We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE EVER!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Jefferson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE EVER!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel was the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at. If it wasn't for the fact that they wouldn't let us cancel our reservation and return our money, we would have went elsewhere.
We checked in around 1:00am and found our room to be dirty and a ceiling in the bathroom that was in the process of being repaired. We figured we would deal with it in the morning. We had been driving for almost 12 hours and we had two sleeping kiddos. In the morning we had to leave and packed all our stuff back in the car. We asked if we could cancel our reservations and was told no! So our only option was to move to another room. We got back to the hotel around 3:00 to get ready for my uncles funeral....we asked for a new room...the person in the office at that point did not want to let us switch rooms. Finally we were on our way to a "clean" room...4 more rooms later...one nastier then the last, we were back in our original room. I called Hotels.com, the website that we used to find out hotel and they said that there was nothing they could do for us. The employee of Discovery Inn admitted that she wouldn't stay in the rooms she was showing me. It was an awful experience! I highly recommend not staying at this hotel! There are plenty of other hotels around in better neighborhoods! The breakfast area is also not what they advertise.....there is an older lady that stands in there and will not let you serve yourself and watches you while you eat. There was also a few people that had walked in off the streets to get breakfast as they tied their pit bull up outside! Nasty, nasty hotel!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    33
    16
    20
    55
See reviews for
42
34
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Recently i was back at the DI and happy to see it still: cozy and clean, ideally located near stores and freeway on ramp, hot waffles, Redwood display, oversized rooms and more. I stay all over and am surprised by the negative reviews. In any other city this place would have 3-4 stars consistently. I could tell the rooms had recently been deep cleaned and there was fresh paint and excellent desk help avail. This is really the best quality at a discounted rate. Travelers should be pleased. DI is almost a local attraction! I am also always surprised how large the rooms are for a queen bed. Larger than average. Desk, coffee, refer and room to move.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Staff not friendly, staff acted as if the customer was a burden to have at their hotel. Once in the room we found discarded potato chips under the bed with the empty bag, hair all over the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FTW927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ukiah hotels

Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

I was getting desparate for a place to stop for the night. Staff seemed annoyed that I was there ...paying them money, ridiculous. Room was huge. Not very clean, I never took off my shoes! I even wore flip flops in the shower! Thats the kind of feeling I got from this place! There were a ton of people that were apparently long term customers. Very creepy people, watching you get out of your car, etc. I was woken up at 3 AM by a group of these people, drunk and having some kind of domestic dispute. Will NEVER stay here, and hopefully never have to go to Ukiah...dirty, scary town!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awaywego1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Between Willits and Ukiah there are two billboards advertising The Discovery Inn Best Western. That's what you see at 60 mph! At the second billboard, I kept saying "Gobbi St." and my husband said, "No, It's State St. exit." Well, it was after midnight and we were exhausted. So we didn't sort out the mixup. Besides, the next thing we saw was the huge lit up Discovery Inn sign. We were checking in and the first thing I did was hand the young man my Best Western rewards card. He didn't say anything! But the minute we got to the room, we knew we weren't at a Best Western Plus.Only 3 pillows, not the requisite 4 for Plus status and questionable decor (a clean but 1970s style couch??), plus bird feathers under the couch ( hubby pulled it out from the wall to reach a plug in)! Online rate is listed as $79 and we were charged $127 plus tax. The next a.m. my husband confronted the staff about the deception and the overcharge. They agreed to credit us $30 (still $30 more than online posted rate) and they tried to brush off the Best Western deception. I'm assuming the hotel owner owns both places. IF the man at the front desk had said, "Lady, this isn't a BW. We don't give BW reward points, it's the hotel down the street," I wouldn't be upset. IF the morning staff had owned up to the misleading billboard instead of trying to make us think we were imagining what we saw, I wouldn't be upset. But we retraced our route and I have a photo of one of the billboards. I've never known two competing hotels to advertise on the same billboard, have you?! The Discovery Inn is even painted in the blue and gray colors associated with BW.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I wouldnt stay there again. My room had dog fecies on the wall, bed was old and with stains, carpet was disgusting, found food under the bed but yet my parents had to pay extra for trained puppies. I feel with the extra money they charge for animals the rooms should be extra cleaner. The pool could have been cleaner and out of 4 spa's only 1 worked there geyser didnt work they had no ponds like the brocher protrayed.

Room Tip: Dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

first of all look at some of the pictures of the people that rated this motel great......2ed there was blood all over the wall in my room(didnt notice until check out)3ed the young that use this place for drug dealing are abundant...4th the girl was so slow to check me in....asking qustions that were none of her business.....5th i had some open my door AT 4 AM IN THE MORNING WITH A KEY and just stood there and checked us out until i said W.T.F...............the spa was nasty there were young kids with diapiers on .(one had a diaper that was sagging not from being wet)

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.................................................................................
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 749traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ukiah hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#7 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Orchard Inn
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Ukiah
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA

Property: Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA
Address: 1340 N State St, Ukiah, CA 95482-3420
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ukiah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to newly renovated Discovery Inn Ukiah in the heart of Mendocino County. As a guest of our charming, spacious hotel, you'll experience friendly, professional service as well as immaculate, inviting guestrooms and suites. Discovery Inn Ukiah offers guests several accommodation choices with a number of deluxe amenities that are standard in every guestroom such as complimentary WiFi and premium cable television. All 111 guestrooms and suites are furnished with a warm, welcoming decor and provide plenty of spacious comfort for your Ukiah getaway. Microwave ovens and refrigerators are in every room, and our suites come with full kitchens. If you are traveling with your pet, we can provide special hotel lodgings in our "pet wing," where your best friend will be truly pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Discovery Inn Ukiah, CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Ukiah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing