We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Union City
1 review
“Family Memories”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I recently attended a reunion dinner with my family last month, and was very happy with the experience I got to have with my family at the Crowne Plaza. The service was amazing, and the staff was exceedingly polite. My family and I also enjoyed the delicious dinner served. The rooms were dated... however every thing was absolutely clean.

I really recommend this hotel, for families especially this is a great place to make memories!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlaza510, Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your banquet experience with us and I will sure forward your compliments about your great experience with all of our banquet staffs!

We hope you can come visit us again in the near future here in the Union City area, because you will be impressed with our brand new remodeled rooms. Feel free to check out our prototype show rooms to see how our rooms will be renovated. Thank you very much for your business!

Cristina Lin Asst. General Manager
Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North - Union City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    41
    37
    35
    42
See reviews for
37
13
7
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsburg, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Credit card was authorized during check in and then again for amount charged on the card at check out for authorization total of $1,179 when only had 2 rooms for 1 night. The reservations were changed from 2 nights to 1 but still a second authorization should not have been done at check out especially since it was over authorized for more night then staying in the first place. More training of the front desk about credit card authorization could have prevented a chain of inconveniences we experienced while traveling. We use credit cards for main source of funding through out the week and all available credit was authorized for 1st night out of town. They did not try to go out of their way to handle this when we called after we realized what had happened.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Haley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Union City hotels

Shanghai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were on a tour and stayed at the hotel for two nights. There was no refrigerator in the room. And there was not even any towel in the bathroom. Every time I call the housekeeper, the phone would be transferred to the receptionist. Then, it was a long wait for anything we asked. The room and the bed was not very clean. There was nothing in the neighborhood. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraQu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear TaraQu,

Thank you for your review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced. I assure you the feedback we receive will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night last week. The outside was promising...white lights on the building and a tidy lobby. Once I got to my room it was all downhill. The room was very muggy and smelled like mildew. The closet door would shut at all. The lighting was terrible. It was VERY dark. The coffee pot in the room didn't work and there was no hair dryer in the room. The paint above the shower had mold spots on it and the paint looked like it was ready to completely peel off. There were a couple of good points. The bed was comfortable and the included breakfast was decent. I would not stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank drheathr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gujarat
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A huge hotel. Location of this hotel is very convenient for most location like Napa valley, redwood park, muirwood park, pier lane, airport and SFO downtown too. but housekeeping service is very poor in cleaning.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny, pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbhsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
177 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

How can IHG allow this property to keep the Crowne Plaza name? Granted I stayed using my IHG rewards points as a Platinum member at a bargain 5,000 points a night, for 3 nights, I vacated after the first night, so blew the remaining 10,000 points because this property was so bad.

I've attached photos but there are some major health and safety issues with this property.

- bathroom - mildew everywhere, and the bathtub was rusted with dirt and peeling around the sink area.
- the walls - holes as pictured
- the hallways - circa 1960s
- the lift - seen far better days
- the ice machines - pretty much out everywhere except for one in all of 6 levels
- health and safety? how about a used ear bud... gross and this remained here for 2 days.
- gym - failure to replace towels - completely empty and strewn everywhere
- gym - roofing soiled
- gym a/c - does not function

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kawoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear kawoh,

Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Club Platinum members. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
131 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is in a nice location, close to a shopping area (Walmart. etc).
Lots of tourist buses can be a little annoying when waiting for the one elevator that services the building next to the hotel where I stayed.
the service is really good. First of all I was offered a voucher for breakfast.
I had forgotten some items in the room and had these shipped to me. The manager, Mark, and others at the reception there were really nice to help me getting the items shipped quickly.

The breakfast buffet has some issues. There were almost no items left and they didn't refill until I asked them. I also had to ask for toast a couple of times (there's no bread at the buffet - you have to ask them to bring you).... maybe it was just a bit messy was because of the indian tourists that devoured everything edible there... they had just left when I walked in....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gobitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union City
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Union City/San Jose
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Union City
Hampton Inn Union City
#1 of 4 in Union City
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Union City - Dyer St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn
4.2 mi away
Aloft Silicon Valley
Aloft Silicon Valley
#3 of 9 in Newark
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City

Property: Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City
Address: 32083 Alvarado Niles Rd, Union City, CA 94587-2942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Union City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Union City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome to the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North - Union City, where you will find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Union City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, we are your home away from home! We are centrally located in the heart of San Francisco East Bay area, just a short distance from Silicon Valley, San Francisco and Oakland. Our central location provides an easy access from all major Bay area airports such as San Jose (SJC), Oakland (OAK), and San Francisco (SFO). Further, getting to the hotel is simply and easy as we are located directly off the 880 Fwy, at the Alvarado Niles Road exit. Whether you are coming to Union City for business or just for fun, your room at this hotel is your personal retreat after a long day of travel. Come and relax in our spacious luxury bedroom with stylish decor, loaded with lifestyle amenities you would expect from a top notch hotel. This room is the perfect way to end your busy day! Come and enjoy. The best of Union City is waiting for you at the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North Union City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley North-Union City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Oakland South Union City Hotel Union City
Crowne Plaza Union City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing