We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vichy Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Ukiah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2004

This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed and we travel lots for both business and pleasure. It is the ONLY place I have ever checked out of mid stay. The rooms are small and the 2 room suite was old and very shabby. We had a problem with wasps in the room. When we could not find another adequate room we left mid afternoon but were charged for the night anyways. The management was rude and unaccomodating. It is very obvious that they do not rely on repeat customers. Massages the night before were adequate, but the mineral pools seemed dirty and unkept. The hillsides are pretty, but stay elsewhere and save your money.

  • Stayed: June 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TN-VinoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 190 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Berkeley, Ca
16
Reviewed 22 July 2004

Vichy is a regular stop for us. The Baths are amazing; very relaxing and soothing. The hike to the waterfall is incredible (a bit hard to find as you have to practically hike up the creek at times). A lovely pool is at the bottom of the falls perfect for swimming on a hot summer day. The rooms are very tasteful and comfortable (I’ve only stayed in the creekside rooms). This is a great place to spend a romantic weekend and if you come during the week you may very well have the place to your self!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2004

I'll start with the good side - the grounds are beautiful... the pool is nice, the spa area & trails all seemed fine. But, the rooms are comically small & expensive. $150 gets you a room that's a little bigger than the bed & that's it - no TV (which some would consider a plus) & no amenities. My other complaint is that while the outdoors are lovely, its proximity to the rifle range is ironic at best. If you lay out at the pool, you will hear gun shots every few minutes. Quite unfortunate. So, my two cents... if Vichy is a destination for you (i.e. you want to do the spa, the trails, the pool, etc.), go for it. But, if you're just looking for a nice hotel as a home base for exploring the beautiful Ukiah countryside, I'd stick with one of the hotels in town.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
City, State
16
Reviewed 29 May 2003

My wife and I visited during the winter months and found the natural baths at night a little cool but the hot tub was great. Our cabin was aesthetically appointed and very comfortable. The on-site dining room was pleasant and served good food. The grounds were quite nice and an air of tranquility permeated the place. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay and will visit again.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 August 2002

Way exceeded expectations. The baths are wonderful and if the other reviewer had his bathing suite torn, he must have been engaging in some strange activity. Get a cottage. The massages were some of the best we ever had. Breakfast was plenty of fresh fruit. The hike was beautiful. Staff was very friendly, but don't expect porters and a conceirge.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 January 2002

Review: Vichy

Overall: One thumb down. (The other thumb and fingers are busy holding my nose to obliterate the smell of the cattle pastured at the town dump across the street from Vichy Resort.)

Room:

1. Tiny, tiny, tiny - especially irritating - no counter, shelf or cabinet in the bathroom.

2. The plumbing leaked all over the bathroom floor.

3. Garbage trucks start running to and from the dump at 7:00 a.m. Very noisy if your room is on the north side of the property. Effective wake-up call though!

Facilities:

1. The carbonated mineral water is nice but hard to enjoy in the rough concrete "troughs" you have to use to soak. The rough concrete was death to my swimsuit.

2. The troughs seem not to drain completely, providing a nice breeding ground for mosquitoes.

3. The hiking trail was too smelly to enjoy due to the cow manure smell from the pasture adjoining the trail.

4. We did not use the pool. The hot tub was nice, though rather strongly chlorinated.

5. Breakfast was unsatisfactory. Particularly unappetizing was the glop of something which looked like mayonnaise. I assumed that it was yogurt. Hot water for tea was do-it-yourself and wait for the water to boil. Fresh fruit was good. Hard-boiled eggs and cold pastries were not.

6. A dolly was provided to truck bags to the room - again, do-it-yourself.

7. Management refused to allow us to use the bathroom in the two empty rooms, one on either side of our room.
(Our toilet leaked from the base all over the floor.) We were instructed to use the toilet in the management office and to shower at the pool. Worse, the manager lied, claiming the rooms were occupied when inspection through the open curtains revealed otherwise, and neither of the rooms were on the maid's cleaning schedule.

Summary: We tried to make the best of it. We spent $156 for the tiny, leaky room, a poor breakfast and mineral water tubs that destroyed my swimsuit. Management was unhelpful, deceitful and finally downright rude. In our haste to leave, we forgot something. We called several times while still in the area, attempting to retrieve it. No one knew anything. When we were no longer nearby, we learned that the resort called our home in Texas the day we checked out to let us know they found our property. The management returned it improperly packed, contrary to our request that it be held until we made shipping arrangements
when we returned home. When we e-mailed them to let them know we would hold the resort responsible for any damage that was sustained in shipping, we received the following response from the proprietor, "You know it is people like you who sometimes make innkeeping no fun. Good luck in life and I hope you receive your pager. It was mailed afteryou failed to pick it up. I apologize for being so efficient and yes it was packed in a bubble envelope. G"

If you really want to see what the hot springs are like at Vichy, stay in Ukiah for a lot less money and just pay the day rate touse the springs and the grounds at Vichy. Otherwise, find a resort that is guest-friendly.

General Principles:

Basil, a friendly dog who roamed the grounds accompanied us in a brief walk. After our unhappy experience at Vichy, we
wondered if he hadn't been named after Basil Fawlty, the proprietor with an attitude who runs country resort Fawlty Towers in a British sitcom.

18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elie205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ukiah
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
557 reviews
8 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
269 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 15 in Ukiah
225 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#5 of 15 in Ukiah
623 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ukiah Mendocino County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vichy Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vichy Springs Resort

Address: 2605 Vichy Springs Rd, Ukiah, CA 95482-3507
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Ukiah
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ukiah
Price Range: £69 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vichy Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vichy Springs is the best of two worlds a country inn and a hot springs resort. Rooms and cottages for overnight stays include full use of the naturally warm and carbonated Vichy mineral baths, hot soaking pool, Olympic size pool in summer and 700 private acre reserve to walk and explore. Breakfast is included in the morning, WIFI and telephone. Massage, facials and hot stone massage are available from 8am to 8pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vichy Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vichy Springs Hotel Ukiah
Vichy Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing