We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience and A Great Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 August 2008

It was a great experience when me and my daughter decided to go on a road trip and came across The Lodge At Blue Lakes. We didn't expect a beautiful lake located at the back of the resort. And the best part of it all was that the accommodations were first class. You are surprised with the renovation and the design of the rooms. It is very clean and smells very good inside.

We enjoyed the fact that they offer free kayaks for the guests. It was certainly a hidden gem in Upper Lake.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The owners even took us for a boat ride and were so accommodating. And they even have a 6000sq ft event center that would be perfect for events weddings, reunion, birthday celebrations. They have done an excellent job renovating The Lodge At Blue Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dorpull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2008

The Lodge seems to have gone through an ownership change which might explain the difference between what their website claimed was the offered package and what was asked of my family.

We were charged for the "upgraded jacuzzi" room in advance reservations, yet we were offered the "standard" room. In both cases, the heavy traffic on the nearby highway could be heard. Upon questioning the room assignment, we were told they were "booked"... inferring we had no choice at our initial arrival. From what we could see, they were not "booked" as the "upgraded" room was offered to us when we declined the first room.

The rooms and facilities are without a doubt a throwback to a former time when people expected less. I suspect the heyday of the motel was about 50 years ago.

The lake is very beautiful, without a doubt. Its small and pretty clean. The kids obviously love the place as can be seen from various locations around the water. We could see a windsurfer, kayaks, and swimmers.

Unfortunately for the motel, their prices are too high in comparison to the amenities. All you get is the use of the lake for the premium pricing.

My suggestion to their owners, if they read this, would be to install soundproof windows on the highway side of the rooms to allow for peaceful sleeping. Also, honesty in pricing needs to be addressed as you can't put one price on your website and then attempt to charge more once people show up.

The staff was friendly. No problems in that regard.

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank AverageGuy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

"What a find! I just spent two nights at The Lodge at Blue Lakes and absolutely loved it. The management was incredibly nice and accommodating and the rooms and location on the lake was perfect. They have kayaks you can use for free and this itself was a huge money saver. Rental places around the lake charge like $20 an hour to use kayaks ...my boyfriend and I kayaked every morning and afternoon and would have spend almost $200 just in kayak rentals. I would definitely recommend The Lodge at Blue Lakes for anyone who wants a relaxing and peaceful retreat. I can't wait to go back."

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SwanatDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My husband and I were on a road trip with our 4 month old son from Washington to California. We had not planned on stopping near Ukiah but our son had had enough driving for one day. To our dismay all the nearby hotels were booked for the night. We used our TomTom navigational tool to look for anything in the outlining areas. We choose The Lodge at Blue Lakes out of sheer desperation. Once we got there we were so excited to see that the room was super cute and very clean! We had our own little seating area out the back door overlooking the lake. It was a very welcome surprise. It was by far the best stop along the way as we traveled on. We wished we could have stayed longer. What a great find! We definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DuckWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

My wife and I have organized reunions with our friends for over (25) years. We spotted the Blue Lakes lodge just by doing a google search of lodging in the area. The website was great but the lodge is even better. Our hosts Pete and Maryann were the perfect hosts. They met and exceeded the needs of our large group cause we had booked the entire lodge. Their events center is the best and largest of any small resort in America and the rates were reasonable. Why pay huge dollars for a wedding or large function at many "rip-off" facilities when you can save money and have such a beautiful a setting as this? Our hosts took an old resort and totally remodeled and upgraded it throughout and kept their room rates reasonable. Blue Lakes also should never be confused with Clear Lake. Clear Lake supports warm water fish, is shallow and turns a yucky algae green much of the year and turns your bathing suit into the same color. By contrast, Blue Lakes is deep, cold and supports trout. You can fish, kayak, boat, swim, or just relax around the lake. You should ask your hosts about a "Pontoon Boat Wine Cruise" on Blue Lake, you won't be disappointed.

Okay, so there it is. A (5) star resort that is a short drive anywhere in Northern California, so what's not to like? Lastly, we met Pete and Maryann as strangers and left as friends. Who could ask for anything more?

Dennis & Patti, Nevada City, Ca.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SgtMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We recently enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Lodge at Blue Lakes. This lakeside lodge was recently and completely renovated, and offers guests a quiet, totally relaxing get-away in a beautiful location just a couple of hours' drive from San Francisco.
The accommodations are up-to-date, very clean and comfortable, with an attentive and gracious staff. The beautiful lake is literally steps from your door, offering swimming, kayaking and fishing (This is a "no-wake" lake; no need to worry about the loud sounds of motorized watercraft zooming around the lake, disturbing your rest!).
There is a newly completed events center at the Lodge with a large deck overlooking the lake. Think lakeside wedding or party with on-site reception and overnight accommodations for your guests, all in one spot---what a find!
The drive from the Bay Area is easy (101 north; east on Hwy. 20) and scenic. You may want to do a bit of wine tasting on your way up to Blue Lakes.
With the price of gasoline skyrocketing, who needs the expense of a long trip to Tahoe for a lakeside rest when the Lodge is so close? We highly recommend a stay at The Lodge at Blue Lakes!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We really liked the location - the hotel is right on the lake shore.
Rooms are nice but not worth $200 a night. We had a deluxe
King with Jacuzzi.
Breakfast was pretty simple (toast, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt)
served on the deck overlooking the lake.
Overall - it's nice.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lv2TravelBayArea_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Lake
5.3 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
239 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
552 reviews
23.8 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
24 mi away
Baechtel Creek Inn
Baechtel Creek Inn
#4 of 8 in Willits
281 reviews
10.3 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#4 of 15 in Ukiah
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Blue Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Blue Lakes

Address: 5135 W State Highway 20, Upper Lake, CA 95485-9513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Upper Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Upper Lake
Price Range: £76 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Blue Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge At Blue Lakes offers 21 premium guestrooms, including one Waterfront Executive Suite. Rooms feature lake or mountain views. Room types are deluxe 4 poster beds with in room jacuzzi tub, kitchenettes, lakeside and mountainside rooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Wireless Internet access is limited and is only available to certain rooms/areas. Free local calls. Flat screen TVs, small refrigerators and coffee/tea makers are provided. Air conditioning, climate control, welcome amenities, and hair dryers are also included. Microwaves and irons/ironing boards can be requested. Rooms are accessible via exterior corridors. Housekeeping is provided. All guestrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge at Blue Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Blue Lakes Hotel Upper Lake
Hotel At Blue Lakes
Resort At Blue Lakes
The Lodge At Blue Lakes Lake County, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing