We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St.
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It's perfect location as everything is close by, shopping, restaurant etc. The staff is very helpful and the facilities is well maintained and have a full kitchen just like your on your own home.
The disadvantage was, this is the only hotel i stayed that you have to pay extra bucks to have your room clean. No housekeeping around and you will have to throw your own garbage.
Towels and sheets plus toiletries have to get it from the reception desk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unknown147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St., responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel including our convenient location. Please know, our housekeeping service is provided once a week for guests staying 8 or more nights. For those who are staying for shorter periods of time, services can be purchased for a minimal fee.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    11
    15
    11
    25
See reviews for
14
20
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
10levitra
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

For the bay area, this is a ok priced hotel. There is not much else around that is worthy
of my dollars. In fact, the bay area is overpriced. When I stepped in the room it smelled like curry. So we told the lady to spray it down. The bed was small for 2 people. Its ok to sleep in although there was small noise throughout the night whether it was from a heater or fan or whatever.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10levitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St., responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the rates at our hotel. Still, I apologize that you found your bed to be small and that you experienced some noise disturbance during the night. I will be sure to look into this issue to ensure it does not continue in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We ended up staying at this hotel because everything else near Silicon Valley was booked. Compared to other hotels in this price range, this hotel is a great value.

The Good: This hotel was relatively clean compared to others in this price range. The lobby felt secure and there were plenty of well known shops and restaurants nearby.

The Not so Good: You will have to pay an additional charge if you want the standard housekeeping. The room was clean, but the furnishings and surfaces were very inexpensive and worn in areas. The bed was pretty comfy, however.

The Ugly: I stayed on the third floor. The smell of stale cigarettes hit you as soon as you stepped off the elevator. I had a non-smoking room that smelled like an ash tray. I kept my clothes in my luggage, to avoid getting the smell trapped in them.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick-Basler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St., responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to hear that our location and the cleanliness of your room met your needs. Still, I apologize for the unpleasant smell you encountered during your stay. I will speak with our housekeeping staff to ensure that this issue is properly addressed. We look forward to having you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This place was excellent.
Customer service was fantastic
My room was wonderful great view of everything
LOCATION WAS SPLENDID everything u can think of is around this hotel
Check in was fast and easy
Housekeeping was always on point

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St., responded to this review, 17 January 2014
The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such great comments about our hotel. We are glad to read that you were pleased with our services and your room. As well, it is great to know that you liked our hotel's location.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed here for an overnight layover for a business meeting after other hotels that I was more interested in were sold out. I have experience with Extended Stay America (ESA) in the Midwest/East Coast, so I already knew that this wouldn't necessarily be a first choice accommodation, but likely doable. Long story short: Typical budget hotel with limited amenities. Pros: Desk staff friendly at check-in. Lots of parking. Kitchenette with equipment that actually worked. So-called "renovated" rooms were pretty basic rooms with new paint, but very clean. My stay was exceptionally quiet, which was wonderful since I was on business. Free Internet worked well. Cons: I checked-in hours early at 12:30 PM and already the king room I booked online was supposedly "oversold" and unavailable (a chronic ESA problem based upon prior experience-- no guarantee of room type ever with ESA). Extended stay hotels like this generally draw riffraff and I encountered surly chain smokers outside and people sitting in the hallway on my floor talking on cell phones for hours as if the hallway served as an extra bedroom for them. Bizarre. It was alike a college dorm hall in a way and I did not necessarily feel safe where the hotel was located. I wondered if my car would be broken into overnight, etc.

In all fairness, the staff were polite, accommodating when they could be, etc. Give them a try for an overnight stay if other locales are not available. But not at all a first choice for me.

Room Tip: If you book a king room online (even early) don't expect that you'll get it. What you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APR562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St., responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed the friendly service our staff provided and all of the amenities our hotel had to offer. Still, I am so sorry that we could not fulfill the room type you reserved due to being overbooked and that you were disturbed by other guests. In response, I am working with our staff to ensure we properly handle reservations moving forward and work to enhance our after hours hotel checks that will assist in keeping noise to a minimum.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This extended stay was awesome for the price, very clean, equip kitchen a plus when you have a family, free parking, almost every restaurant, a grocery store, Walmart etc in walking distance. Beds a little too firm for me but didn't kill me! Only 12.5 miles from Raider Stadium and 20miles to San Francisco, the equip kitchen allowed me to buy and store food for tailgating at the game, drove here from Vista Ca. Breakfast morning wasn't bad just your average muffins, oatmeal packets, coffee, juice Tea, hot chocolate, no hot meals, I will always stay here for the game

Room Tip: Two double suite allows enough room for a blow bed if traveling with large fam
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dime15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St., responded to this review, 7 November 2013
It is so rewarding to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you letting us know that your bed wasn't that comfortable and the breakfast wasn't up to level. We are sorry for this issue, but are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location as well.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Newly renovated Rooms no old smell, Nice working kitchen, Clean and friendly staff. Near Lucky's for good fresh Groceries. Movies and It is really in a good and nice location.. Definitely I Would stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melmay6770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St., responded to this review, 4 November 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our customer service and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay as well as the location.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union City
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Union City
Hampton Inn Union City
#1 of 4 in Union City
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn
6.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St.

Property: Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St.
Address: 31950 Dyer St, Union City, CA 94587-1757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Union City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Union City
Union City Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing