We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a day at Six Flags”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Reviewed 18 August 2012

First impression was not good, as we arrived at about 10am (which we knew was well before check-in, but presumably 99% of their custom is people going to Six Flags for the day) and asked them if they could store our luggage whilst we went to Six Flags. The first receptionist seemed totally flabbergasted by the request, and the second explained they could not store luggage. They said we could use the car park and shuttle across to Six Flags, but this meant us leaving all our worldly possessions in the car all day. Still, the shuttle worked well, and it really only is a short walk - you have to cross a freeway slip-road but there are crossings. And our possessions were intact! On the positive side, when we returned in the late afternoon the reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was enormous! Two large beds and a big seating area, plus a table and chairs, fridge, microwave and counter top. We liked the fact that the hand basin and vanity consul were separate from the bathroom, it gave much more space, and was very convenient with 4 of us trying to get ready at once. This was the best of all the rooms we had on our tour round California.
As other reviewers have said, the breakfast room is very cramped and feels like a store room. But the food was perfectly fine, and I noticed lots of people taking theirs back to their rooms to eat. There is a pool which looked good, but we didn't use it. We drove to Benicia for dinner, but there are a couple of diners near the hotel.
This was an absolutely perfect place to stay for Six Flags, for one or 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kagsy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Was told it was my misunderstanding but was honest and had a printed confirmation that had 2 adults and 3 small kids. With all the correct information on the printed reservation I would expect that would be the price that was quoted, but they charged more for nothing. Same room no roll in bed nothing but more $$. The worst part was I was made out to be the fool when it is the Best Western website reservation process that is not accurate.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The rooms were well stocked with a very comfortable amount of space. 2 queen beds. The shower in our room tended to drip on the floor and the sink was outside of the main restroom. The continental breakfast was mediocre, but other than those issues, it was worth a stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Really nice hotel, very clean room, nice staff. The ONLY negative thing has been mentioned, get to breakfast EARLY, as after about 8:00 am the room is too packed to use. I love using my BW points, it really makes staying and getting rewards easy. The pool was clean, the hot tub was packed, which is normal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sippi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

There's nothing really wrong with this hotel, but I'm really surprised it has a Best Western PLUS designation. It is a Comfort Inn at best.
PROS: The staff were very nice. They even have a shuttle who will run you down to 6 flags. They have a pool and the hot tub is actually a good 103 degree temp (not just a warm tub).
CONS: Because it was so reasonably priced and is right across from 6 flags, there must have been 30+ people at the pool when we were there. Trust me, 25 kids in one pool is not relaxing at all. The other bad deal was their beds. They were so soft and gushy, it felt like it was moving when you took a breath.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the 3rd floor if you want some quiet at night. Otherwise, kids will be running...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GridironChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Ok if you're going to the amusment park but otherwise so not worth it! Sink stopped up, they give you only one washcloth for three towels! Internet connection did not work in all rooms. Rooms were old and not clean to my standards. Dust 1/2 inch think around mirror. Bed was not comfortable.. Police cars back and forth in surrounding neighborhood. Only ok if you don't plan on spending anytime in the room..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murano47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I was able to get a reasonable price with our AAA discount at the hotel website, which was actually less than the what was offered here at Tripadvisor. We arrived at the hotel before Discovery Kingdom opened, and DeAndrea, the desk clerk, welcomed us and allowed me to leave our 3 year old's medication in their staff refrigerator because it was too early for check-in. People were gathering for the hotel's complementary hotel shuttle which ran continuously until 12:00 p.m. then, goes every hour after 4 p.m. (Taking the shuttle will save you the $18.00 parking lot fee, plus it's quite a distance to walk from the lot to the entrance, unless you grab the park tram.)
Don't be put off by the dated furniture in the lobby, the hotel service and amenities more than makes up for it. There's fresh coffee in the lobby for guests and warm smiles from the staff. The two queen beds with a crib we requested for a Monday night stay could not be accommodated, but John upgraded us to a two queen with a pull out couch for three adults and a toddler for the same price as the former. Because my grandson normally rolls all over the place and actually sleeps on a mattress on the floor at home, we simply pulled out the couch mattress and laid it directly on the floor. The room was clean, huge, and we four were all quite comfortable together. We had a quiet end room (147) on the lower floor which was fairly close to the breakfast room. The towels were fluffy and the linen crisp. We didn't have any problems with a noisy AC/heater as others reported. We all had a very good night's rest.
Breakfast was substantial with waffles, fresh scrambled eggs (I saw the lady walk by with flats of eggs), juices, yogurts, sausages, breads, muffins, cereals, fresh fruits, etc. You will not go away hungry for your busy day. The only suggestion is go early because the breakfast room is not spacious and a line forms toward the end of the 6-9 time slot,
The hotel tacks on a $35.00 charge to your credit card but it falls off after a few days if you haven't incurred any extra charges. We dined at the popular Napoli Pizzeria & Italian Food Restaurant on Tennessee St. which was about 15 minutes away that we found online. The food was wonderful and locals seem to frequent it as well. They gave it 4 1/2 stars!
All in all the Best Western Plus was great for what we needed and we'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: An end room was perfect since our overly-tired toddler had a brief, but loud meltdown and, we hope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallejo
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn near Six Flags Discovery Kingdom-Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#5 of 17 in Vallejo
29 reviews
4.1 mi away
Budget Inn Vallejo/Napa Valley
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom

Address: 1596 Fairgrounds Dr, Vallejo, CA 94589-2080
Region: United States > California > Vallejo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Vallejo
Price Range: £67 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for a treat at this spacious Vallejo hotel where the best the Golden State has to offer is right outside your door. Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom is our neighbor, which means that you simply have to stroll across the street for a day full of fun. Want something a little more laid back? Napa Valley is also nearby, so an afternoon of wine tasting is an absolute must. This Vallejo hotel is only 15 minutes away from Napa Valley, so a cab ride is an easy choice. We're the best hotel in Vallejo for adventure seekers. The heated outdoor pool and hot tub is open year round for a little relaxation after a day of exploration. Free parking and free shuttle service to Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom are just a couple of the ways guests are treated like family. No other Vallejo hotel can compare. If you're interested in something a little different, you're in luck. Our Vallejo hotel is near several dog shows at Solano County Fairgrounds and the Jelly Belly® Factory. This is one unusual match that really works. Speed lovers delight at the NASCAR® and Indy Grand Prix at Infineon Raceway. Of course, sometimes you're traveling on business. Maybe you're taking your high school senior to check out Touro University. Maybe you're in town with Valero® Oil Refinery, Chevron Oil Refinery, or have business to take care of on Mare Island. Maybe you need to host a business meeting or event in our convenient business room. There's no reason you can't fully enjoy your stay just because you're punching the clock or writing tuition checks. Enjoy a full breakfast before starting your day - it's on us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Plus Inn And Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Best Western Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Vallejo
Vallejo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing