We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”
Review of Valley Ford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valley Ford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valley Ford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was and intresting hotel that has a wonderful resturant . I wish I could live there forever. The cleaning servise was very nice. The resturant has a nice ampnotshere and the rooms were nice and cozy

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank undeadnightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    29
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
61
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Fourth year in a row staying here. The location is perfect for getting to some of the best vineyards in the area. The food never fails to surpass our expectations, from fresh oysters, local cheese plates, the best fried chicken and chocolate and biscuits for breakfast. The rooms are great, no details are overlooked, and the entire set up is very cozy. The proprieters are very responsive to any issues as well. Overall, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirtyatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Valley Ford is a cute little town, and the Valley Ford Hotel is a great place to stay. The rooms are charming, and the beds are comfortable. The restaurant downstairs has amazing food, and the staff is very friendly. We will definitely be coming back to the Valley Ford Hotel.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vegastraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

It was a stop off point while I was traveling from SF to the far north of Rt. 1. Based on reviews and their web site, I thought it might have some charm and be a decent place to spend the night. WRONG. It was loud and had no more charm than a road-side motel. Traffic made sleep nearly impossible in the front-facing rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days with our 2 year old daughter. It is the most cozy and yet so relaxing experience. Its great for a weekend getaway from the city. Great food, the oysters ROCK I recommended (if your not allergic) !!! all the staff are so friendly. Also there are great place to explore like the Fort Ross about 25min. ride, Bodega Bay near the 1. the Small Town of Occidental is wonderful to walk around. Overall we had a wonderful time on the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cambria8085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I booked one night in this hotel interested in the lovely decoration and the good reviews for the restaurant. Unfortunately, I booked for a Tuesday night and was never told that the restaurant is shut on Monday and Tuesday. On the top of this, there was nobody to greet us on arrival (only a key of our room in an envelop) and nobody to check out...very weird indeed and quite frightening to be in a "ghost" hotel...
Nevertheless the room was nice overall with lovely sheets, towels and a very confortable bed. The minuses were the door to the shower very difficult to shut and the ventilation very noisy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We recently wanted to overnight in the Bodega Bay area without spending big bucks for a spa/resort. My wife found the Valley Ford Hotel on the Web and read the glowing reviews. They were right on. The place is a gem: recently remodeled (while preserving its historical character); friendly, helpful staff; very good restaurant (Rocker Oysterfeller) on the first floor; and super clean. Our room was tastefully decorated with a comfortable bed, nice furnishings, large bathroom and a space heater for a chilly night. My wife obtained a hair dryer from the bartender downstairs.

As noted in other reviews, there are no phones or TVs in the rooms, hence no distractions and no entertainment noises coming through the walls. Also, there are only six rooms in the hotel so the number of potential revelers is obviously limited.

On Sat morning there was hot tea/coffee, orange juice, mini-rolls and fruit set out in the hallway. There might be fewer items presented on weekdays.

Valley Ford is a hamlet surrounded by dairy farms so there is a certain agricultural aroma present in the air at most times. We think it adds to the authenticity of the rural experience but some city slickers might not care for it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteWolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley Ford
5.9 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,284 reviews
6.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
115 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
206 reviews
24.2 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Ford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Ford Hotel

Property: Valley Ford Hotel
Address: 14415 Highway 1, Valley Ford, CA 94972
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Valley Ford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valley Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley Ford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Valley Ford Hotel, built in 1864, is located in the rolling hills of West Sonoma County, in the quaint community of Valley Ford. The hotel has seven charming guest rooms, each with a queen bed and private bath. The rooms feature comfortable high-thread count triple sheeted & quilted beds, over-sized bath towels and local artisan soaps. Rocker Oysterfeller's Kitchen & Saloon, which celebrates local, seasonal and sustainably farmed foods with its Southern inspired dishes is just downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HRS so you can book your Valley Ford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing