We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The front desk person was so welcoming along with refreshments upon arrival, I told him that I did not want a room facing traffic...he said I will will put you on a quiet floor. After unpacking to my surprise I was facing the street that leads to the freeway...along with hearing the train go by- not a good night sleep. That being said, the hotel is located near restaurants, a movie theater and grocery store. The room was clean, the breakfast offerings are decent and there is a small gym. This hotel seems to be the best in the area and I would give them another try based on the location.

Room Tip: request a room away from traffic.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Liisa B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We love hearing from our guests..

Be assured, we will block any room locations you prefer moving forward. Please just let me know the next time you're in the area and I'm happy to assign your room personally.

Thank you for your kind words about our exceptional location, cleanliness and friendliness. We truly love the hospitality business and hope that it shows. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Union City
(510) 475-0600
marie@lotushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed for a night to visit family nearby. This hotel provided just what we needed. Comfortable bed, decent breakfast, clean updated rooms. There are lots of nearby stores and restaurants, too. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latinqt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear latinqt2,

Thank you for your compliments and comments. We work hard to care for our guests and ensure they enjoy their stays. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our amenities with no problems whatsoever.

We hope to serve you again very soon. Thank you again for taking to time to provide feedback. We do appreciate it.

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Union City
(510) 475-0600
marie@lotushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

There was some confusion with our room selections. We had selected 2 rooms with king beds each online but ended up having to be switched to 1 room with a king and a second with queen beds. We weren't too happy with this arrangement as all our confirmations reflected that we should have been given 2 rooms with king beds each. However, our front desk staff for the check in night was Shuja. He handled this change with professionalism. If it weren't for his character and attitude, we wouldn't have been happy with our stay.

Also, Patty from house keeping did a great job keeping our room clean and toddler entertained. She definitely went above and beyond, always checking in to ensure that she was not interrupting us before cleaning the room etc. Great to finally stay at a place where you don't feel like you have to keep using the 'Do not Disturb' card.

The hotel is located next to some good dining (Krispy Kreme, In N Out, Texas Roadhouse, Tribu, Sushi). The grocery store next door was very convenient when we had to rush out and grab some essentials. The hotel is also about a 30 minute ride to most key locations e.g. airport, downtown etc.

In terms of feedback for the hotel staff, the Internet was definitely slow - it's great that the service is free but it definitely needs to be a bit faster. The pool, laundry room and gym need to be updated. Hot water in the bathroom sinks also seemed to be lacking.

Overall the hotel worked out well for us. The free breakfast in the morning had good choices and round the clock coffee, tea, water, snacks at the front desk was great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level facing the mall are definitely quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear LeonardN,

It was our genuine pleasure to serve you and your family. We will certainly share your compliments with Shuja, Patty and our entire hard working team. Thank you for that opportunity.

We will continue to look for ways to improve our amenities. With limited space, things are sometimes challenging, but that is what makes our business fun. We also apologize for the mix up with your room assignment.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any concerns or additional comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Union City
(510) 475-0600
marie@lotushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We found this through our garmin, tired travelers looking for a bed. Nice place, great staff, free wine in the evening and lots of shopping and eaterys walking distance! The room was very nice and had a very comfortable bed. The workout room was not in good condition, needs much maintance. And finally, the price was not so good. I would stay here again if we go through San Jose, but would make reservations in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcsteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBayAreaInns, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear dcsteve56,

Thank you for your comments. We truly enjoy hearing from our guests.

We are so glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the hotel. We will revisit our exercise facilities to ensure we provide the best possible in our limited space.

Yes, booking in advance will certainly provide the best possible rate. Also, we generally offer discounts on the weekends. We hope to serve you again very soon. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback.

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Union City
(510) 475-0600
marie@lotushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip where I had to commute between San Jose and Oakland. The hotel was very quiet, clean and accessible. The outdoor pool and spa were located in the center of the hotel so you might not get a tan but definitely it's a good way to stretch and get some exercise...especially if you have the free cinnamon rolls for breakfast.

The breakfast spread had eggs, sausages or bacon, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit (bananas and apples), a pancake maker, cranberry, apple and orange juices, coffee, tea, yogurt, cereal and hard boiled eggs. Definitely enough to get one through to lunch.

Near the hotel were restaurants, a movie theater and other such amenities to get one out of the hotel if needed.

The gym was small but adequate with a color TV to watch as one keeps in shape, and the business center, though centrally located in the lobby (read: so anyone coming through the lobby doors could see what is on the screen) has free printing.

The beds were extremely comfortable with a medium firmness and the pillows were very soft indeed. The bathrooms were immaculate and had fresh towels daily, if needed. I really appreciate the hotels that have environmentally friendly policies such as this hotel where if I wanted to reuse a towel, I left it hanging instead of placing it on the floor. I believe that every little bit helps.

The front desk attendant, Shurja Mumtaz, was very friendly and was extremely helpful in accommodating my every request. If he did not have the answer on hand, he made sure that he got it and gave me a timely reply to my query.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowboard_Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBayAreaInns, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Snowboard_Scuba,

Thanks so much for your kind remarks. We are very proud our our property, service and location. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to serve you again very soon.

Please stop by to say hello anytime you are in the area.

Sincerely yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here for a quick weekend visit. Best service ever. I have a family of 5, and I usually get hit with the line "no more than 4 to a room", so my family gets split up and I pay for 2 rooms. From the very first phone call it was no problem for them to accommodate us. Great location. Lobby has a nice feel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool and hot tub in the court yard are also clean and refreshing and there was no problem bringing our non-hotel guests in with us. Delicious complimentary breakfast. They are bringing the phrase "the customer comes first" back to life, and they are doing it with a splash of nice. Those studying hotel management should spend some time here to get a taste of excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBayAreaInns, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Sara C.

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly share your compliments with our hard working team as it really motivates it to do even better.

We hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your input. We sincerely appreciate it.

Very truly yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This hotel has ALL the amenities and then some! Located in the middle of shopping & has every choice in food one might be looking for. Has a pool & whirlpool, workout room, full free breakfast daily, laundry facility, has modern rooms that include microwave & refrigerator, along with free Wi-Fi. Complimentary wine in the lobby daily @ 5pm. Only 24 mi from San Francisco. Staff is so nice & provides service with a smile.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Cacoff,

Thank you so much for the kind words of encouragement. We love what we do and it is so gratifying to hear our guests recoginize it.

It was truly our pleasure to serve you during your recent visit and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for your business and support!

Sincerely yours,

Marie Cornell
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Union City, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union City
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Union City
Hampton Inn Union City
#1 of 4 in Union City
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose

Address: 31140 Alvarado Niles Rd, Union City, CA 94587-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Union City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Price Range: £96 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Union City, CA! We are located in the heart of the SF Bay Area and at the gateway to Silicon Valley! The new Union City Holiday Inn Express Hotel offers all the modern amenities with the convenient to Oakland, Hayward, Fremont, & San Jose. We are also central to several major universities & attractions including Cal State Hayward, UC Berkeley, Jack London Square, Oakland Coliseum & Arena, Chabot College, Stanford University, Great America Theme Park, and San Jose State University. Located adjacent to the Union Landing Entertainment Complex, our guests can choose from over a dozen restaurants, a variety of shopping options, IFLY (indoor skydiving) and 25 movie screens within walking distance. Choose to dine at Chevy s, Chili s, TGI Friday s, Texas Roadhouse, Applebee s, IHOP, or just pick up a snack at In-N-Out Burger, or Krispy Kreme Donuts. The hotel features an indoor/outdoor solar heated pool, heated whirlpool spa, on-site fitness center plus our renowned complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. Our guest rooms feature free high-speed internet access, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, two-line speaker phones with voice mail and ergonomic chair. We are central to all Bay Area airports: San Jose, South (SJC), Oakland, North (OAK) and San Francisco (SFO) - each within a 25 mile range. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Bay Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose Hotel Union City
Holiday Inn Union City
Union City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing