We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Tallman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tallman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJoenophile
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An oasis in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Really nice place relative to other options in the area. Service was great. Allowed us to use front desk computer to print fishing licenses in a pinch (needed for early the next morning and no other good options to get them). They also brought our breakfast to our room the night before so we could eat before we left for our 6am fishing trip. We ran a little late on our departure date and the staff was very accomodating with a late check out. Pool was clean and included a few nice touches like an ice water stand. Dinner at the attached restaurant Blue Wing was good (not great, but more than satisfactory for the area), had an interesting selection of local wines. Would definitely go back if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
136
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My husband and I just finished a 6 night stay at the Tallman Hotel in Upper Lake, California. Our stay was exceptional, room deluxe, spacious, clean and beautiful. Gardens around the hotel were beautifully maintained and the pool was a delight. All the staff was very professional, welcoming, and just couldn't do enough for us. The "spa" breakfast had fresh scones, fruit, banana bread, yogurt, great granola and on weekends fresh homemade quiche. Other meals could be had from their companion property, the Blue Wing Saloon, delicious and reasonably priced. To top things off there was a four night blues festival with great performances that ranged from an acoustic guitar virtuoso to killer bands. We had a blast and will be back next year. One of the very best trips we have ever had>

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie4LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocean springs, MS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

If you can't climb stairs, book a room on the ground. The pool was nice. Nancy at the front desk was extremely helpful and so sweet! The room itself was large with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom. We ate at the blue wing next door..good food. Recommended if your around Clear Lake.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdg90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendocino, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Our visit to the Tallman was 1st rate all the way. Beautiful, thoughtful accommodations with nothing overlooked. Excellent continental breakfast and genuine and caring staff. They even were able to print my Fishing License which I had forgotten at home!
Dinner at the Blue Wing was a definite highlight. What luck to have stumbled onto Blue Mondays with a rollicking local Rythym and Blues band "Twice as Good". Dinner was delicious, fast and expertly prepared. The Aroncini's were out of this world (Google it). Nice wine by the glass list and my daughter loved the draft Root Beer! The owners, Bernie and Lynn worked the dining room and the dance floor with equal skill. Can't wait to get back again. Thank you's go to General Manager Travis for his warm welcome and certainly his innkeepers Barbara and Jane for all they do.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesMendocino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The town isn't much but the Tallman Hotel is worth the trip. It's stepping back into the old west. We stayed in the historic house (only 4 rooms in the main house). The attention to detail (even in rebuilding the house) was perfect for a B&B. Breakfast is Continental (not a hot breakfast) but certainly enough. Everyone was extremely friendly and accomodating. The owner even introduced himself and spoke with us for awhile at the Blue Wing Saloon right next door. The property is heated and cooled by geothermal vents (very unique)!. This is a place to relax which is exactly what we were looking for. It's not a party place so bring your books and be transported back to the old west. We will definitely be going back.

The wines at the Blue Wing Saloon are all Lake County wines from within a 30 mile raduis (very fun)! The Saloon is a bar and restaurant. You can sit outside by the fountain under the trees. Very nice.

Make sure to view the photo album of how the owner rebuilt a 1890's hotel that had been abandoned for 40 years (amazing)! Another don't miss is walking down the street at dusk. The town is abandoned at dusk except for birds (swallows I think) swooping down the middle of main street. The hotel also has a good selection of videos and video players in each room.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LagoonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camas, washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We spent two nights at the Tallman Hotel over Memorial Day weekend. From the moment we set foot in the beautiful hotel lobby which is full of gorgeous antiques and overstuffed, tasteful furniture, we knew we were staying in a very special & elegant place. We were personally shown to our room, which was one of the upstairs garden rooms overlooking the courtyard of the hotel & the adjacent Blue Wing Cafe. The room was very attractive and tastefully decorated with a stunning king-size antique bed and matching armoire.. What I really loved about our room was the little veranda where we could sit in the morning and have our coffee & enjoy the sound of the birds .
As an avid gardener, I was in awe of the magnificent landscaping around the hotel. It is truly amazing the abundance and variety of trees & plants, blooming flowers, vines, and even a lovely herb garden.
I would say the reason this hotel is so special is the attention to every detail. The breakfast room in the hotel is absolutely exquisite with the most beautiful murals on the walls, lovely china and cloth tablecloths. The breakfast was delicious. Each morning we had fruit, quiche, toast, a variety of cereals, juice, and great coffee.
We will never forget the hospitality of the staff, our fun & interesting chats with several of the hotel employees as we relaxed out on the beautiful old porch of the hotel, and the overall courtesy we were shown during our wonderful stay. This was a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camastown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We went to Upper Lake for my husband's birthday getaway and for Easter. We hoped to be able to have fun on the lake at Clear Lake, but it turned out to be a bit too cool that weekend for that.

Our room was just gorgeous. We stayed in Room #2 in the main building. It was stunning when we first opened the door after check-in. Such a period piece! The colors, the textures, the fabrics, the design just enchanted us from the first moment. (This is after being dazzled coming through the lobby to the staircase.) We promptly started photographing everything before we "messed it up".

The bed was so comfortable. When we awoke the next morning, it was like having gone back in time! The whole hotel is designed to be circa about 1849-50's, 49-er era. The owners have done a beautiful job of restoring and recreating the charm of the old hotel. (You can view the restoration process in the photo album in the "parlor" sitting room in the lobby. It's fascinating what they've done out of a pile of existing old boards!)

Our bed had a lovely canopy over it, in heavy, lavish fabric. The bathroom had two special treats in it, too: a double-sink antique pedestal sink (I'd never seen one of those anywhere); and a long, deep claw-foot tub, which was heavenly for soaking in. The separate shower enclosure had multiple shower heads for extra massage. Our room also had a door to a large porch/balcony with nice views all around.

The hotel also has a heated swimming pool and a nice jacuzzi, which we availed ourselves of one night. Just down the back stairs from our room, in our hotel robes over bathing suits to the pool area, and then back up again for more in-room luxury.

The hotel has a bar/restaurant on the property, too, (The "Blue Wing") restored with all the authenticity and impeccable attention to detail that the hotel lodging exhibits. Again, it feels like going back in time just to go in for a good glass of wine at the bar. Even the local patrons seemed like theme-props to the ambience! Very "gold-country" vibe there. They have regular "events" there like blues music nights, guest authors, and an upcoming "mystery theater" night.

The food was excellent from the restaurant. Very California-contemporary cuisine prepared with very fresh, healthy ingredients. The filet-mignon was cooked to perfection. We brought our own wine, for a corkage fee of $10.00. But the hotel has its own wine label, and the wines we tasted are quite good and inexpensive. We purchased a "Tallman Hotel Cabernet" that was very enjoyable. We also had a bottle of the Syrah, which is has a rich, full-bodied flavor, after decanting.

We felt so rested and refreshed after a 3-night stay at this delightful hotel. It was a surprise, indeed, to feel we got such value for our vacation dollars. The staff made us feel so welcome. The complimentary "Continental" breakfast in the dining room (not in the restaurant) was also a real treat every morning. The hotel itself is a destination. The sightseeing we did during the days was an added bonus.

I can't recommend this lovely hotel enough. Do yourself a favor and stay there! The

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisurefan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Lake
5.3 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
19.6 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
20.1 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
16.6 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
21.2 mi away
Best Western El Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallman Hotel

Property: Tallman Hotel
Address: 9550 Main St, Upper Lake, CA 95485-9596
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Upper Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This handsome country hotel, built in the 1890s, was completely restored and expanded to a 17-room luxury facility in 2006. The historic hotel received one of seven statewide historic preservation awards and is listed on the California Register of Historic Resources. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tallman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallman Hotel Upper Lake
Tallman Hotel Lake County, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing