We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special but nothing Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Crown Plaza was not bad in any way but nothing really jumps out to that makes it stand out. We did get a free beer coupon each day which is nice but as a Platinum Member with Holiday Inn, you expect at least a free cocktail. It is located right over the free-way for a mall which was nice with may restaurants, I would avoid the Rib Joint. I have had moister ribs and steaks at the Golden Corral. But I digress the Hotel was fine, the rooms are a little cramped, they kind of shoe-horn in some chairs that they didn't really need. But the complimentary breakfast was nice except the place is or was each day overrun by tourist buses and most it was like it was these people had never seen a buffet before, but that is not really the Hotels issue.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duck0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Duck0830,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Although Crown Plaza is known to be one of the more luxurious brands within the Intercontinental Hotels portfolio, it helps to keep price in mind when evaluating a property. THis particular Crown Plaza is modestly priced and in a good location. For Priority Club members, they provide free breakfast, and "welcome drink" vouchers. The reception staff is consistently kind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Normally a Crowne Plaza Hotel is a upsale Holiday Inn or better.
I would have been better if I sept in my Car.
It is Dirty and run down. The pumpling leaks in the bathroom and the bath tub is rusty.
The leaking pumpling keeps the floor washed at least.
The bed is a new type of mattress. 3/4" mattress plywood.
The chair at the desk must have been purchased from the Goodwill it was so lumpy and old.
If you can sleep you wake up early so you can run out of the Hotel and find somewhere else to stay.
DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed Aug 28-Sept 4,2011. Encountered broken security door (entire stay), broken outlets in room, super slow or down wi-fi, and algae in pool while we were there. Not to mention that our floors in our room were never cleaned during our entire stay. Understand "green initiatives" but if a floor is dirty it should be cleaned. Everytime i got in shower after walking across floors barefoot, it looked like I had just come in from outside!:(. Close location to get on 880 freeway or BART, and the setting is relatively quiet. Staff was very attentive and polite, just didn't rank as high as other hotels in same chain we have stayed at!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaje2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I traveled to Union City for a friend's funeral and needed a quiet place where I could decompress from all the emotional stress. The Crowne Plaza provided that.

This is not a new facility and it shows in some areas, but it is a step above the average hotel. The staff is very courteous and helpful and the rooms are neat and clean. The room service meals are good, maybe a bit pricey, just try to avoid the soggy french fries.

When I return to Union City I'll stay in the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpine147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I have never felt so unsafe in an area with any of my stay's in a hotel. I could not believe the Gang activitiy I witnessed when I arrived. The property looks as though it would be safe when I came off the freeway, but I believe the person being beat up in front of the hotel , should have been an indicator of what I was going to be seeing with this stay. The hotel looks as though it should have been built somehwere else. As I checked in I was thinking about my safety the whole time. The room was ok , but nothing to brag about. I have stayed at better hotels. The major indicator was the hair all over the bathroom floor with soap ! Well enough drama . I went to the front desk and asked for any decent restaurants in the area. I was automatically drilled with " what ? they are all decent" I was suprised with this demeanor. It was like I insulted them !!! I then decided to just get a candy bar at a vending maching with a bottled water. Needless to say they didnt work. At this point I was tired and hungry and not to safe with my surroundings. I decided to go to my car and get a power bar from my SUV. At this point I saw 4 vehicles drag racing down the street !!! I felt like I was in a Fast and a Furious movie !!! I ran to my room and decided to take a sleeping pill and hope I was alive the next day. This Hotel is the worse experience I have ever had in a Crowne Plaza Hotel in my life. I should have just kept driving to another city. Thats what I get for checking out a city I don't know about. This is truly a gang infested city at night. I am sure it looks great during the day. But Like I stated this is not SAFE !!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you like Gang activity after hours !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darthraider032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I stayed in this hotel with a group and had a banquet event in the facility for a birthday celebration.
I was very welcome by the front desk clerks with a very yummy delicious goodie bag snacks at the desk. The goodie bag was FREE which was so NICE AND AWESOME of them to take care of their guest.
The lobby is beautiful, with new furnitures and marble floor, the rooms were clean with the nice white fluffy duvet blanket and tons of pillow choices to choose from. I love the cute burgundy bag they put on top of the bed that has useful items to help me sleep better. The sash bag had earplugs, a aromatic spray like a febreze to spray on the linens, an eye mask, etc, etc...

I love the fact that i didn't have to pay for Internet in my room! It was FREE!!!! Which is not the same to other hotels which charges by the amount of hours we are online...

The banquet part was the most memorable part of my stay that this hotel, I had a wonderful banquet meal which is different to what I have experienced from other hotels banquet food. The food seemed it was all handmade fresh and presented very nicelly.
The room was very well decorated and my friends and I had lots of fun dancing all night long in their ballroom.

My overall stay at this hotel was EXCELLENT! I'm not sure why I read bad reviews from other people, this is my experience latelly and things must have changed to a LOT better!

Room Tip: Call the Front-Desk for your reservations! =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cris5471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union City
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Union City
Hampton Inn Union City
#1 of 4 in Union City
301 reviews
12.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
12.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City

Address: 32083 Alvarado Niles Rd, Union City, CA 94587-2942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Union City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Price Range: £73 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome to the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North - Union City, where you will find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Union City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, we are your home away from home! We are centrally located in the heart of San Francisco East Bay area, just a short distance from Silicon Valley, San Francisco and Oakland. Our central location provides an easy access from all major Bay area airports such as San Jose (SJC), Oakland (OAK), and San Francisco (SFO). Further, getting to the hotel is simply and easy as we are located directly off the 880 Fwy, at the Alvarado Niles Road exit. Whether you are coming to Union City for business or just for fun, your room at this hotel is your personal retreat after a long day of travel. Come and relax in our spacious luxury bedroom with stylish decor, loaded with lifestyle amenities you would expect from a top notch hotel. This room is the perfect way to end your busy day! Come and enjoy. The best of Union City is waiting for you at the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North Union City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Oakland South Union City Hotel Union City
Crowne Plaza Union City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing