nice clean place, but no more. Disgusting!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ukiah hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#6 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Orchard Inn
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA

Property: Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA
Address: 1340 N State St, Ukiah, CA 95482-3420
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to newly renovated Discovery Inn Ukiah in the heart of Mendocino County. As a guest of our charming, spacious hotel, you'll experience friendly, professional service as well as immaculate, inviting guestrooms and suites. Discovery Inn Ukiah offers guests several accommodation choices with a number of deluxe amenities that are standard in every guestroom such as complimentary WiFi and premium cable television. All 111 guestrooms and suites are furnished with a warm, welcoming decor and provide plenty of spacious comfort for your Ukiah getaway. Microwave ovens and refrigerators are in every room, and our suites come with full kitchens. If you are traveling with your pet, we can provide special hotel lodgings in our "pet wing," where your best friend will be truly pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Ukiah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing