We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend for a trip to Napa/Sonoma!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Vallejo
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for a trip to Napa/Sonoma!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked this hotel through booking.com for $59+tax/night (standard room) and we stayed for 2 nights for our Napa Valley trip. The rooms are VERY clean, quiet, bed is comfortable but the pillow is too hard which has caused me a stiff neck the next day. We tried the breakfast and wasn't impressed so we went to iHop instead. Yes it is off the Hwy but we didn't hear a single noise coming from outside. They also have a hot tub and a heated pool but we did not use it due to our hectic schedule. Maybe the next time we visit we'll try it. The hotel is 30-40 mins drive to Napa Valley depending on the traffic. We don't want to spend too much on the hotel so we can spend more on wines.

We love to travel and what matters most to us is the cleanliness of the hotel and Best Western Plus Inn did a really good job!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charms F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    172
    94
    61
    43
See reviews for
255
93
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding CA, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My family met at this hotel for the weekend and everything was excellent. Clean and comfortable rooms. When we're in the Vallejo area again this is the hotel for us. The staff was excellent. THe value was Excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

While the front desk clerk was good (Jenn, I think), the property itself is a borderline. While I was there a guest (apparently) ran his truck engine in the parking lot for 45 minutes from 6:00am on despite calls to the front desk to ask him to stop.Then there was a fight in the parking lot and the police had to be called. The lights were out in the front parking lot nearest the lobby and it was pitch black, so I had to park around the rear of the property. It's not the safest I've ever felt.

The hotel is very close to Discovery Kingdom, which is the only reason it is still in business.
However, that also means you hear the people screaming on the roller coaster until very late at night if you happen to stay over a weekend night.

Also, while the room was very clean, it was also very worn, with old stains on the carpet, patches on the upholstery, and so on. The staff was pleasant, but there's really nothing they can do to make this a place I'd want to return.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, but if you must, ask for a room away from the back parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

was a horrible experience. ants in the bathroom, a terrible noise of the refrigerator. terrible service. breakfast is not good. I wont stay at this hotel ever...................................... ............ ....................

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was often questioned as to why I would stay in Vallejo which apparently has a bit of a negative reputation but we found this was a great base to visit Napa and Sonoma and San Francisco at half the cost. This is because we stayed at the Best Western Plus. It is across from discovery Kingdom but we didn't visit there. It does not have a restaurant but a very nice basic hot breakfast was included. The rooms were oversized and there was an outdoor pool and hot tub. It has very easy access to major highways. I would definitely stay here again unless Napa or Sonoma could match the rates for accommodation. Be sure to dine at Black Bear Diner which is a short drive away. If you are visiting San Francisco, you should check out the Ferry rather than trying to drive there. If there is a rougher part to Vallejo, we did not find it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerryjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

good location to theme park with shuttle. good location to freeways. Room was clean and nicely furnished. Bed a little too hard for us. too much road noise. We miss the hot cinnamon rolls we usually get at Best Westerns.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank hairbiz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Friendly staff, fast internet, comfortable bed, good breakfast, clean grounds, room, and lobby. I would rate this in the top 10 percent of any Hotel/Motel I have stayed in. I would recommend to a friend to stay here, and I would stay again. Got the Costco rate, that is the same as the AAA rate. Across from Six Flags, took the shuttle, but could have walked.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MIchael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallejo
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 18 in Vallejo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
4.1 mi away
Budget Inn Vallejo/Napa Valley
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#8 of 18 in Vallejo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom

Property: Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Address: 1596 Fairgrounds Dr, Vallejo, CA 94589-2080
Region: United States > California > Vallejo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Vallejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for a treat at this spacious Vallejo hotel where the best the Golden State has to offer is right outside your door. Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom is our neighbor, which means that you simply have to stroll across the street for a day full of fun. Want something a little more laid back? Napa Valley is also nearby, so an afternoon of wine tasting is an absolute must. This Vallejo hotel is only 15 minutes away from Napa Valley, so a cab ride is an easy choice. We're the best hotel in Vallejo for adventure seekers. The heated outdoor pool and hot tub is open year round for a little relaxation after a day of exploration. Free parking and free shuttle service to Six Flags® Discovery Kingdom are just a couple of the ways guests are treated like family. No other Vallejo hotel can compare. If you're interested in something a little different, you're in luck. Our Vallejo hotel is near several dog shows at Solano County Fairgrounds and the Jelly Belly® Factory. This is one unusual match that really works. Speed lovers delight at the NASCAR® and Indy Grand Prix at Infineon Raceway. Of course, sometimes you're traveling on business. Maybe you're taking your high school senior to check out Touro University. Maybe you're in town with Valero® Oil Refinery, Chevron Oil Refinery, or have business to take care of on Mare Island. Maybe you need to host a business meeting or event in our convenient business room. There's no reason you can't fully enjoy your stay just because you're punching the clock or writing tuition checks. Enjoy a full breakfast before starting your day - it's on us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Plus Inn And Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Best Western Hotel Vallejo
Best Western Vallejo
Vallejo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing